We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Good Experience, but you need a rental car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites At NASA Ames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites At NASA Ames
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Mountain View
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
247 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A Good Experience, but you need a rental car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We weren't impressed at first when we walked in to this hotel, but after we settled in and had a good night's sleep, we were quite happy. The location is convenient to NASA, the San Jose airport (12 miles away), and Google's headquarters, and downtown Mountain View, where there are many restaurants and a light rail station to downtown San Jose, the Great Mall, and other nearby points. There is a free underground parking garage and with an elevator to the lobby. The breakfast was quite adequate.

On the down side, there is no shuttle service ANYWHERE (we even went to the Ramada next door to see if they had a shuttle, but they do not either), so you need a rental car, and town would be at least 1/2 an hour to walk to. The hotel faces on the Bayshore Freeway, so be sure to get a room well in the back. (We did and did not hear any noise.)

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room in the back to get away from freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
13
12
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Out in the midle of nowhere. A sorry place indeed.
Dont be fooled by the picture.
Parking in underground.
The place is clean but otherwise unacceptable

Room Tip: Not a good hotel .. out in the boonies ..perhaps it looks good in comparison to other hotels in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taufiq H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mountain View hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This place had better rates for it's reviewed level, but is just a notch up from other economy motels. Even the room keys still came in "Super 8" cases, so did it recently change names? The people at the front desk were nice enough but certainly did not seem to want to do anything to go out of the way to help. The rooms were just adequate enough for a decent nights sleep. Most of the parking is in the underground structure, in tight spaces. The breakfast was included (yay), but the options were limited. You can make your own waffles, which always gets extra points from me. The place worked overall as a one night layover before a long drive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed for business and have to say I was glad. Rooms were large, very clean, very convenient. The hotel is located at on mile from the downtown which is a charming place. People at the front desk were nice and helpful. Breakfast was all right (I love waffles). overall good surprise. Parking is free and easy

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauldeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We are regular concert goers and when in Mountain View --Shoreline we ALWAYS stay at Quality Inn. Great service and good breakfast although the eating area is really small so we take our b'fast back to our room. We usually take a cab to Shoreline to avoid the traffic congestion and parking worries. As was mentioned in another review it sometimes is difficult to get a cab but walk down to the next major intersection and there are cabs available.
The price is right and it's nice to have breakfast before hitting the road to go back home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

The hotel is very convenient to Ames and priced reasonably for the area. The breakfast selection is excellent compared to comparable hotels. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Free wifi was fast and great signals. Biggest negative is the claim that there is a fitness center: one basic treadmill and elliptic in a small room with no working TV. I stayed here specifically for the fitness center, and at $20 more than my usual spot. Since it rained all week and I worked long hours, I was not able to exercise as I needed. I was disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freq_Bus_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

clean, comfortable and quiet. Easy access to freeways and great restaurants in downtown mountain view. 5 minute cab drive to Shoreline. Great breakfast in the morning with waffles, eggs, potatoes, fruit, etc. If you are going to Shoreline, I don't recommend taking a cab. It is nearly impossible to get back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trixietrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#4 of 19 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 19 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 19 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites At NASA Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites At NASA Ames

Property: Quality Inn & Suites At NASA Ames
Address: 5 Fairchild Dr, Mountain View, CA 94043-2013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites At NASA Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites At NASA Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites - Mountain View
Quality Inn & Suites - Mountain View Hotel Mountain View
Quality Inn Mountain View
Mountain View Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing