We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”
Review of The Pelican Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muir Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pelican Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Muir Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and stayed and had dinner at the Pelican Inn. Both of us were very impressed by the friendly service both in the hotel and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyJimTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 161 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed an evening at The Pelican after a week of business in San Fran. The building while only 40ish years old but truly feels like 150 year old English Inn. Very well done. Upon arrive the staff was friendly and the place was clean. Our room was tiny, I peeked in some of the other rooms and they were also rather small. Great for a night or two but def. not a place to want to bring more then an overnight bag to. Since we had spent a week in the area already, we could barely move around our luggage in our room. The "snug" was a great place to sit by the fire, read a book & have a drink. We walked down to the beach, beautiful area. Dinner was cozy and tasty. The staff was polite and attentive as well.
Now, Northern California can be cool, you always need to have a jacket handy but the inn was cold. I mean, wear your jacket and hat while eating cold. We were fine in our room because we had a little electric heater but at breakfast, we were terribly cold while we were eating. We tried to sit by the fire in the morning and relax but it was too cold to get comfortable. We couldn't seem to shake the chill and was happy when it was time to pack up and head home (just so we could turn the heat on in the car to warm up). It was late March, around 50 degrees during the day outside, I really felt the heat should have been on in the inn.
I still feel the place is adorable and would suggest people stay there. Just dress warmly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

So we are from England and this is one of the few decent places to stop and eat when in the area. We just went for lunch. It is very British and it really felt like being back at home. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. We had fish & chips and bangers & mash, with drinks.

Everything was fine......

OK here is the one criticism....the mash had bits in and felt very much out of a packet rather than fresh.

So it gets 4/5...... I recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank kalupukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The owners have done a brillant job creating the feel of an old English Public House.
One of the more unique inns I've experienced in some time. Great place to stay for
a couple of nights if one's goal is to explore Muir Beach, Muir Woods, and the Marin
Headlands.

Room Tip: All are small and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Staying at this beautiful inn is like taking a mini vacation to England. Everything about it feels very authentic - from the warm, attractive pub, to the romantic dining room. And then there's the Snug, a small room off the pub reserved for overnight guests - it gives meaning to the word cozy!! You can relax there with a drink, or read or play a board game in front of a toasty fire. You'll want to linger, believe me! We stayed just one night, and it wasn't long enough. Room 6 was lovely and very comfortable. Dinner was great and breakfast even better. Don't pass up the bangers! We needed that walk to Muir Beach after that breakfast! This is a magical, unique place and we highly recommend it. Can't wait to go back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: I believe that some rooms are fairly small, but ours (room 6) was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poodlemom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My first overnight stay (I have had many day trips) was great. Amazing food ( Lamb and Salmon were cooked perfectly) . We sat right next to the fireplace. The rooms are small but clean. They had a great pint of Guiness. Breakgast in the sun room in front of roaring fire.
You can hike on a trial directly across from the inn to the sea or to muir woods.
Jim was a great host/ bartender.

Overall - a perfect stay.

Room Tip: All are good. Room 1 is very big with sitting area. No need because the "snug room" is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The Pelican is a lovely inn at Muir beach and only a five minute walk from the beach which is pretty spectacular. There are hiking trails nearby. The Pelican is very old English in feel, there is an authentic bar serving English ale and the menu is very British (think sausage and mash or fish and chips) but also has some nice California touches.

The rooms are reasonably small but very snug and we had a balcony with lovely views of the surrounding hills. The bed was very high which made us nervous of falling out! Actually really comfortable and a good nights sleep. You an hear people in the other rooms or on the landing which made it feel slightly like we were staying in someone's house rather than being more secluded.

We had dinner and breakfast which were both delicious. Nice attentive staff. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir Beach
3.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
562 reviews
5.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,563 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,016 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Inn

Address: 10 Pacific Way, Muir Beach, CA 94965-9729
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Muir Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Muir Beach
Price Range: $195 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Muir Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing