We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn near Muir Beach”
Review of The Pelican Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muir Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pelican Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Muir Beach B&B and Inns
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Charming Inn near Muir Beach”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Pelican Inn while hiking and it was a nice retreat after a long day in the sun! We had a nice cold drink on the lawn in the shade when we arrived. The Inn and our room were both nicely decorated in a unique, old English style. The room was a bit small for 3 people (which is like a room in Britain) and there was no TV in the room. The restaurant was a bit slow, but the food was tasty. There was also a very nice, Snug Room (lounge) that had a big fireplace and lots of coffee table books about Britain. The English breakfast wasn't quite what I had expected - there was American bacon, not back bacon, and baked beans instead of Heinz beans. All in all, our stay there was nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Replevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    20
    5
    17
See reviews for
20
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We've had beers here on the way back from coastal exploring, and we've just driven past it a hundred times and said, "We should stay there sometime."
We finally did and it was awesome. Our friend had a birthday bash here and so we all decided to stay rather than drive back to the City. The food was good ( would recommend the Beef Wellington and the fish and chips was an enormous portion). The service was kind and thoughtful. Bartender Jim seemed like the owner since he took such care to make everything perfect. In fact, all the staff was happy and attentive and really cared about every detail.

Guests can occupy the special Snug Room for a drink via a door in the corner of the bar. It's like a secret time-travel door back to an era of half-timbered houses on the coast of Wales. It felt like you were in someone's living room/lounge and a kind old Aunty was going to come down the other secret door to offer you another pint and to stoke the amazing fireplace. (Yup. A fire in August. It's Northern California. )
The rooms are quaint and clean and each room is just as quaint as the last. Our room (No. 2) had a tall, four poster bed with fabric surrounding it. Very cool.
Guests are also treated to a delicious free breakfast. Bangers and beans, bacon and eggs, fresh fruit and fresh baked scones are only a fraction of what was offered as "all-you-can-eat". Great coffee too.
As we drove away we started planning our next overnight visit when the in-laws come out.

Room Tip: If you want to occupy the Snug Room as long as you'd like than rent No. 7, as it is right above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwagon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We've been going to the Pelican Inn for 35 years enjoying the beer and the food. This time we spent the night and had a wonderful stay. The Pelican Inn could be any one of hundreds of pubs in the UK. The rooms were comfortable and cosy, staff was very friendly. Beer was Fuller's London Pride, hard to go wrong here. Breakfast was delicious, dinner was good, not great. Overall a great experience and good value in Marin County.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wfatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Pelican Inn had been on our list of romantic places to stay for many years but we had never gotten around to it until this year when I surprised my wife with a stay there to celebrate our 37th anniversary. We really fell deeply in love many years ago on outings to Muir Woods, Muir Beach, Mount Tamalpais, Mill Valley, etc. and I decided it was finally time to return to that scene after many trips further afield. We stayed in Room 2 which is the smallest (read least expensive) in the inn but we have developed a love of cozy, quaint, small accommodations as long as they include a private bathroom.
I always assumed the inn dated back to the 1920s when English Tudor was all the rage in California but was surprised to learn that it actually dated to the “back to the land” era in the 1970s. It is truly a storybook English country inn. Our room was over the inn’s entrance but we didn’t hear any noise drifting up from the public rooms. The inn is very solidly built. I loved opening the window and gazing out at the hillside across the road in the morning – it was so peaceful.
We had breakfast on a sunny morning outside on the patio and the second morning, a foggy one, in the dining room. We preferred the sunny patio as the dining room is very dark which does not get me excited about the day. Also, there was a bare candle on the table to provide light which didn’t harmonize with my reading of the morning paper! Luckily, my wife warned me as the page began to smolder!
As other reviewers have said, the food at breakfast as well as dinner was excellent although very heavy but what would you expect from an old English inn. We spent time in the pub both evenings we were there as that’s where the action was with darts, etc. We met some very interesting fellow travelers as well as visiting with the inn’s very friendly staff. The cozy private parlor was very charming and homey but we had it to ourselves so we moved back through the little door to the pub for a nightcap.
The inn is charming, Muir Beach is a short walk away and Muir Woods’ trails and Mount Tamalpais’ panoramic views are a short drive along the country roads. Truly a wonderful getaway from modern life!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
449 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We LOVED staying at the Pelican. I admit, some of the reviews on tripadvisor put me off a bit, complaining of cracking tiles and musty bedding. DON'T LISTEN.

If you are looking for a place with flat screen TV's, the fastest internet speed and other fancy frou-frous, this is not for you. If you are looking to experience going back in time to an old English Inn, this is it. While we were there, we overheard an English couple who had popped in saying this is how English Inns used to be.

Mr. Felix put a lot of work into building the Pelican and came from of long line of Innkeepers (the Inn is now under new management, the same group that manages the Mountain Top Inn). Every nook and cranny was carefully planned- there's a trap door in the fireplace of the main dining room identical to those that would be found in old English Inns for the priest to climb into and hide! On every bedpost is hung a "hagstone"- a rock in the middle of which a hole has been made naturally over time with water running through it to suck in bad dreams (and, reportedly, allow the viewing of fairies when looked through the other way). The pub has a dart board and some of the best Pale Ale my husband has tasted (there is a Pelican Ale made especially for the Inn). Barkeeps Brian and Amanda were great-gave great hiking directions and all-around advice and service.

The breakfast is very good and in keeping with the English tradition of toast and baked beans/tomatoes, eggs, bacon and sausage, bread with outrageous jam. Dinner our first night was very good, I had salmon with a mustard sauce, my husband the lamb which had just a bit of curry. The next night's beef wellington was "ok" and my chicken curry got a "meh" but you can't win them all.

I agree with previous reviewer stating Muir Beach is overrated. It is black, muddy appearing sand in very close proximity to the Inn. However, the hiking trails accessible directly from the Inn are amazing! We hiked through the green Gulch Zen Center up to the top of the mountain to the Hope Cottage for an awesome view of the ocean and miles around. Similarly, we hiked in the other direction to hook up with the Pacific Coast Trail. We were up so high we could hear fog horns. There are horses one could ride right across the way as well. You can also take some drives from the Inn as well- from the very close Overlook, all the way up Route 1..
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sazoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N/A
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Tucked around the bend, down the road and across the river from grandmothers house (actually we had been hiking at Muir Woods) we suddenly stumbled upon an English style establishment that had at one time been recommended to us by a friend. The grounds are lovely and the interior quaint. The food was just fine. Same with the service. It was a fun find and we would go again if time allowed.

Room Tip: I'm uncertain if reservations are taken. It may be a good idea to check first. Otherwise, take y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kashmirohio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We got married here a few weeks ago. We had 14 guests. The old world atmosphere was just wonderful. We were able to fill the whole Inn so we had the Snug (a small living room) to ourselves. We had the ceremony there next to the fireplace, then dinner afterwards. In the weeks leading up to the wedding, Laraine helped us with our plans and to stay organized, which was really nice. Then she did a fabulous job working behind the scenes to help things go smoothly during the and after the ceremony. It was an intimate, warm, cozy romantic wedding. Our guests really enjoyed being able to hang out in the pub earlier in the day. They also went to the beach and Muir Woods. Then, then next morning we all had a great English breakfast together before saying our goodbyes. It was a great place for a wedding.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir Beach
3.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
5.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
969 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Inn

Property: The Pelican Inn
Address: 10 Pacific Way, Muir Beach, CA 94965-9729
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Muir Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Muir Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Muir Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing