We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Environment and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
1 review
“Relaxing Environment and Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

I just completed my second stay at the Hotel Avante and was equally pleased this time. The hotel is a boutique type of hotel with excellent bed linens and a comfortable bed. The room is clean and has all of the amenities needed for convenience. The staff are friendly, professional and available to meet your needs. The breakfast is complimentary and wonderful. The hotel in not interesting from the outside, but is unique and stylish on the inside. It reminds me of a European style hotel. Great value with complimentary Wi Fi. I without hesitation recommend Hotel Avante.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMDIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    148
    49
    19
    7
See reviews for
86
93
48
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vdarling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

WIth meetings in Redwood Shores near the SFO airport this was a bit too far for my preference (17 miles, plus traffic), but the wonderful staff, generous breakfast (free), plush linens, and extreme peace and quiet made it quite pleasant to be in my room when I was there. Hotel is older and refurbished with a slant toward the fun, geeky, and trendy - but not overly so.

Plus side:
-I arrived very, very late and had to rush to the restroom and the front desk clerk sweetly picked up my luggage that toppled over and the contents of my purse that scattered unexpectedly across the floor while I was down the hall. I was really touched and quite grateful.
-Mini bar had great offerings, including toys and a map of SF!
-Linens were plush, lush, and oh-so wonderful -- more so even than the ones I had at Pebble Beach!
-Bed was to die for! One of those ones that is so lush you'd do anything to have one at home
-Extremely quiet -- seemed like no one else was in the hotel except me (very thick walls)
-Breakfast was MUCH more than the usual continental - scrambled eggs, thick, tasty bacon, link sausage, cereals, oatmeal, muffins, pastries, waffles, French toast, warm syrup, etc., etc., etc.
-Situated in a nice area where a woman alone would feel comfortable coming and going even at night
-Service at every level was phenomenal (housekeeper left me a personal note and peanut M&M's to check in with me each day and make sure I had everything I needed; similar notes and small gifts from others, including one person that left me the daily weather forecast for the next two days!)

Down side:
-No valet parking
-Limited parking near front door (had to haul heavy luggage alone from back of building to front - after 10pm - not so fun)
-No room service
-No lobby restaurant
-Some aging decor in common areas (guest rooms do not reflect the same wear)
-Rooms and esp. bathroom are on the small side (I had a King Deluxe)
-Heat/AC was a wall unit - worked fine but it was seriously outdated

Would I recommend this hotel?

Absolutely - but only if your meetings are in San Jose and you only have 1 person per room

This is a truly great place to hole up and shut out the world, but only if you bring your own food or subsist on Pringles and high-end cashews. :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

Stayed at the Avante for 5 nights for business. Staff is super friendly and attentive, the rooms are clean and roomy enough for a single business traveler, and include some fun toys like slinkys and rubiks cube to keep you occupied during those boring conference calls back to the home office. Free Wi-Fi was great - didn't have the problems that another reviewer mentioned. And the free wine and cheese every day at coctail hour can't be beat!

You do need a car or cab to get anywhere, though. Not really any nightlife / restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

I love spending time at Hotel Avante. It doesn't even feel like a hotel; it feels like an upscale apartment building. I feel at home there, both in the public areas and in the rooms themselves. The staff is always super-friendly and ready to please, and correct any problems quickly. There's also free-wifi and wired broadband, which "just works." Free breakfast is a plus, with fresh coffee and hot entrees.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidp1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

I stayed for two weeks for a business trip. The broadband didn't work for most of the time (extremely slow). After two days of complains - in which they also stated that it was a problem of the whole area... can you believe it? - the broadband came back ... but just for a day. The people at the reception seemed to take my complain seriously, but my feeling was that they just pretended.

The room size was so so - I booked a deluxe king, so I was expecting something bigger.

The pool was not clean, and the jacuzzi was out of service for the whole Sunday as they decided to put disinfectant in the morning - so none can use it for the whole day. Why in the morning and why on Sunday? No clue.

The deluxe king was supposed to get extra service - like turn down - but it was only on odd days.

The only outstanding feature of the hotel is the gym - so far the best in the area. If I come back, it is just for the gym.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

Although the hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, within is one of the most comfortable and charming places I've stayed in a while. The rooms are quiet, have a unique style, a comfortable bed, a nice writing desk full of (free) useful office supplies (and even random toys), an HDTV, free wired & wireless Internet, and clean bathroom. There is free breakfast every morning with a decent selection of food including cereals, breads, scrambled eggs, bacon, hash browns, deli meats & cheeses, oatmeal, fruit and so on. And there is even a free beer & wine reception every day in the lobby from 6 - 8. Nothing better than coming back to the hotel after a long day and relaxing with a free glass of wine and snacks. The staff is knowledgeable and courteous (no annoying bell hops and valets begging you for tips at every step), parking is easy, and there are some good restaurants near by. What more could you want?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brikis98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

I stayed here for a week during a business training a few miles away. This hotel was a wonderful little escape from business, and the staff was friendly, welcoming and accommodating. My room was well appointed, the gym was small but functional, and the highlight was the wine/beer & cheese reception every night. It was a great way to top off a busy day at work. I would recommend this hotel to anyone working / visiting in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.9 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#5 of 18 in Mountain View
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 860 E. El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Family Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Avante is a handsome oasis, ideally located in the bustling heart of Silicon Valley. Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hotel Avante is inspired by Mid-Century stylings and contemporary urban lifestyles. Clever amenities throughout the guestrooms make them as efficient as they are comfortable. Special features throughout the hotel include our Hi-Fi Lounge, heated pool, hot tub, and courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avante Hotel Mountain View
Avante Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing