We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zico
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

I loved this place and will definately return.The bathroom sink was gorgeous glass and the staff was helpful and friendly.Full buffet breakfast in morning with pretty good food!Clean and comfortable bed. Price a bargain! Thanks!

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lissa9415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    146
    49
    29
    18
See reviews for
88
95
57
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mountiain view
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

This is a great choice for character, extras and price. First of all, the staff was friendly, and helpful in every way possible. The hotel offers and array of FREE perks like wireless internet, cable, local calls, computer to use at your discretion, breakfast, rose garden, covered parking and more. The room was perhaps the most impressive. It was clean and beautifully re-done. The room featured a beautiful iron mirror, silk bed spread in shades of blue, sleek marble counter top in the bathroom and a water-fall sink. It also had a refrigerator, nice closet, coat rack, sleek lamps, big T.V., someone thought of everything! The feel of the hotel was European in design and was truly peaceful and inviting. I would choose this charming one-of-a-kind hotel to any commercial conglomerate any day. It was a pleasant surprise as my husband and I were expecting average, since we were staying at such a low price, and Hotel Zico goes way beyond. The construction is on the main road-El Camino, but does not pose a noise problem, only a slight headache when pulling in and out of the hotel, but it is not permanent. For a good price, give this place a try.

  • Liked — the room and staff and price
  • Disliked — the construction and no pool or premium work out center
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelervvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

The hotel was wonderful. The beds very comfortable. The hotel staff very nice and helpful. Great place to stay that is away from downtown San Francisco, but close enough to still get to see all the sites. Wonderful complementary hot cooked breakfast

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cosmic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

This hotel was under renovation when we stayed there. It is clear that this is an old hotel that they are trying to spruce up enough to be presentable.

Unfortunately, they are not doing a very good job. The materials they are using in their renovations are of very low quality. But that's not the worst of it.

By our fourth day, we started to notice little bug bites that were covering our body every morning when we would wake up. At first we thought it was mosquitoes. Unfortunately, this was not the case.

We found that the extremely old mattress was infested with bed bugs. These bed bugs were covering our bodies with dozens of bites as we slept.

We were forced to check out of this hotel out of disgust, and in fact we threw away our luggage and some of our clothing that we feared might have been infested by the bed bugs that inhabited the room.

I would strongly advise against staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank FrequentTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel one night while I was in Mountain View on business. I booked the room for its location and reasonable price. The king room was a good value for the area, though rates will be going up (as I gathered from a conversation I overheard).
Note that this hotel was sold about a month ago and has changed names, though exactly what its new name is is a bit of a mystery. The name I saw most often was Hotel Zico, but the sign visible from the road was Homesuites, the name on the room door was Brookside Inn, and the name on the phone was New World Hotel! The new owners seem to be doing some remodeling, which is great. They'll need to get their identity straightened out, too. The new decor included a trendy raised glass washbasin and Spanish/Mexican wrought iron mirror and wall hanging. It's a mix of modern loft and Cal-Spanish style. The glass French doors open to a shared balcony, which strikes me as not the most secure for single travelers, but it's attractive. The hotel is right on Hwy 85, so you get a lot of traffic noise, but the AC drowned out most of that sound. I liked the firm bed, which meant I didn't wake up with a sore back.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MIchigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel three times now, each time for a week or more, and have enjoyed my stay each time.

The rooms are comfortable, and the second floor rooms have a walk-out balcony. The breakfast is average (hot food includes eggs, bacon, pancakes), but it's included in the rate. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Stuff I liked:
- It's only a block from the head of the Stevens Creek Trail - great for walking or biking. I used it a lot.
- Laundry room available 24 hours. Only one washer and one dryer, but the price per load is reasonable. Detergent is available at the front desk.
- Reasonable walking distance to Castro Street and its blocks of good ethnic restaurants and kitschy shops.
- Price - I've been able to stay there using their "Travel the West" promotion - $69.00 per night. Standard rate is $89.00

Limitations:
- Cable TV is pretty limited - only HBO as a premium channel.
- No restaurant, and hence no room service. However, there are some local places that will deliver.

Make no mistake, this is not a luxury hotel, but for the money it's really hard to beat.

Note: To book rooms, call the hotel directly. The Internet travel sites don't publish the best rates for this hotel.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Cousin_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasanton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at Best Value Inn. The new rooms look great, especially the new bathrooms.
The Front Desk staff were very helpful and accomodating.
What a treat to get 'cooked breakfast' every morning.
And of course the Free internet connectionworked great.
Will stay again when in the area.

  • Liked — great rooms, comfortable
  • Disliked — exercise room
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zico

Property: Hotel Zico
Address: 200 E El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2723 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Business Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zico 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enthusiastic nod to Zeus, protector of travelers, Hotel Zico puts a modern-day spin on the Old World tradition of xenia, the lost art of hospitality. From our modern Mediterranean décor, the flavor and flair of Greece is ever-present, creating an Xperience that feels fresh and familiar, yet anchored in spirited creativity and comfort. Add the energetic vibe of Silicon Valley and you've got xenia 2.0, the next generation of over-the-top hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zico Hotel Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing