We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little overpriced.”
Review of Hotel Zico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zico
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little overpriced.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was not quite what we expected. It was smaller. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. They only had one ice machine and the two times that I tried it...it was out of ice. I complained to the desk staff and they sent someone out to buy ice and delivered it to my room. The room was clean, but small. The beds were comfortable. We asked for a room away from the freeway, which took away our balcony, but was very quiet. The breakfast was very good. Stevens Creek bike trail runs right next to the hotel and I was nice to be able to take a nice quiet walk outside, without dealing with traffic and street crossings.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Freeway are quiet, but rooms on Freeway side have balconies which may be importa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeMend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    157
    52
    31
    19
See reviews for
92
101
59
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I planned on being at this place for 7 nights. When I walked into the hotel I knew I was not going to stay and looked immediately for an alternative. My only option was to leave 2 days later and was charged $373.99 a night which was not what I was expecting. Needless to say I was not happy. You can paint the bathrooms blue and put cheap glass bottles on a shelf and promote under the guise that this is a 'Boutique' hotel but the reality is for that price I would expect cleaner rooms, a decent breakfast, friendly staff and a coffee maker that works. Electric grid lines running through the car park and a freeway next to one side makes for an ugly and noisy location if you get the wrong room. I moved to a hotel that was half the price with an excellent bar and restaurant for $189 a night. This was an expensive mistake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VSG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying there is nothing wrong with Hotel Zico. I had a perfectly pleasant stay but it is not in my opinion the boutique hotel it professes on its website.
My room was very large, comfortable and clean - and unlike others I had no problem with noise at all. Although I may have had to sacrifice a balcony for the quietness which was a shame.
Service is courteous but I would not go as far as to suggest friendly and the aim seems to be to satisfy guest's requirements rather than exceed expectations.
The fitness centre is small but certainly adequate.
The outside boules court is in my view a little out of keeping and could be better utilised as a small outside seating area to relax in.
Breakfast is perhaps the area requiring most work. The omelette bar is good but wasn't operating from the start of the sitting every day during my stay. The rest of the cooked breakfast was a little tasteless and the continental selection limited and uninspiring.
Overall perfectly acceptable and if you simply need a base for exploring the area it would be a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Highly recommended, friendly staff, nice rooms, very pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely go back there on future trips.
I'm the 3rd or 4rth person from my company to stay there and we keep on recommending it to one another and are always pleased with the place.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms with the outdoor terrace, very relaxing with the running water in the fountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avinoam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The price is average, the rooms are a little nicer than average (lots of power outlets), the staff are quite a bit more efficient and intelligent than average.

The big upside is the location. Blast up or down highway 85 and you’re there. Hint: If you're heading south, as in from 101, take the El Camino (82) SOUTH exit, and do 3 corners: cross 85, get back on it going north again, get off instantly and you you’re on El Camino north RIGHT AT the Zico entrance.

The big downside is the location. If you require absolute quiet to sleep, don’t stay here, because there’s lots of noise from 85. The side of the hotel away from the highway is probably better.

I visit the area often for work and nearly always stay at Zico, just convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I only stayed 1 night and I enjoyed it.
located in great location in mountain view,close to the downtown and restaurant as well the freeway 85 and 237.
Hotel decorated in contemporary look.
Service was great ,the room very large and very clean.
I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is an odd hotel. It has clearly been a lower rung hotel whose current owner spiffed it up with modern touches in the small bath, funky color schemes, and updated rooms. Breakfast is in a spartan room but they do have cooked to order eggs and omelets, and no plastic ware - yea! Limited interactions with staff were friendly. Could definitely hear people tromping around in the room above and TVs etc from adjacent rooms. Seemed a decent deal for being where it is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
560 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
920 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zico

Property: Hotel Zico
Address: 200 E El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2723 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#3 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Business Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zico 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enthusiastic nod to Zeus, protector of travelers, Hotel Zico puts a modern-day spin on the Old World tradition of xenia, the lost art of hospitality. From our modern Mediterranean décor, the flavor and flair of Greece is ever-present, creating an Xperience that feels fresh and familiar, yet anchored in spirited creativity and comfort. Add the energetic vibe of Silicon Valley and you've got xenia 2.0, the next generation of over-the-top hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zico Hotel Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing