We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hotel Strata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Strata
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2007

My family (wife and two kids aged 8 & 5) stayed at the Holiday Inn express over the labor day weekend. We had a King suite. The room was decent sized, although if our kids were much older I think it would have been a little cramped. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. I was a little worried about the street noise since the hotel is on a pretty busy street, but our room was towards the back and we didn't have any noise issues.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was OK. They had bagels, cold cereal and frozen waffles/french toast that could be toasted. I've had better (and I've had worse). There really isn't anything you can walk to from the hotel, but it's a short drive to a lot of locations in the south bay, and it has good freeway access. There were two TV's in the room along with a DVD player which was handy, except that we had trouble with one of the remotes that they fixed once, but then it promptly stopped working again.

All in, I felt it was a pretty good value for the price.,

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jlutzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 404 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2007

this Hotel has everything you need, and the breakfast is fantastic
The employees are so welcoming and always ready to answer any question you might have.
We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Miss_G_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Booked a "queen executive" for a three night stay in early June for a parent and two children. Room was VERY large, very clean ( loved the hardwood floors) and perfect for three people that have different bedtimes. Front desk extremely accomodating, making sure I had maps and local information. Continental breakfast in the morning had real plates as an option in the morning, something not all Holiday Inn Express locations provide. Did not notice any construction noise, so perhaps it is over? Our room was closest to El Camino in the building, so there was some road noise, but my family can sleep through anything, so we were not bothered. It is an older building, but the rooms have obviously been upgraded recently. Surpassed what you normally would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. BTW, by phoning the hotel directly I obtained a very nice rate.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmom221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2007

I've stayed at this property quite regularly for a few years now and keep coming back because of the size of the rooms, the general comfort, great location and the amenities.

That has to be tempered somewhat for the construction on the adjacent restaurant that has been ongoing for almost as long. Think typical construction noises starting at 7:00 AM each morning and you can see where that might be a difficulty.

On the other hand, the breakfasts are great, each room has a new widescreen LCD TV, (sometimes finicky) DVD player and a VCR. Some of the rooms also have safes. The pool is nice and the fitness center has a nice selection of equipment and is open 24 hours with your room key.

The hotel also as a bit of a strange layout - it was obviously two hotels at one point that are now one property, with the restaurant located between the two separate hotel buildings.

Perhaps most amazingly, their vending machines do not charge "hotel" prices but instead charge no more than a local grocery store would for soft drinks and water.

There are two computers located in the lobby for guest use - perfect for printing online checkin boarding passes. There's also free coffee, a selection of free newspapers and the property has free wired and wireless Internet access.

One other reviewer complained this property was more expensive than another Holiday Inn Express up the street, but if you've ever stayed there you know the properties and room quality just don't compare.

The hotel just finished remodeling many of their rooms and they just replaced all their mattresses with new Sealys less than six months ago.

If you can overlook the construction, or if it's complete by now, there's no reason not to give this wonderful place a try. (Bonus - there's also an In-N-Out Burger a two minute walk away!)

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AscentGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

In this area, there are mostly just motor lodge type hotels. This is no exception. Though the room I got was very clean, and very spacious, the restaurant right across from my room was under construction and there was a bit of noise during the daytime and early morning.

Pros: Room had a DVD/VCR and large LCD screen. It had a little kitchenette, equipped with Refrigerator, Stove, Oven and Microwave. Very clean. Excellent continental breakfast included.
Cons: View out the window was of a huge dumpster used for the construction debris. Noisy due to construction. I paid $169 for my room, overpriced considering a Holiday Inn less than 2 miles from this one was only $135.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank askeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

The staff here is amazing. We arrived at the hotel very late, due to a delayed plane and the reception lady was so sweet and helpful. I was 7 months pregnant at the time and she went out of her way to get me some warm milk and some food. The manager was very helpful, giving us directions and suggestions to drive down to Monterrey. The room was extremeley clean and they were doing more rennovations at the time. The included breakfast was great and varying. They even packed us food to take out with us for the day. The only downside is there is VERY little parking (at least that we were aware of) and the spots fill up quickly. However, I would stay at this hotel anytime I am ever again in the San Jose or Bay Area.

Stayed: February 2006
Thank L,L&NicoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Redmond,Wa
12
Reviewed December 16, 2005

I was surprised to see what this hotel offered in terms of service and features. It had more things in the rooms than any hotel i've stayed at. The staff was so friendly and accomodating, that I could not understand how the management was able to do this at a holiday inn express. This trully is a hotel with all the conveniences of a home. This hotel that offers more things than any other hotel that I've stayed at and all the things were free! Don't be fooled by the outside. I guess it's true not to judge a book by the cover.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.9 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strata

Address: 93 W El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2642 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#5 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range: $155 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Strata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Upscale Boutique Hotel Strata offers modern designer hotel accommodations, deluxe services and extended-stay amenities. Free WiFi, hot breakfast, free weekday shuttle is also included for hotel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Strata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center) Hotel Mountain View
Holiday Inn Mountain View
Mountain View Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing