We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty decent but not the best - the lovely breakfast is the USP” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Zico
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
“Pretty decent but not the best - the lovely breakfast is the USP”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My first impression of Zico was that the location was not all that great - right by the driveway and a little difficult to locate. The staff is friendly. The hotel room is decently big, bathroom is okay but the bathroom loosed worn out, that is, the tub had signs of wear. The king size bed was very comfy, with multiple pillow options - soft, firm. Breakfast was very filling with options from pancakes, juices, cereals, toast, milk and the best part was the live omlette counter which I know many would be very satisfied with. I never ended up using the gym or the common area, though they looked pretty much unused during my course of stay for 14 days. The laundromat was something I used quite a lot - pretty satisfied. A slight homely feel to this hotel - would give a 3 on 5 - the location was not very impressive to me, that is all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shvveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    146
    49
    29
    18
See reviews for
88
95
57
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Emilia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice hotel in Moutan View. I like it because it's not the 'classical' business hotel: it's more warmy and personal starting from the painting, the furniture and the people.
Rooms are nice: nicely painted and with nice forniture. Clean and of the right size.
It's on El Camino Real: The road in that area.
There is also a nice trail in the area if you like to run.
Minus? It's a bit isolated, not too new, the heating is EXTREMELY noise.

Room Tip: The side of the El Camino Real ha balcony but it's more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PierG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The room and bathroom were very clean, a prime rating consideration, and were stylishly furnished--with even a Keurig coffee maker in the room! The bed had a firm, very comfortable mattress, with a quality sheet and duvet, and a choice of pillow firmness. The hotel has a nice, modern look and feel, a very attractive lobby area, and friendly, helpful front desk staff. The included breakfast included a to-order omelet bar, but lacked sugar-free cereals and offered only white bread (no brown or whole wheat bread). Parking is in an underground lot, with a very convenient elevator that enables one to transfer luggage directly from a car to one's floor.

The hotel is undergoing construction so plan on exceptional noise starting weekdays at 9:00 AM. Also, because the hotel is located alongside a busy freeway, a North-side room is recommended.

One other point: the Zico Hotel shares a driveway with an adjacent extended stay hotel located to the rear of the Zico. Most people intuitively follow the driveway until they find a hotel entrance in the rear--but it's for the other hotel. The Zico's actual lobby entrance is difficult to spot, with only a small sign just in front of the underground parking garage pointing the way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarvinWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very convenient location right off the #85 on El Camino Real. I stayed on the second floor in room 210. It was far enough away from the freeway so that I didn't hear any noise. Bathroom was really small. Had to step to the side of the toilet to close the door. Cleanliness could have been better. Room needed a good vacuuming and toilet seat had a "residue" on it.

Workout facility is small. The only treadmill was not working, but there was also a stairmaster, eliptical and recumbant bike. The weight machine was really messed up (unusable) so I let the front desk know. Water, towels and a big screen t.v. were available.

Breakfast room was large and had a nice variety of food. Bacon, sausage, eggs, cereal, toast, bagels, juices, coffee and an omlette bar. Due to the high volume of people at 9 am, there was a ten minute wait to get an omlette. The staff was friendly and accomodating throughout my stay.

I arrived at the property at 4pm to find several guests wanting their money refunded due to construction work going on. It was very noisy due to hammering and sawing, but all that stopped by the time I got into my room. I didn't hear any noise the next morning and I checked out by 11am. I thought the manager and front desk clerk handled themselves very well considering the stress they were under. They were courteous and gave refunds promptly.

There is underground parking that has an elevator. I noticed a police car cruising through the outside parking lot around 6pm. I get the impression they do this regularly to keep an eye on things. Traveling as a single female, I felt completely safe at this property. I would recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the 200's away from the roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalifornia-Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our recent stay at Hotel Zico was delightful! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
The full breakfast was delicious.The complimentary copy of the San Francisco Chronicle each weekday, the Starbucks coffee in the lobby and and the umbrellas available for our use on rainy days were nice amenities. We plan to stay there again anytime we are travelling in the area.

Room Tip: Our second floor room (219) was quiet and comfortable. Ask for a room that is located away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We enjoyed a nice one night stay after a long day in a hospital waiting room. Very comfortable beds, choice of pillows and clean rooms. Cute touches with folding decorations on the toilet paper and Kleenex. Made us smile when we needed some humor. The breakfast was really good with pancakes, omelette bar, bacon, sausage and toast. They served Starbucks coffee and a great selection of teas. I would definitely stay here again instead of a hotel chain where every place looks the same. I really liked the decor.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mototravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent a night at hotel Zico to avoid the fumes from our newly refinished hardwood floor. Based on the reviews we expected a good experience, but in reality, this place is very noisy, being close to Hwy 85 , and the rooms are nothing short of garishly painted dump. The bathroom was mildewy with big gaps between the wall and the tub, no tiles around the bathtub and shower; rather a badly painted turquoise color surface. The reception is decorated in a Zen inspired decor - I guess to counteract the aggravation due to the state of dilapidation and the intolerable garishness of the rooms. The famous good breakfast is good only for those who like greasy eggs, bacon and the like. I'll never recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank europeanbabeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zico

Property: Hotel Zico
Address: 200 E El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2723 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Business Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zico 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enthusiastic nod to Zeus, protector of travelers, Hotel Zico puts a modern-day spin on the Old World tradition of xenia, the lost art of hospitality. From our modern Mediterranean décor, the flavor and flair of Greece is ever-present, creating an Xperience that feels fresh and familiar, yet anchored in spirited creativity and comfort. Add the energetic vibe of Silicon Valley and you've got xenia 2.0, the next generation of over-the-top hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Zico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zico Hotel Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing