We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice change from the hotel chains” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Zico
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice change from the hotel chains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We enjoyed a nice one night stay after a long day in a hospital waiting room. Very comfortable beds, choice of pillows and clean rooms. Cute touches with folding decorations on the toilet paper and Kleenex. Made us smile when we needed some humor. The breakfast was really good with pancakes, omelette bar, bacon, sausage and toast. They served Starbucks coffee and a great selection of teas. I would definitely stay here again instead of a hotel chain where every place looks the same. I really liked the decor.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mototravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    142
    48
    28
    17
See reviews for
88
90
56
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent a night at hotel Zico to avoid the fumes from our newly refinished hardwood floor. Based on the reviews we expected a good experience, but in reality, this place is very noisy, being close to Hwy 85 , and the rooms are nothing short of garishly painted dump. The bathroom was mildewy with big gaps between the wall and the tub, no tiles around the bathtub and shower; rather a badly painted turquoise color surface. The reception is decorated in a Zen inspired decor - I guess to counteract the aggravation due to the state of dilapidation and the intolerable garishness of the rooms. The famous good breakfast is good only for those who like greasy eggs, bacon and the like. I'll never recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank europeanbabeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel Zico was a nice break from the typical hotel I stay in when on business. It has a very Zen feel to the lobby, the rooms are good (could be better) but I was happy with them. The breakfast is awesome, don't skip the omelet bar. Lot's of restaurants and shopping within walking distance and a great nature trail right by the hotel. When I'm back in the Mountain View area, I'll be sure to book my stay at Hotel Zico again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usujason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Good: The decor was colorful, the breakfast was adequate for my wife since she is gluten free and the omelette station was a BIG seller for my booking. Underground parking was nice and our vehicle was safe the 3 nights we stayed there, also the elevator leading to the parking area was convenient. We were away from the freeway, so we had no issues with noise in our room. We did not hear neighboring guests through the walls as some have reported. The TV reception in our room was great. Free wireless internet worked fine for the little amount of time I used it. The Krueger coffee maker in the room went unused but was a nice feature.The hotel staff obliged us with extra towels. Overall the place was outwardly nice.

The Ok: The price ($384 for 3 nights/tax included) compared to what we received (compared to many, many hotels we have stayed in, in the same area) was not, in my opinion, fair price for the cramped room. The double queen room was very cramped for 2 adults and 2 older kids (12&14). The toilet resting pegs for the toilet seat were all broken and the seat wobbly. The tub had signs of wear on the headrest area, very tacky. Bathroom very cramped as well. The room (#216) has an odd smell, not unpleasant just odd. Getting there from the freeways is a roller coaster ride (thank God for GPS). The solitary ice machine worked for one small bucket of ice and no more (Would have liked to fill half an ice chest for the beach). The air conditioner was loud kicking on and would wake one up during the night, even with ear plugs (Once again this also is a product of the cramped room design). If you eat breakfast in the 3rd hour of breakfast expect a rush and 2 kitchen staff have a hard time keeping up, they do well but you may have to wait a few minutes for something. The internet browsers on the computers in the common area (IE, Firefox & Chrome) did not work and had Malware preventing use of internet on them. Did not meet all expectations for the price we paid. While it tries hard to be a boutique/different hotel, it falls short in prviding value for the money.

Room Tip: Room sinside main building would be insulated from the freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel was booked on Hotwire at a rate deeply discounted off the rack rate. When I checked in I was greeted and advised my room was not ready. After 20 minutes I received my key card and went to check out the room. When I arrived I was surprised of the condition of the room.
Comfy king size bed with Microwave and frig. Nice updated bathroom and linens on the bed. I had a great nights sleep. My room was in the back away from the freeway. I went to breakfast and was again surprised of all the choices; Omlet bar (made to order), eggs, pancakes, sausage, bacon and so much more. Well worth it! Only minor complaint was the fan in my room. It emitted a strange ordor on the last day. The other thing is when you get off the freeway you should take the 85 North to the exit. You have to pay attention. It is a quick turn, but there is a nice big sign and you can se when you cross the freeway. Overall I would stay here again. By the way if you are going to Shoreline I would stay here. Only 5-10 minutes from Shoreline Amphitheatre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LATraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hotel was pleasant. Good price for the area. However our room smelled like sour wet carpet and the cleaning chemical used did nothing to mask it. We opened our windows to let in fresh air. Fortunately they supplied earplugs to help drown out the traffic noise. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ohmyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

After reading most of the reviews i definitely expected alot more. I just checked into this hotel about 20 mins ago and am regretting my decision. For the price i paid i was not expecting a small cramped very dark room with someone else's hair on the pillowcases. Once again the pics online are alot better than the real thing. Mattresses are not comfortable and when calling the front desk to ask about it got a short response. Hmmm...wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jls42083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zico

Property: Hotel Zico
Address: 200 E El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#3 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Business Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zico 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enthusiastic nod to Zeus, protector of travelers, Hotel Zico puts a modern-day spin on the Old World tradition of xenia, the lost art of hospitality. From our modern Mediterranean décor, the flavor and flair of Greece is ever-present, creating an Xperience that feels fresh and familiar, yet anchored in spirited creativity and comfort. Add the energetic vibe of Silicon Valley and you've got xenia 2.0, the next generation of over-the-top hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Zico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zico Hotel Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing