We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great option when staying in or near Mountain View”
Review of Hotel Strata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Strata
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great option when staying in or near Mountain View”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great location very central to Mountain View - so it's an easy walk to good restaurants and such. The breakfast is AWESOME, and the $13,000 automatic espresso machine made fantastic coffee. The location was very quiet, which was nice. The rooms were very clean. New mattress - not super plush, but comfortable. Super friendly, helpful staff! Recently renovated Holiday Inn Express, but very nice! I met the owner, and he watches over the property and actively cares for it.

Room Tip: I recommend 203 to 213. These are on the second floor and not near the security entrance doors, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Don S,
we thank you for your comments and have noted all your positive comments and thank you for your feedback. We have also noted your comments regarding our bedding. We are embarking on a major change at our property and you will notice many changes for the better, including plush beds and high end sheets with many more amenities to improve your experience at our property. If you have any suggestions or comments, on where to improve, please feel free to let us know. We alos are looking forward to your future visit.
Dilip R Patel
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    66
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
46
44
32
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The rooms are equipped with proper desks and office chairs, not so common even in high-end hotels! The internet connection is also very stable (really important on business trips), and I heard from the manager that they have 2-3 ISPs just in case one of them goes down.

Some more points:
+ Big TV with tons of channels (including premium ones).
+ Fairly good breakfast buffet.
+ Close to a small shopping area including some restaurants, pharmacies, and supermarkets.
+ Very service minded staff (I overheard them offering to give someone a ride to pick up his rental car).
- It's still a bit of a walk to get to Mountain View city center.
- Rooms are a bit drafty.
- No room service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Mr. Albin,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your experience at our property. We are glad that you found our property to your liking, and we have also noted that you felt that our rooms were a little drafty. We are embarking on a renovating our rooms to rectify as many possible deficiency as possible and add many more convenient amenities to improve your experience at our property.
Should you have any specific suggestions to improve our property, we invite you to kindly let us know. Once again, we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you, and look forward to your future visit.
Dilip R Patel
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is really more of a motel. The exterior is not very nice and it looks similar to a Motel 6. However, the interior of both the lobby and rooms are very nice and look recently remodeled. I guess it's a "don't judge a book by its cover" type of place. Also, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a good mix of healthy and non healthy foods. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and I would stay there again...especially due to its proximity to Google.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielSkiffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Europe Traveler3400, we thank you for your candid feedback. We are constantly evolving and over the next few years you will see a lot of changes at our property inside and outside for the better. Your comments are well taken and we will make all our efforts to improve the outside of the property. You might have noticed that we have started by putting in pavers in the front to give our property better looks, and we will continue improving it.
We hope to serve you on your next trip, thank you again.
Dilip R Patel
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here with my hubby for a date night and a concert at the shorline. Cab ride was about 4 miles away. The room was a surprise and very comfortable with all amenities we needed. Price was great and so was breakfast! Not much to do around us but only there for a quick overnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrydersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Jrydersmom,
thank you taking the time to put your review on our property. We are glad that we met your expectations and hope to serve you again in the near future. If you have any suggestions on improving our amenities and or services, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you again for your review.
Dilip Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel it was not what I was expecting and I was not sure that I was at the hotel that I had been reading the reviews about because from the outside it did not look like anything extraordinary but that was where the uncertainty ended. The room was presented perfectly and the bed was very comfortable with al the ammenities you would expect but the real plus with thsi hotel are the people who run it. There service was fantastic and you left with the feeling that they genuinely cared about your stay. I woud definitely stay here again, no question.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicko03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Nicko03,
thank you for your review, and we are glad that we met your expectations, with our services, quality and amenities. We are slowly changing the outside as much as possible to change it so it also reflects our rooms quality. We look towards our guests comments to improve all parts of our property. Should you have any specific comments or suggestion please do not hesitate to let us know.
We look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Strata for only one night.. I was totally imporssed by everything the hotel provided .. from phone booking to welcoming me at the reception, the receoptionist was nice and the rooom was very clean, i liked the layout of the room. The bathroom was impeccable.
I would give my thumbs up to the lovely morning breakfast laid out by them. Everything was just perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niks03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Niks03,
We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and are glad to hear that we met your expectations. We are constantly evolving and we hope to serve you on your future visit. I am sure you will see more changes, for the better, coming soon. Once again thank you for taking the time to express your opinion of our property.
Dilip R Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was just as great as all the recent reviews stated. The staff was very friendly, the beds were comfortable, and the room was clean with more than adequate amenities. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHJCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, General Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
JHJCA,
We would like to thank you for expressing your experience, at our property, in your review. Your business is truly appreciated and we look forward to your future visit and also to have your input in improving our rooms and other areas, that you feel, we need to improve on. Thank you again for your review.
Dilip Patel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.9 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#5 of 18 in Mountain View
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strata

Property: Hotel Strata
Address: 93 W El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2642 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#5 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Strata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 100% non-smoking Hotel Strata! Located on Rte 82 junction of Hwy 85 & 237 with easy access to Hwy 101 & 280, near Google, Microsoft, Yahoo, Omnicell, VMWare, SAP, El Camino Hospital, Stanford, NASA Ames, Apple, Siemens and many Silicon Valley company, within proximity to more than 35 restaurants and shopping area. Complimentary pre-arranged shuttle weekdays within 6 mile radius. Bring the family & plan to stay with us during your Christmas & New Year holidays.For business or pleasure this Mountain View hotel features five different room types from which to choose, with all the modern conveniences. Rooms have hardwood type flooring, large flat panel TV/230HD channels,2-line Polycom conference speaker phone/voice mail,multiple plugs including International plugs and USB at bedside and at desk coffee/tea, microwave, refrigerator, pants press, and iron/ironing board. Relax in our luxurious beds with triple sheeting, goose down comforters multiple pillows with pillow menu,heated bathroom floor with Rain, handheld and regular shower heads, complimentary high-speed Internet service over sized work desk & ergonomic chair. Join us each morning for a complimentary hot buffet breakfast with more than 50 items including signature coffee & cinnamon rolls. We also offer an on-site 24-hour full fitness center. Our 24 hour professional and courteous staff is always ready to meet and exceed guest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Strata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center) Hotel Mountain View
Holiday Inn Mountain View
Mountain View Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing