We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommended”
Review of Hotel Strata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Strata
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely Recommended”
Reviewed February 9, 2009

This is an excellent hotel located in the heart of Silicon Valley. Major things for me for hotels- cleanliness, staff, and value. This property meets and exceeds my needs for all 3 of these. The rooms are very nice- recently remodeled and very clean. The bed is VERY comfortable. It's actually better than my bed at home. Internet and breakfast are included in the rate as well. They don't charge extra for those things like many hotels too. Above all, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. If you need a good little hotel in the area, I would recommend this one.

  • Liked — Staff, comfortable and clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kjwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    66
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
45
32
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

This motel is a step above the typical Holiday Inn Express. Hardwood floors and stylish room decor, a better than average breakfast buffet, very fast internet, and smart staff are enough to make this my regular hotel for the area.

Down sides include an awkward entrance to the parking lot: when north bound on Camino Real you need to make a U-turn at the next light.

  • Liked — great rooms
  • Disliked — awkward to get to hotel from northbound Camino Real
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank winnydpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

I can't tell you the last time I stayed at a motel and this was a little scary to drive up to. But as other reviews have stated, the staff was great and put me at ease right away.
The rooms are actually very nice but are caught a little between looking very modern/cool and still having the old stove and fridge.

There is a Mexican restaurant RIGHT next door that I really enjoyed. They made me feel very comfortable and had about 40 tequilas to choose from which is always a big draw for me. The food was just so-so but the experience was great.

Business center/area was nice and the breakfast was average but had everything you would need.

Recommend for business travelers, not for families with kids.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dcbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

My family (wife and two kids aged 8 & 5) stayed at the Holiday Inn express over the labor day weekend. We had a King suite. The room was decent sized, although if our kids were much older I think it would have been a little cramped. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. I was a little worried about the street noise since the hotel is on a pretty busy street, but our room was towards the back and we didn't have any noise issues.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was OK. They had bagels, cold cereal and frozen waffles/french toast that could be toasted. I've had better (and I've had worse). There really isn't anything you can walk to from the hotel, but it's a short drive to a lot of locations in the south bay, and it has good freeway access. There were two TV's in the room along with a DVD player which was handy, except that we had trouble with one of the remotes that they fixed once, but then it promptly stopped working again.

All in, I felt it was a pretty good value for the price.,

  • Liked — Wireless Access
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jlutzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

this Hotel has everything you need, and the breakfast is fantastic
The employees are so welcoming and always ready to answer any question you might have.
We had a great stay.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — I loved everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_G_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Booked a "queen executive" for a three night stay in early June for a parent and two children. Room was VERY large, very clean ( loved the hardwood floors) and perfect for three people that have different bedtimes. Front desk extremely accomodating, making sure I had maps and local information. Continental breakfast in the morning had real plates as an option in the morning, something not all Holiday Inn Express locations provide. Did not notice any construction noise, so perhaps it is over? Our room was closest to El Camino in the building, so there was some road noise, but my family can sleep through anything, so we were not bothered. It is an older building, but the rooms have obviously been upgraded recently. Surpassed what you normally would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. BTW, by phoning the hotel directly I obtained a very nice rate.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

I've stayed at this property quite regularly for a few years now and keep coming back because of the size of the rooms, the general comfort, great location and the amenities.

That has to be tempered somewhat for the construction on the adjacent restaurant that has been ongoing for almost as long. Think typical construction noises starting at 7:00 AM each morning and you can see where that might be a difficulty.

On the other hand, the breakfasts are great, each room has a new widescreen LCD TV, (sometimes finicky) DVD player and a VCR. Some of the rooms also have safes. The pool is nice and the fitness center has a nice selection of equipment and is open 24 hours with your room key.

The hotel also as a bit of a strange layout - it was obviously two hotels at one point that are now one property, with the restaurant located between the two separate hotel buildings.

Perhaps most amazingly, their vending machines do not charge "hotel" prices but instead charge no more than a local grocery store would for soft drinks and water.

There are two computers located in the lobby for guest use - perfect for printing online checkin boarding passes. There's also free coffee, a selection of free newspapers and the property has free wired and wireless Internet access.

One other reviewer complained this property was more expensive than another Holiday Inn Express up the street, but if you've ever stayed there you know the properties and room quality just don't compare.

The hotel just finished remodeling many of their rooms and they just replaced all their mattresses with new Sealys less than six months ago.

If you can overlook the construction, or if it's complete by now, there's no reason not to give this wonderful place a try. (Bonus - there's also an In-N-Out Burger a two minute walk away!)

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AscentGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.9 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#5 of 18 in Mountain View
464 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
901 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strata

Property: Hotel Strata
Address: 93 W El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2642 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#5 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Strata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 100% non-smoking Hotel Strata! Located on Rte 82 junction of Hwy 85 & 237 with easy access to Hwy 101 & 280, near Google, Microsoft, Yahoo, Omnicell, VMWare, SAP, El Camino Hospital, Stanford, NASA Ames, Apple, Siemens and many Silicon Valley company, within proximity to more than 35 restaurants and shopping area. Complimentary pre-arranged shuttle weekdays within 6 mile radius. Bring the family & plan to stay with us during your Christmas & New Year holidays.For business or pleasure this Mountain View hotel features five different room types from which to choose, with all the modern conveniences. Rooms have hardwood type flooring, large flat panel TV/230HD channels,2-line Polycom conference speaker phone/voice mail,multiple plugs including International plugs and USB at bedside and at desk coffee/tea, microwave, refrigerator, pants press, and iron/ironing board. Relax in our luxurious beds with triple sheeting, goose down comforters multiple pillows with pillow menu,heated bathroom floor with Rain, handheld and regular shower heads, complimentary high-speed Internet service over sized work desk & ergonomic chair. Join us each morning for a complimentary hot buffet breakfast with more than 50 items including signature coffee & cinnamon rolls. We also offer an on-site 24-hour full fitness center. Our 24 hour professional and courteous staff is always ready to meet and exceed guest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Strata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center) Hotel Mountain View
Holiday Inn Mountain View
Mountain View Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing