We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sushi, best Uni (Sea Urchin) in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi Tomi

Sushi Tomi
Ranked #7 of 326 Restaurants in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, best Uni (Sea Urchin) in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I judge a sushi place by the quality of the fish. this may sound obvious but really if you have figured out fresh versus a few days old, you are in good shape. The Uni *Sea Urchin) is probably the LEAST popular amongst most sushi eaters, me included. The Sea Urchin I was served today was so good that I asked for more. It was fresh and very taste. I had the $35 sushi platter and there were 10 pcs so I was not full. I had to have a couple of more pieces. Overall it was $50/head so not cheap. this was without any alcohol. I will go there again for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bizman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    42
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Incredible Sushi - don't go for the ambiance.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The sushi here was fantastic, among the best I've had (I've had a lot). I had the $30 platter that came with a variety of different options from Sea Urchin to Octopus. I don't usually venture far off the traditional sushi menu but this time it was worth it! The rice and wasabi was done well which is always important to me.

I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic evening but would highly recommend it for a business lunch/dinner. Due to the fact that they offer take-aways you may have people loitering about your table (if it's busy).

Overall, definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chimeraza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little sushi restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great sushi at a reasonable price. Not fancy by any means, but if all you want is some good food then this is the place. Lots of parking near by.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thebaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Freshest fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although it is a small restaurant, you will not be disappointed with the sushi if you're lucky to have been seated. This is one of the sushi restaurant gems that will serve up the freshest fish with no lack in taste. Not overpriced nor sliced too thin, your mouth will thank you for not taking it to another average sushi restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ct_4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“superb sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellent sushi, expertly prepared. Many other dishes available too. Service is efficient and pleasant. Authentic and delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Tomi also viewed

Mountain View, CA
 
Mountain View, CA
Mountain View, CA
 

Been to Sushi Tomi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing