We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY choice you need!”
Review of Hotel Strata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Strata
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I stay at Hotel Strata every month because of the fantastic service and comfortable accommodations.

One month I was unable to book a room and was forced to stay in another hotel (everyone was booked in the area) which was a former Holiday Inn. Unfortunately the only upgrade was the name. Strata is an upgrade on all levels.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank DomenicF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

DomenicF_13
It is an honor to get a feedback form our most frequent guest, and a privilege to serve you. Your comments really lift our morals and make our work very fulfilling. We thank you for your suggestions and comments, which helps us to continue changing with our ever changing guest needs.
We hope you will continue assisting us in raising our standards and services. We look forward to your future visit to serve you.
Dilip R Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 409 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I always stay at Hotel Strata in Mountain View, California when we attend our boys' basketball games. I personally visited all the hotels in the area and compared service, cleanliness, safety, amenities, and cost. After looking at all of our options, my husband and I agreed hands down that Hotel Strata was the best option and value.We both appreciate the personal service we receive with each and every visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRW524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear TRW24,
We sincerely appreciate your comments and thank you for your patronage. We realize you have many choices and thank you for giving us a very high mark. We promise you, we will always meet and try to exceed your expectations, and look forward to your future visit. Our property is driven by our frequent guests like you and are always open for suggestions or comments to improve every aspect of our property. We hope you will assist us in keeping our property in the forefront of the many hotels in the area.
Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you.
Dilip R Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

When planning a college visit, we again relied on the past solid guidance of TripAdvisor and stayed at the Hotel Strata; as before, the reviews were accurate! The curb view of the property belies the wonderful staff (e.g. "Em" at the front desk; "Linda" in the breakfast area), very attractive/comfortable rooms and convenient location to Palo Alto. The superior service, comfort and value offered ensures we will most certainly return to the property on our next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Jag7,
I would like to thank you for putting your review on this website. As a Senior Reviewer, we value your input very much. We are glad that we met your expectations and hope, we will have an opportunity to serve you again on your future trip. We are constantly looking proactively in improving our property in every aspect, and should you have any suggestions or comments, we would appreciate your feedback.
Once again thank you, and if we can ever assist you in anyway, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Dilip R. Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We often visit the Bay area on business and usually stay in Palo Alto near our clients' campuses. Early October, Palo Alto was completely sold out except for a few $600 rooms. We were forced to look further afield and lucked out with the Hotel Strata. Only 20 minutes away, we paid a fraction of the price of the Crowne Plaza or the Sheraton, with free breakfast, free high-speed (and actually fast) internet and parking included.

Pros:
- Wonderful, personal service. Unlike the chains, this hotel is family-run and it shows. At check-in, we got a full rundown on the breakfast and anytime snack offerings, pool and gym, offer of slippers, sleep mask and bottled water. Staff at breakfast were super-friendly and helpful. Upon check-out, they asked us to share something that really irks us about staying in a hotel, then had a vigorous conversation about it afterwards. You know they would actually make it happen! The service was much, much better than I experienced a few weeks prior at the Ritz-Carlton Half Moon Bay (which was shockingly lackadaisical.)
- Comfortable bed and pillows. I am a huge pillow fussy plus had a stiff neck at the time so wasn't looking forward to sleeping in a strange bed. I didn't have much hope when first encountering the pillows but amazingly, my neck was much better in the morning! It was only later that I found that the 2 pillows (each) you get are marked as "firm" or "soft."
- Clean with all the essentials and more. Microwave, safe big enough for a large laptop + a bunch of other devices, shower/tub and toilet in a separate room with the sink in the main room, light-up magnifying mirror, easy access to plugs! (a pet peeve - why do so many hotels make it so hard to plug in your stuff?) The room was a generous size as well.

Cons:
- If you're looking for a luxury hotel or resort, this isn't it. It falls more into a "motel" style category although they're renovating so it's at least new and fresh.

Overall, great value and service - strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear SJWD,
thank you for your wonderful review of our property, and we are glad to have met your expectations. Your suggestions of the large pillows was a wonderful idea and we will be putting them up in our rooms, once the renovations are completed. Our motto is to give our guests the best possible genuine service and I am glad that we had achieved that with you and your family. We of course will continue serving our guests with our heart and we are always open to improve in every aspect.
Dilip R Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, and the free breakfast (some of which is served all day!) is nice. The complete dealbreaker for me, however, is the construction work currently going on.

Directly below my room, a combination of hammering, sawing, and yelling began at 8:30 am. The cleaning staff also knocked on my door at 8:45am.

If you are a fellow late riser but do have to stay here, request a room close to the lobby. There is less noise here.

Room Tip: Close to the lobby for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AveshS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear AveshS,
thank you for staying with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are although sorry that our workers did disturb you in the morning. We have noted your comments and let our workers know, to be mind full of guests staying at the property and try to delay their work till 9am.
Hopefully you will have an opportunity to stay with us, after the completion of this work, to experience the new rooms.
We have also noted that we did meet your expectations in all the other services and amenities.
Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.
Dilip R Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I had stayed here for two weeks and it was a wonderful experience. First of all, the staff from the front desk (especially Em): allways smiling, always ready to help so sometimes guests just like to stop by the lobby and chat a little like friends. Then the room, everything looks new, comfortable and cosy. The housekeeping does a great job too. Breakfast has lots of items to offer, everything is always fresh and tasty. Wifi is fast, you can use a complimentary bike or take a shuttle which makes your staying with this hotel even more convinient. So you always feel like home and really don't want to leave this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadezda_Mkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Nadezda_Mkh,
thank you for taking the time to give your review of our property and your experience. We take these comments very seriously and use them to keep improving in areas that our guests feel we lack. Apparently, we met your expectations and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and look forward to your future visit.
Dilip R Patel
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel really does make the case for owner-run establishments. After staying in several hotels in Mountain View this will be the one I return to next. A warm and personal welcome, a genuine warmth and concern for our well being from the owner/staff - we even got a quick call to our room after 30 mins to check things were OK!

There is a great breakfast 'help youself' selection, and they retain access to some staples throughout the day like yoghurt, cereals, fruit / fruit juice and a few pastries. This means if you arrive in the afternoon, you can have a quick swim in the [small] pool or a workout in the reasonably sized and equipped gym before grabbing a healthy snack. And all included in the room rate.

The breakfast also included a shelf of gluten free items and cereals - nice work!

We were in a Queen Suite, which with 2 kids was awesome - we could shut the bedroom door and watch some TV after they'd gone to bed in the little sitting room. Even though we were right next to El Camino Real, there was little noise [much less than i've had on other Camino hotels].

Room decor was maybe not ultra modern, but was rather nicely done - and there seemed to be large screen TVs everywhere.

Internet was fast - the desk was actually workable as it was a decent size with a proper office chair.

Well done Hotel Strata.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Mr. Donald C,
we would like to thank you for expressing your opinion of our services and amenities, and well as our rooms. We appreciate your patronage and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We realize you have many choices and thank you for choosing our property.
We hope to serve you on your next trip.
Dilip R Patel
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.9 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
331 reviews
3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strata

Address: 93 W El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2642 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range: $228 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Strata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Upscale Boutique Hotel Strata offers modern designer hotel accommodations, deluxe services and extended-stay amenities. Free WiFi, hot breakfast, free weekday shuttle is also included for hotel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Strata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center) Hotel Mountain View
Holiday Inn Mountain View
Mountain View Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing