We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pelican Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muir Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pelican Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Muir Beach B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delightful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Walked Muir Woods, and then rendezvoused here for beers and lunch. It was a glorious San Fran day, so lots of people afoot. We chose to sit out on the grass in the sun, and noshed on the BEST fish n chips ( fish really) I have had in a long time. Delist. This is a quaint English style hotel and pub, and is well worth a visit. Walk to Muirs Beach to stretch your legs, and chase the dogs that love the area for a splash.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LouieMcGoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    20
    5
    17
See reviews for
20
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
South Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I spent months planning our first trip to Northern California. I read lots of reviews from Trip Advisor and other sites. We were meeting friends in Napa at the end of the week but the first part of the trip was driving Hwy 1 from San Francisco up to Sea Ranch. Pelican Inn was our first stop. Although my initial impression was that it was smaller than what I thought it would be, once immersed in its environment, discovered it was just the perfect size. The rooms are definitely "European " with our big four poster bed in a small room, but it was one of our best nights of sleep for the week. The staff in the pub and restaurant were attentive and friendly. The grounds are spectacular. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant and it was tasty, authentic English, and definitely a treat. We had a large breakfast with wonderful homemade breads. My husband had full egg, bacon, sausage and he thought it was delicious. We walked to Muir Beach for a sunset--perfect! If we ever travel that way again, will definitely stay at the Pelican Inn. We can't go to England, but a bit of Britain is located at Muir Beach. Sometimes older is better and with this property, older is definitely better!

Room Tip: It is a small B&B and our room faced the front with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scomstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Pelican Inn is very charming and in a gorgeous location right near Muir Beach. Rooms are tiny but make you feel like you are staying in a true English pub. We loved the restaurant downstairs as well. People love to come here and sit out on the lawn on nice days. I would definitely recommend staying here but pay for a larger room!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfrance2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, FL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Sunday at Pelican Inn is unbeatable. No better location for a seaside rendezvous. (cue Queen)
Too many roast beasts to name. Atmosphere cannot be topped. Service cannot be better. Sorry it took so long to do a review. Doesn't look like it was missed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DineReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I had a great stay here on our way to San Francisco. The check-in was quick & easy. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The room was nice and cosy with a real genuine ye old English feel. Even the locks on the doors were yesteryear, very accurate. Our stay included breakfast which was buffet, The selection of hot food was good and the quality great. The gardens around the inn were just beautiful. Nice to just sit there and read a good book. Muir Beach is also just a short walk down the road. We went there around sunset one evening, just serene. When you stay at the inn you can also take advantage of sitting in a guest only room. We did this one night, drinking a beer with a roaring fire. Overall our stay was just fantastic. We would recommend anyone to stay there and would definitely do so again if we return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwie-Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Pelican Inn while hiking and it was a nice retreat after a long day in the sun! We had a nice cold drink on the lawn in the shade when we arrived. The Inn and our room were both nicely decorated in a unique, old English style. The room was a bit small for 3 people (which is like a room in Britain) and there was no TV in the room. The restaurant was a bit slow, but the food was tasty. There was also a very nice, Snug Room (lounge) that had a big fireplace and lots of coffee table books about Britain. The English breakfast wasn't quite what I had expected - there was American bacon, not back bacon, and baked beans instead of Heinz beans. All in all, our stay there was nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Replevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We've had beers here on the way back from coastal exploring, and we've just driven past it a hundred times and said, "We should stay there sometime."
We finally did and it was awesome. Our friend had a birthday bash here and so we all decided to stay rather than drive back to the City. The food was good ( would recommend the Beef Wellington and the fish and chips was an enormous portion). The service was kind and thoughtful. Bartender Jim seemed like the owner since he took such care to make everything perfect. In fact, all the staff was happy and attentive and really cared about every detail.

Guests can occupy the special Snug Room for a drink via a door in the corner of the bar. It's like a secret time-travel door back to an era of half-timbered houses on the coast of Wales. It felt like you were in someone's living room/lounge and a kind old Aunty was going to come down the other secret door to offer you another pint and to stoke the amazing fireplace. (Yup. A fire in August. It's Northern California. )
The rooms are quaint and clean and each room is just as quaint as the last. Our room (No. 2) had a tall, four poster bed with fabric surrounding it. Very cool.
Guests are also treated to a delicious free breakfast. Bangers and beans, bacon and eggs, fresh fruit and fresh baked scones are only a fraction of what was offered as "all-you-can-eat". Great coffee too.
As we drove away we started planning our next overnight visit when the in-laws come out.

Room Tip: If you want to occupy the Snug Room as long as you'd like than rent No. 7, as it is right above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwagon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir Beach
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
3.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
6.5 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Inn

Property: The Pelican Inn
Address: 10 Pacific Way, Muir Beach, CA 94965-9729
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Muir Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Muir Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Muir Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing