We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very clean, comfortable, stylishly furnished room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zico
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very clean, comfortable, stylishly furnished room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The room and bathroom were very clean, a prime rating consideration, and were stylishly furnished--with even a Keurig coffee maker in the room! The bed had a firm, very comfortable mattress, with a quality sheet and duvet, and a choice of pillow firmness. The hotel has a nice, modern look and feel, a very attractive lobby area, and friendly, helpful front desk staff. The included breakfast included a to-order omelet bar, but lacked sugar-free cereals and offered only white bread (no brown or whole wheat bread). Parking is in an underground lot, with a very convenient elevator that enables one to transfer luggage directly from a car to one's floor.

The hotel is undergoing construction so plan on exceptional noise starting weekdays at 9:00 AM. Also, because the hotel is located alongside a busy freeway, a North-side room is recommended.

One other point: the Zico Hotel shares a driveway with an adjacent extended stay hotel located to the rear of the Zico. Most people intuitively follow the driveway until they find a hotel entrance in the rear--but it's for the other hotel. The Zico's actual lobby entrance is difficult to spot, with only a small sign just in front of the underground parking garage pointing the way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarvinWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    133
    46
    25
    16
See reviews for
82
82
53
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very convenient location right off the #85 on El Camino Real. I stayed on the second floor in room 210. It was far enough away from the freeway so that I didn't hear any noise. Bathroom was really small. Had to step to the side of the toilet to close the door. Cleanliness could have been better. Room needed a good vacuuming and toilet seat had a "residue" on it.

Workout facility is small. The only treadmill was not working, but there was also a stairmaster, eliptical and recumbant bike. The weight machine was really messed up (unusable) so I let the front desk know. Water, towels and a big screen t.v. were available.

Breakfast room was large and had a nice variety of food. Bacon, sausage, eggs, cereal, toast, bagels, juices, coffee and an omlette bar. Due to the high volume of people at 9 am, there was a ten minute wait to get an omlette. The staff was friendly and accomodating throughout my stay.

I arrived at the property at 4pm to find several guests wanting their money refunded due to construction work going on. It was very noisy due to hammering and sawing, but all that stopped by the time I got into my room. I didn't hear any noise the next morning and I checked out by 11am. I thought the manager and front desk clerk handled themselves very well considering the stress they were under. They were courteous and gave refunds promptly.

There is underground parking that has an elevator. I noticed a police car cruising through the outside parking lot around 6pm. I get the impression they do this regularly to keep an eye on things. Traveling as a single female, I felt completely safe at this property. I would recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the 200's away from the roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalifornia-Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our recent stay at Hotel Zico was delightful! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
The full breakfast was delicious.The complimentary copy of the San Francisco Chronicle each weekday, the Starbucks coffee in the lobby and and the umbrellas available for our use on rainy days were nice amenities. We plan to stay there again anytime we are travelling in the area.

Room Tip: Our second floor room (219) was quiet and comfortable. Ask for a room that is located away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We enjoyed a nice one night stay after a long day in a hospital waiting room. Very comfortable beds, choice of pillows and clean rooms. Cute touches with folding decorations on the toilet paper and Kleenex. Made us smile when we needed some humor. The breakfast was really good with pancakes, omelette bar, bacon, sausage and toast. They served Starbucks coffee and a great selection of teas. I would definitely stay here again instead of a hotel chain where every place looks the same. I really liked the decor.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mototravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent a night at hotel Zico to avoid the fumes from our newly refinished hardwood floor. Based on the reviews we expected a good experience, but in reality, this place is very noisy, being close to Hwy 85 , and the rooms are nothing short of garishly painted dump. The bathroom was mildewy with big gaps between the wall and the tub, no tiles around the bathtub and shower; rather a badly painted turquoise color surface. The reception is decorated in a Zen inspired decor - I guess to counteract the aggravation due to the state of dilapidation and the intolerable garishness of the rooms. The famous good breakfast is good only for those who like greasy eggs, bacon and the like. I'll never recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank europeanbabeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel Zico was a nice break from the typical hotel I stay in when on business. It has a very Zen feel to the lobby, the rooms are good (could be better) but I was happy with them. The breakfast is awesome, don't skip the omelet bar. Lot's of restaurants and shopping within walking distance and a great nature trail right by the hotel. When I'm back in the Mountain View area, I'll be sure to book my stay at Hotel Zico again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usujason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Good: The decor was colorful, the breakfast was adequate for my wife since she is gluten free and the omelette station was a BIG seller for my booking. Underground parking was nice and our vehicle was safe the 3 nights we stayed there, also the elevator leading to the parking area was convenient. We were away from the freeway, so we had no issues with noise in our room. We did not hear neighboring guests through the walls as some have reported. The TV reception in our room was great. Free wireless internet worked fine for the little amount of time I used it. The Krueger coffee maker in the room went unused but was a nice feature.The hotel staff obliged us with extra towels. Overall the place was outwardly nice.

The Ok: The price ($384 for 3 nights/tax included) compared to what we received (compared to many, many hotels we have stayed in, in the same area) was not, in my opinion, fair price for the cramped room. The double queen room was very cramped for 2 adults and 2 older kids (12&14). The toilet resting pegs for the toilet seat were all broken and the seat wobbly. The tub had signs of wear on the headrest area, very tacky. Bathroom very cramped as well. The room (#216) has an odd smell, not unpleasant just odd. Getting there from the freeways is a roller coaster ride (thank God for GPS). The solitary ice machine worked for one small bucket of ice and no more (Would have liked to fill half an ice chest for the beach). The air conditioner was loud kicking on and would wake one up during the night, even with ear plugs (Once again this also is a product of the cramped room design). If you eat breakfast in the 3rd hour of breakfast expect a rush and 2 kitchen staff have a hard time keeping up, they do well but you may have to wait a few minutes for something. The internet browsers on the computers in the common area (IE, Firefox & Chrome) did not work and had Malware preventing use of internet on them. Did not meet all expectations for the price we paid. While it tries hard to be a boutique/different hotel, it falls short in prviding value for the money.

Room Tip: Room sinside main building would be insulated from the freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 19 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#4 of 19 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 19 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 34 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zico

Property: Hotel Zico
Address: 200 E. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Business Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zico 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Silicon Valley's newest Green hotel & boutique experience, Hotel Zico melds stylish modern Mediterranean decor, welcoming service and a wealth of unique amenities - all at unbeatable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Zico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zico Hotel Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing