We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
14
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
14
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 15 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2014

This was the perfect place to stay!

The owner, Victoria, is quite organized and the process for reserving and renting this quaint seaside cottage is very simple and thorough. You will have an information packet emailed to you with explicit information on the cottage, how to get there, it's amenities and things to do and see in the area, and there are numerous things to do. More on that below. The cottage itself is quaint and cozy, warm and wonderful and a nice place for a romantic getaway. While the bedroom quarters might be considered small, it is comfortable and the bed is wonderful. The cottage itself is open with a nice, full kitchen, and cozy living room with a warm potbelly stove that Victoria sets up for your first night's fire. Come with your groceries and some wine and stay in the night. There are numerous dvd choices in the cottage and some games in the upstairs loft. Bring your coffee and tea for your morning and enjoy your beverage while sitting on the deck watching the California Brown Pelicans dive for their breakfast in the ocean below you. The large, wonderful wrap around deck with the great ocean views also has a large bar-b-que for grilling. The price for this wonderful location is quite reasonable in my estimation but of course that is relative to your opinion on what is expensive or not. As for what to do if you can pull yourself away from the Cottage, read on.

Located about 20 minutes drive north of San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge, this is a great location for numerous outdoor activities. For starters, Muir Woods and wonderful hiking through a beautiful Redwood Forrest is basically in the back yard about a 5 minute drive away. A quick 20 minute drive north on PCH along the beautiful and rugged coast takes you to the surf town of Stinson Beach. Stop here for the beach, surfing and a bite to eat at the Parkside Cafe' where the food is great and the prices good. Continue north on PCH to Point Reyes and follow the San Andreas Fault out to sea along Tomales Bay. Head to the Light House and stand at the windiest spot on the west coast. Back at The Cottage you can just enjoy a relaxing day with a beverage of your choice on the large wrap around deck and the beautiful view of Muir Beach a short walk below the cottage and a good book, or, take that short walk down to the beach and enjoy the tide pools on the north side of the beach or the sand and fire rings on the south side. From the cottage you are also just 20 minutes or so from Mill Valley, a quaint city waiting to entertain you, feed you or supply you with groceries etc to take back to the cottage. Tiburon and it's restaurants and shops are not far from the cottage and the town has a beautiful coast and ferry access to Angel Island and more hiking. The island trails will provide you with beautiful views of San Francisco, Alcatraz Island, The Bay Bridge and The Golden Gate Bridge as well as much more, if the fog has not rolled in. Closer to the cottage, about 1 minute away, is Green Gulch Farm and Zen Center. Check their schedule for speakers and breakfast tea and homemade blueberry muffins and bread. This is an interesting visit for anyone especially one seeking some spirituality, great produce and baked goods.

Stay here at The Cottage By The Sea and relax, enjoy and be.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank traveljonesSantaAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We just returned from the cottage after a five day stay and the pictures do not lie. It was just as advertised and so much more. The cottage is perfect for a couple or girls get-a-way, but there is no room for kids to play or explore unless they are older. The location to trips to Napa Valley, Muir Woods, the Lookout and San Francisco is perfect. We stayed gone most of the day exploring and it was so relaxing to return and enjoy the quiet evening. It has everything that you need to enjoy your stay, plus a remarkable view.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CatherineDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. It was totally full on either side of our stay and we scheduled our vacation based on the nights available and we are very glad we did!

This is a cottage in a residential neighborhood where everyone knows everyone - it has a well equiped kitchen, an outdoor grill, main bedroom, bath, living room, and loft bedroom with two twin beds and low ceiling upstairs, was very comfortable and nicely decorated.

We did our shopping at the Whole Foods in Mill Valley about 7 miles away and made our own meals the entire stay. There is a restaurant within walking distance at the Pelican Inn, we have eaten and stayed here in the past and liked it, but did not do so this time. The cottage faces south soaking up the warm sun and the sun sets to the right behind a hill so unfortunately one had to visit other vistas to see it set over the Pacific. In the distance at night one can see the Sunset / Richmond districts of San Francisco.

Hearing the ocean and watching the sun rise have to rank as our favorite activities here - we read books, watched some dvd movies from the extensive collection of dvd's (the TV is not hooked up to frustrate tv addicts and aid in recovery) though you can watch dvd's. We also enjoyed hiking the trails of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area and Mt Tamalpais State Park - which was a great work out for us both!

It has to be one of the most relaxing and beautiful places on earth - we very much enjoyed living like a local for three days and hope to come back for much longer or permanent visit in the future!

Room tip: There is only 1 - take it when available!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nolatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our stay at the Cottage at Muir Beach was wonderful. The location absolutely can't be beat - hearing the sound of the ocean as you fall asleep, after a glass of wine on the deck watching the sun set. Fantastic.

The cottage is decorated very nicely, well equipped with amenities (beach towels are a great touch), and was the perfect size for us. The linens were fresh and attractive, and the bed very comfortable. The cottage was very clean and well maintained.

Definitely lots to do in the area - many kilometers of hiking trails, scenic driving, Muir Woods, Mount Tam state park, great dining at the Pelican Inn, and good proximity to Mill Valley (but why would you leave Muir Beach?).

Of particular note, we found the process of booking, getting the keys, etc. very well organized and accurate. Victoria was a pleasure to deal with. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful spot.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markp30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

My husband and I have been to many an enchanted place, but none as enchanting as the Cottage at Muir Beach. The cottage is exquisitely decorated in relaxing tones of green, perched on one of the most magical spots in the world. Muir Beach is visible in all its splendor from the charming porch, as well a s from the living room and the bedroom. You will be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves crashing on the surf and wake up to the most beautiful pink tinged sunrise. The cottage is equipped with all the amenities you will need for maximum comfort. If your children come along, there is an adorable loft with two twin beds and plenty of toys to pass the time. The beach is a short walk away, through gorgeous vistas of the bay and shore. If you're at all inclined to leave the cottage, there are plenty of activities to do in the area. The Muir Woods are a short ride away, as is the charming town of Mill Valley. Stinson Beach and Point Reyes are wonderful small towns to explore and are only about an hour form Muir Beach. However, you won't want to stray too far from this beautiful spot and will probably want to return many a time.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Viviana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews