We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mediterranean feel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Zico
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“mediterranean feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have never heard of this hotel, and even when I was making reservation, I didn't know I was booking this hotel because I booked it through hotwire. Its environment and Mediterranean room style surprising me, I even saw a small lizard outside the main lobby. My room was facing inside and I had a quiet and comfortable stay. Only concern is their pillowcases are too old to have pilling on surface.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    144
    49
    29
    17
See reviews for
88
94
56
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alma, mi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We were worried about staying at this hotel since we had never heard of it however, this hotel is amazing ! Makes you feel like you are staying in the Italy.
It is a nice place, obviously an old hotel that they revamped and made stylish and new. The balconys are shared and have open community spaces.

The only thing is that the first floor rooms face the outside which made me feel a bit uncomfortable so we moved up a floor, staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel had something to offer that most cannot. It is located right next to the superb Stevens Creek exercise trail in Mountain View. It goes for miles and was accessible just off of the parking lot. The provided hot breakfast was excellent. The choices were varied and everything was good. The breakfast room was very large, clean, and bright. The surrounding area is easily accessible from the hotel, which is located on El Camino Real.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveBFindlay_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

There was a giant spit loogie prominently positioned on the wall. That's it for me folks..

I've been staying at Zico when in the Peninsula for business since 2007. Sadly the last several stays I've had here in the last ~12 months or so have shown obvious decreases in quality.

This last time was the last straw. The room I generally request and stay in (largest, most secluded) was filthy when we arrived. There was a giant spit loogie on the wall next to my side of the bed. Clearly, utterly disgusting. Late at night, hotel was fully booked, so we stayed in the room, but asked to have it cleaned, maid never showed up to clean the room. I left for work the next day, put the "clean me" sign on the door and came home at 7pm or so. Room wasn't cleaned. At all. Wall spit remained. What a dump.

This place has gone so far downhill that I'll never stay here again. 7 years of staying here, and I'm taking my business (and anyone elses business I can help influence) elsewhere.


* Loogie: a large slimy glob of spit, that is formed by coughing up and hocking whats in your throat.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Or don't stay in a "balcony room" b/c 1) all balconies are co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elegantmoustache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConceptHigh, General Manager at Hotel Zico, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. More importantly, I am so sorry for your negative experience. I am personally looking into the issues you describe in your room as we do have a deep cleaning and regular cleaning program. I have looped in our head housekeeper into this issue and it will be resolved immediately. I invite you to contact me anytime at the hotel to discuss further and see how we can make this up to you and keep you coming back to us!

Thanks again,
Alfonso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was eager to bring my hubby here for a weekend getaway. I enjoyed my first stay, but this stay was kinda "meh".
We got a super-duper good online rate. So with that seemed to come an attitude of "you got the cheap rate" so you get lesser service.
The response to my request for a quiet room in a quiet location on an upper floor was a room on the first floor near the front desk. Fortunately, the guests in this area were not loud and the footsteps above our heads did not go late into the night or start up early in the morning. Although it's a smoke-free property, we got a heavy whiff of cigarette smoke later in the evening. Most likely the smokers were outside on the first floor puffing away and the bathroom fan was sucking in the smoke.
We skipped breakfast to chow down on some dim sum.
Not sure I'll be making a 3rd visit here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This trip was planned as an adventure - so we specifically did NOT want a cookie cutter chain room. We found the Zico online and it LOOKED charming. Yes -- hotel pictures online, like dating site profiles can be misleading. But in the case of the Zico - the website was spot on.
Some have mentioned the building being hard to spot. It is a bit -- but that turns out to be a GOOD thing. From the parking lot you walk past a fountain into a lush landscape of palms and flowers. Once inside -- the décor is creative and inviting throughout.
The complimentary breakfast is a REAL breakfast with a wide range of choices -- all fresh and NOT a frozen Danish in sight. It is served in their hospitality room so you are not distracted by lobby traffic.
I had spoken with the staff at some length on the phone prior to making the reservations and they had been extremely helpful in addressing my concerns related to my wife's mobility needs. I was equally impressed in person. They were professional in appearance and very courteous and friendly in manner.
We were there for three nights so we interacted with several people and each interaction was a pleasure.

Room Tip: I had read reviews warning of road noise so I initially asked for a room off the highway. But I als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

A very quiet, clean place. We had trouble finding since it was right off interstate, but that was out problem. Staff very kind, rooms very clean and breakfast was a nice surprise. We had a walk out room and it was a nice area to rest and have coffee. Also liked the trail next to it. No pool and didn't use exercise room. Enjoyed our 2 night stay and was next to interstate so easy to go places.

Room Tip: Booked through hot wire and got room for $65.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mossagate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zico

Property: Hotel Zico
Address: 200 E El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2723 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Business Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zico 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enthusiastic nod to Zeus, protector of travelers, Hotel Zico puts a modern-day spin on the Old World tradition of xenia, the lost art of hospitality. From our modern Mediterranean décor, the flavor and flair of Greece is ever-present, creating an Xperience that feels fresh and familiar, yet anchored in spirited creativity and comfort. Add the energetic vibe of Silicon Valley and you've got xenia 2.0, the next generation of over-the-top hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Zico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zico Hotel Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing