We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Italian open late with excellent cuisine”

Frankie Johnnie & Luigi Too
Ranked #12 of 326 Restaurants in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Local Italian open late with excellent cuisine”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

With a full menu and wine list plus open to midnight except Sunday, FJ&L2 is THE place to go after a long day. The sausage bread is a meal in itself with a marinara sauce to die for. Most marinara sauces have a strong acidic flavor I don't care for, theirs has a delicate balance of spice and savory that is delicious. Angel hair pasta is easily overcooked; theirs is consistently perfect. The baked ziti is also wonderful. This is our go-to place for Italian. There is no " outdoor" seating but the addition at the back of the building has an outdoor feel without the cold, wind or bugs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkLaube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    72
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“World's Best Pizza”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I started going to this pizza place in 1973. My three brothers and I have been there well over 100 times since then, and the pizza has never failed. Like most family-owned pizza joints, they make the dough the day before and let it rise overnight, which results in a light, but thick crust - an achievement that I don't think any of the chain pizza places are capable of.

We are creatures of habit: on at least fifty occasions we've ordered the exact same pizza: linguica, Italian sausage, and pepperoni, with fresh tomatoes put on top, after the pizza is baked.

Also highly recommended: antipasto plate, house salad, lasagna, cheesecake. They also have daily set menus: the highlight is the cioppino (Tuesday).

The wine is very expensive - I've brought my own and paid the corkage fee.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillTuckerUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
446 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
“The calzone was very good.”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A group of colleagues and I ate here on a Tuesday evening in mid-December. There were 6 of use and we arrived around 6:00, but we were seated after only a short wait. The service was outstanding. The food was better than average. Large portions and very good food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhioHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great value!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Best antipasto salad and with minestrone soup, it's a great choice for a late lunch or dinner. Nice spot for family dinners with wonderful traditional Italian food--believe me, I'm Italian and don't provide compliments easily. Try it, you will like it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pastalisious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Italian night”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A local Italian restaurant with outstanding pizza and many other entree choices. Every entree has been wonderful and satisfying, from entree salads to pastas and beef and fish dishes. Service is efficient and timely. We eat here frequently as it is consistently great food and reasonably priced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie Johnnie & Luigi Too also viewed

Mountain View, CA
Mountain View, CA
 
Mountain View, CA
Mountain View, CA
 
Mountain View, CA
 

Been to Frankie Johnnie & Luigi Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing