We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but a bit older”
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip and it was a nice place with clean rooms. The price was a little high but that is the area you are staying, breakfast was included with the price. This was more of a motor court of hotel with limited parking by your room. The place is a bit older so no major amenities here just a place to stay for business. I would not recommend for a vacation spot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Front Office Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Tim B,

Thank you for submitting a review for our property. I will let housekeeping know of your comments and how the rooms were very clean. Our staff appreciate the kind remarks. We do have 2 parking lots on site with plenty of space for all. We are constantly updating the property and look forward to your next review upon your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 222 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

no frills motel. good value for the price. did not feel gouged. two stories. luckily we stayed on the first floor and didn't have to lug our bags upstairs. there's no elevator! clean rooms, beds were comfy, enough outlets to charge your devices. TV was first rate LG. Free internet (to charge for internet in silicon valley would be a travesty for any hotel). free refrigerator and microwave were helpful. basic free breakfast w/ chemo type scrambled eggs and pale sausages. stick w/ the fruit, yogurt and cereal. parking spaces at a premium at it's PACKED by midevening

Room Tip: if you have heavy luggage, ask for room at ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterm899272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Front Office Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear peterm899272,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the compliments on our Free Wifi, first rate TV's, and comfortable beds. We are always updating the furnishings and electronics for our wonderful guests like yourself. We appreciate your business and we look forward to wowing you in your future stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael P, Front Office Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for business trip for 5 nights.

The rooms are very modest but clean. The bed was very comfortable and the large TV worked well.

On the down side there is a very strong smell (air freshener/cleaning products ??) in the rooms and the layout of the room is a bit strange. The bathroom is very small and the exhaust fan very noisy, with the basin residing in the main part of the room. The breakfast is powdered eggs (no texture and no taste) with disposable cups, cardboard plates and plastic knife & forks.

The above combinations put this motel at the cheaper end of town.

The rate information for making an international telephone call from the room is either misleading or non-existent. When querying the exorbitant telephone bill I asked the front desk to explain the rates but they couldn't do this and I'm waiting on an explanation via e-mail from the manager who couldn't be contacted on the weeked when I checked out.

I wouldn't recommend this motel mainly because of the poor breakfast and the price gouging for phone costs. I would only stay here if there was no other alternative.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterinholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Front Office Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear peterinholland,

We appreciate your comments regarding our hotels televisions and beds. Both were recently replaced. I apologize you did not like the disposable utensils. We are constantly upgrading our breakfast items. We do serve eggs at our breakfast (not powder type) with a lot of variety as well. The telephone charges are charged what we are charged, there is no inflation from our end. We are renovating our rooms and would love for you to see them again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This motel is not the biggest and fanciest in the area. However it is very clean and accomodating for a visit to the Mountain View area. The biggest attribute is the staff. They are excellent. They made a very stressful visit to the area easy and accomodated me excellently. BTW I noticed that it was not only me that they accomodated but several guests were given special attention and accomodations that certainly helped the guest and made their stay most comfortable. Tiana, Mike and Beto will go beyond the regular service to ensure that your stay is as pleasant and productive as possible. BTW I have dealt with Beto and Tiana on previous visits and they only provide better service the more I visit them. First time dealing with Mike but he certainly upholds the service in the same manner as Beto and Tiana. Be sure to ask for the Stanford discount if you are receiving medical services from Stanford Medical Services as I was doing. I have stayed at both the Menlo Park BW and the Mountain View BW. The above staff works alternatlely between the two facilities so you cant go wrong by contacting them for your lodging needs when in the area. Both BW's are clean and comfortable with a good continental breakfast that certainly will keep you to or maybe beyond lunch. I highly recommend both places

Room Tip: I have not had a "bad" room or accomodation at either place. Mountain View does not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Front Office Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear James B,

Our staff will enjoy all the kind words. We love knowing that we have delivered Superior Customer Care to our guests. I will ensure to relay this review to our entire staff. Thank you for taking your time to let us know about how your stay was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stay here because I go to the Stanford Hospital. I find that the staff is very accomidating always ensuring I have a wonderful stay. They are always helpful in getting the information I need at all times. The breakfast is great. Staff is wonderful. I love staying here because it feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Front Office Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Karen B,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you feel we are a home away from home. e appreciate our guests taking time out of their busy schedule to say such kind words. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just completed a stay at this property. Bottom line review is that this is a decent hotel, but really just average. I wouldn't go out of my way to avoid it in the future, but there's no reason for me to insist booking this property the next time I'm in town.

It's a motel, which is a little different than what I'm used to on business stays, and comes along with the usual motel issues. Parking is immediately outside of the room, and as the property fronts El Camino Real it can be quite noisy. Security didn't appear to be an issue at this location, but it's obviously less secure than a typical hotel. The walls/ceiling were very thin, and I could easily hear when my neighbours were up and about or talking. Cleanliness of the property and the room was not at all an issue although the wingback chair/ottoman were very old and shabby looking. The room had a very odd layout, with weird kind of kitchenette/bathroom combo area with a *small* toilet/shower room adjoining. The fan/light fixture in the toilet room sounded like a small prop plane whenever it was turned on. Big HD flat screen TV in the room, but no HD content available. There was a fridge and a microwave in the room as well.

The area around the hotel is safe, I walked around after dark with no problems at all. There is walmart, target, and whole foods in the area if you need provisions. There are numerous restaurants in the area. I didn't get the chance to try the included breakfast offerings, but I peeked in and the selection looked decent.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room, then you won't have to hear your upstairs neighbour thumping around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanbigslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Front Office Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear vanbigslick,

Thank you for your comments about your stay. We do appreciate every guest that takes time out of their day to post a comment. We do apologize for not meeting all of your expectations. We are in the process of updating some of the room furnishings as well. We do hope that you will stay with us in the future so that we can make a different impression for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mountain View hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
2.1 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View - S Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 2300 W El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-1420 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Mountain View Inn)
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Price Range: $102 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Inn, located in the heart of Northern California's Silicon Valley, offers a winning combination of charming hotel rooms, modern amenities, and friendly service to all of our guests. Whether you're traveling to Mountain View for business or pleasure, our hotel's fresh facilities and complimentary perks are sure to enhance your trip. Best of all, our knowledgeable, multilingual staff is on hand to assist you with any needs or questions. We welcome you to Mountain View, and look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain View Hotel Mountain View
Best Western Mountain View
Mountain View Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing