We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly nice experience”
Review of Hotel Strata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Strata
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Helped me out in a few situations where they could easily have not. The rooms were nice and well kept. Wooden floor, large TV, free wifi, free toiletries if you forgot to bring any. The breakfast is amazing too. They try to keep changing the items so you do not get bored, plus the items are well prepared. The location is pretty convenient too. Situated on El Camino it gives you public transport options and is great if you do not have a car. Plus there are lot of popular eateries on el camino so you have a lot of options besides the nice mexican restaurant within the hotel premises.

Lastly I believe it is perfect if you like Indian stuff. You can either take bus 22/522 or just walk to indian stores that are located nearby where sunnyvale starts.

Overall a very nice experience :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anshul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 409 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

I can't say enough about the staff and service at the Hotel Strata. Everyone there was helpful, friendly, and welcoming. The breakfast buffet was delicious and varied daily. Kirit and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make sure we had all we needed and were well cared for. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Fastest hotel Internet in the Valley, and excellent service. The owners clearly strive to improve their hotel. I've tried many hotel in this area and this is the one I now always stop to on business trips.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilBeaudoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear PhilBeaudoin,

We truly appreciate the time you took to write this review. We understand that you have many choices for hotels in the area and the fact that we will be your next choice when coming to Mountain View means a lot to us.

Sincerely,

Kirit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Being from the East coast,I was expecting the cookie cutter Holiday Inn Express-which would have been adequate for my needs. Upon arrival it was very evident that this hotel exceeded my expectations. It looks and feels more like an independent Hotel that wants to set itself above and beyond the average. The customer service was excellent . The breakfast choices exceeded the typical. The hardwood floors gave it a homey look. The beds were very comfortable. The 52 inch tv was a pleasant surprise as well. They topped it off with shuttle service to my corporate training area nearby! A high quality place without the excessive price of a larger chain.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, Director of Sales at Hotel Strata, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Craig D
Thank you for going out of your way to write a review on Tripadvisor and it was a pleasure serving you during your visit to Mountain View. I hope to further exceed your expectations the next time your in town with the changes to come to Hotel Strata

Sincerely,

Kirit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice hotel but the service is really outstanding! The rooms (I always take the suite) are somehow outdated but still very spacious and good. The breakfast is not so awesome but still ok. Pool area is ok, but water is too cold. :) Anyway, I would recommend this hotel if you are gonna stay in Mountain View.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here with family and friends for a week in August. It was an extremely pleasant experience for us, hands down for any HI Express hotel in US so far !

Right from checking-in where Ms. Pooja was amazingly helpful, to the attention and service provided by manager on duty Kirit Patel, to the most welcoming Genaral Manager Dilip Patel - this was the friendliest staff we had seen. Where esle you would find the GM of the hotel, meeting and greeting guests at early breakfast in the morning?

The rooms were spacious and clean and house keeping staff was very efficient and cooperative

The location of the hotel is a dream come true - mintues away from highways 101 and 280. The EL Camino drive itself had major conveniences nearby. Downtown Mountain view, Sunnyvale are a few minutes drive. SFO downtown, G Gate bridge are 30 - 40 minutes away. Drives to Freemont, San Jose, Saratoga are possible within 15 - 20 minutes. This is an ideal location for Bay area visitors. We managed visits to Santa Cruz (great scenic drive) + Stanford University + 1 Infinite Drive (Apple HQ) + Santana Row in one day from this location !

The breakfast was better than many HI Express hotels we have so far stayed at - full of choices for meat lovers and vegetarians alike. The hotel has a popular mexican restaurant on premesis and best tasting (halal) BBQ food @ Shalimar restaurant within 5 minutes drive. NobHill Grocery is walking distance and in the same strip plaza you find Sweet Tomatoes all you can eat buffet for $11! Shopping deals abound in the area and famous SFO area scenic drives are pleasantly easy to manage

As a matter of choice, we would stay here any time we are in the area :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMirza101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear SMirza101,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our hotel. You had mentioned that you never put reviews up and it means a lot to us that you went out of your way.
We look forward to serving you in the future as we become Hotel Strata.

Sincerely,

Kirit Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed there for the fourth time and it is always great to experience the same friendliness and promptness of the whole staff, who will go to great lengths to have your needs covered and make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caminhante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownCenter, Manager at Hotel Strata, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Caminhante,
It is always a pleasure seeing you and your family when you are in Mountain View. We appreciate that you have not only you submitted a review once, but a couple of times.
We look forward to seeing you next time you come to Mountain View.
Sincerely,
Kirit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.9 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
331 reviews
3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strata

Address: 93 W El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2642 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range: $228 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Strata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Upscale Boutique Hotel Strata offers modern designer hotel accommodations, deluxe services and extended-stay amenities. Free WiFi, hot breakfast, free weekday shuttle is also included for hotel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Strata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View (Town Center) Hotel Mountain View
Holiday Inn Mountain View
Mountain View Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing