We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and Last time”

Shoreline Amphitheatre
Attraction details
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First and Last time”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I just got back from watching Jason Aldean and Luke Bryan at Shoreline Amphitheater. And it was my first time to go to Shoreline and will be my last time going there. We ended up taking a cab to the venue as I had previously read how difficult parking was. A ten minute ride turned into 30 minutes due to the congestion trying to get into the venue. Then just when we got to the venue and thought we were going to be able to get into the concert, we found the line to get in ridiculously long as they had 4 people doing searches on everybody entering. Really! You have 22,000 people coming into the venue wouldn't you have more than 4 people searching people. Once in the venue the seating was not conducive to seeing the performers. I much prefer the indoor arena for concerts. Getting a cab after the concert was another challenge. Overall just not what I had envisioned of Shoreline Amphitheater.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pismobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    20
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN FRANCISCO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“oversold and no support staff”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was a totally over whelming crowd experience. Line to park and lines to get in were horrible. For a venue with so much experience you would think they would have a clue how to control crowds. We had lawn seating and a fight broke out, no security and no one to help the guy knocked out cold on the lawn. They had to close the exit stairs at one point because too many people were on them which left a massive crowd with only one exit. The exit stairs should be able to accommodate the crowd or they should only sell what they can accommodate. Tons of drunk and stoned people. Smoking all around, both cigarettes and pot, blankets dry grass cigarets being dropped every where and no way to get out if a fire started. I won't return. On the otherhand Luke Bryant is terrific and will see him in another venue.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mac4murph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slightly Stoopied And Soja Concert”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Liked everything! Good Parking, we waited about 20 minutes to leave parking area. Many food venues. Great Music.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mendonative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
763 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“I feel pretty lucky to live so close to a place like this!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Came to BFD here on Saturday, and I feel pretty lucky to live so close to a place like this!

The bag-checks are nowhere near the level of authoritarian police state crackdown that a lot of reviews make it out to be. They let you bring food in (depending on the event), but no DSLRs or alcohol. The security employees quickly peek inside your bag for either one of these, do a quick patdown to make sure you're not some gun-toting freak, and you're in!

The atmosphere is really cool, almost like a carnival, along the walkways leading to the main stage. True, the prices are high--actually, for the alcohol they're absolutely outrageous ($10 for maybe 16 oz of bud light is the least you'll get away with paying)-- but for the food they're about what you'd expect for this kind of venue. And we really enjoyed our garlic fries! ($7.50). For BFD, they also brought in some food trucks that completely upped the food ante.

The lawn seating is really unique and well-designed... You can see from everywhere! We can't wait to come back in October for Florence and the Machine, and again next year for BFD 2013!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oracle Bob recommends the shoreline amphitheater”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

There are many places to see live entertainment in the San Francisco bay area but if you want to have a great night out in an outdoor venue then attend a show a get the ViP ticket package the location is easy to get to the staff and accommodations are first rate and the weather is very mild 95% of the time. I have seen more than 100 shows in this venue and never had a bad Experiance at any of them
Happy Listening
Bob

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oracle-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoreline Amphitheatre also viewed

 

Been to Shoreline Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing