We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of Hotel Zico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zico
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
larkinthedark
1 review
“Convenient”
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Good value for the price and location.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank larkinthedark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    157
    52
    31
    19
See reviews for
92
101
59
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2008

The bed was hard. The pillows were horrible. The room was small.(My husband and I had a King room. The bathroom was small. The breakfast was so-so. Eggs,bacon,hash browns, sausage, cereal, milk, orange juice,pancakes, and an unmanned omelet bar. The walls were paper thin. you could hear the people in the other rooms. When the water is on in the bathroom the pipes rattle. The in room mini fridge was ok. It worked. The Microwave did not work whatsoever. The internet was spotty and slow. There was no pool. The price is a quite a bit higher for all it's problems. I would have rather paid and extra 20 dollars a night to stay at the recognizable hotel chain or payed 40 dollars less and stayed at no frills hotel, atleast I would have expected problems.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank hubbys_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2008

I recently stayed at the Hotel Zico and really enjoyed my stay - it's
a great little hotel that's a nice change from the usual. The room decor was pretty unique and the bathroom was pretty cool, with a floating sink bowl catching my attention...
The best parts were a great free breakfast (I had a omelet made to order) and a cute, large room. They are in the process of re-doing the outside (I think, based on some paint colors I saw on the wall) which would definitely be welcome. You really can't get what they offer at that price elsewhere.

  • Liked — decor and lobby
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gardenbrgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2008

I found this hotel online. I chose it for its proximity to the VA hospital near Stanford where a family memeber was ill. The website was wonderful. The hotel looked very nice and clean. I checked out trip advisor and it came highly recommended.

I was totally unprepared for what greeted me upon my arrival. The elevator was small, cramped, smelly, made a frightening creaky sound, and the fake-wood vinyl was peeling from the wall. The front desk was made of particle board with one raw, unpainted edge that greets you upon your arrival. Classy. The front desk was attended by a small woman who could barely contain her irritation that we interrupted her television watching. The "renovation" turned out to be cheap wal-mart style furniture and a thin layer of bright cobalt paint over cruddy walls. I could hear the next room's television going the moment I walked into my room. The fixtures on the doors look like they are from early 1970s. The beds were sagging in the middle. In the evening as I walked to the entrance to the hotel I encountered three very large rats that didn't even scatter when I approached them but quietly went about their business of climbing the poorly tended foliage that ran along the building and allowed them free and easy access to the 2nd floor. If I hadn't just flown 3000 miles and been completely exhausted I would have walked out.

Never Never NEVER AGAIN. BEWARE!!!!!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilikia387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Convenient location, but less than scenic. Rates were very reasonable and owners have done a nice job of renovating this place. Right off El Camino looking out on 85. Sound not too bad.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank snoopyontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Good value for budget travelers. Some nice features for a converted senior residence. The bed was excellent but I wouldnt want to spend much down time at the hotel. Still it was alot better than most budget hotels. Some great features (glass basin sinks, low-flow toilets, etc.) but I still can't decide if what they do is just gimmicky or a real trend setter.

Whatever you do - do not get a room on the front side of the hotel. The building faces Interstate 85 and it was noisy all night. Also the shared balconies mean you cannot leave your door open at night (for fresh air).

  • Liked — the bed and the bathroom basin
  • Disliked — the rooms that face the highway
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LML4400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

When we checked in we discovered that our room only had one bed (our fault). The staff set us up with a pull-out bed, but then went the extra distance and moved us to a room with two beds when they got a cancellation. Nice work! Thanks to Jim at the front desk.

The breakfast exceeded our expectations.

Overall we got more than we expected to, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to the budget-minded traveler to Mountain View.

  • Liked — Staff, breakfast and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Poor cell coverage and spotty Internet access
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LootBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
560 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
921 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zico

Property: Hotel Zico
Address: 200 E El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2723 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#3 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Business Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zico 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enthusiastic nod to Zeus, protector of travelers, Hotel Zico puts a modern-day spin on the Old World tradition of xenia, the lost art of hospitality. From our modern Mediterranean décor, the flavor and flair of Greece is ever-present, creating an Xperience that feels fresh and familiar, yet anchored in spirited creativity and comfort. Add the energetic vibe of Silicon Valley and you've got xenia 2.0, the next generation of over-the-top hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zico Hotel Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing