We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable Food at a Reasonable Price”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hangen Szechuan Restaurant
Ranked #225 of 326 Restaurants in Mountain View
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable Food at a Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My oldest son and I were wandering Castro Street on a weekend afternoon looking for a casual, reasonably priced, late lunch and tried this place.

We ordered several dishes that were delivered in a timely fashion. The portion sizes were reasonable and the quality of the food was as good or better than other similarly priced restaurants.

If I was looking for a casual lunch or dinner and wanted Chinese food, I'd consider coming again. I'd have rated the place 3.5 if I could.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

After searching for good restaurants in downtown mtn view , went to Hangen Szechuan for lunch. Ambiance is nice but food was the worst. Too greasy, salty and hot (temperature).
The corn soup was sweet and sticky. I could not take more than one sip.

Would never go back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shweta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good find on Castro Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

After wandering Castro Street looking for dinner inspiration on a recent Sunday night we decided upon Hangen Szechuan and I'm so glad we did. The service was attentive without being overwhelming, and the food was great. We shared a number of delicious dishes and spent a relaxing evening after a busy weekend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlyn_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good cheap food. Clams...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

Good cheap food. Clams are excellent.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“When I first moved to the bay area this was my favorite place. Age has made it a place I can not eat at.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2007

When I first moved to the bay area this was my favorite place. Age has made it a place I can not eat at.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hangen Szechuan Restaurant also viewed

Mountain View, CA
Mountain View, CA
 
Mountain View, CA
Mountain View, CA
 
Mountain View, CA
Mountain View, CA
 

Been to Hangen Szechuan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing