We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silicon Valley Personified”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Best included breakfast in a long time of traveling, and the crowd made me feel 30 years younger when I was one of these folks. The geeky toys in the room (and office supplies) are a nice touch, but the extra helpful friendly reception staff makes the Avante a special treat when visiting the Palo Alto area. Special thanks for the substantial room rate reduction when we happened to notice a special applicable on-line after we checked in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikecbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hello Mikecbu,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and the 5 star review. I will thank the staff for taking such great care of you as they are the true heart of the hotel. It's great to see when someone enjoys our unique and geeky concept. Thank you again and I hope you return to have another great experience in the future.

Best,

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 636 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Front desk staff were warm and friendly without being overbearing.

Breakfast area was well-stocked (even with oriental cuisine options) and well-maintained by another friendly staff group.

Rooms were tidy and modern with nice toiletries available. Not wildly fancy but quite a bit more character than a boring motel I'd expect to see for this price. And a friendly note and candy from the housekeeper, to boot!

Grocery store and ATM across the street are also convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrot_little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this very nice review. It looks like our friendly staff strikes again (with candy too)! I will make sure to share this review with them. I'm glad to see you really enjoyed your stay and thank you again.

Take care,

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel Avante was very comfortable and clean and had all the amenities i love in a hotel. But it was the staff that made it so extraordinary...very professional and caring. I loved the HAND-WRITTEN note from the motel maid when she left a chocolate on my bedside table. And they were always following up to make sure there wasn't something else they could do to make my stay more comfortable and they were sincere in that. Hot breakfast in the morning was great, and the wine and cheese reception in the evenings were a pleasant suprise. We were on a Living Social deal so i was "over the moon" with this hotel--best value i have ever experienced in a hotel!!!! Pool was still heated and the hot tub was wonderful! Loved all the puzzles and etch-a-sketch in the room! Nice products in the bathroom. I would like better lighting over the bed for reading and i like hand held shower heads, but that would be the only improvements i can think of. I was there for a stanford reunion and it was a bit of a drive, but not that bad.

Room Tip: Ice machine is on the first floor. Bathroom fan was noisy in 302. Not sure if they are all that no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rottenreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you, thank you, thank you. Your comments are wonderful and I couldn't be more pleased that you had such a fabulous experience. The team understands the need for personal attention for our guest, hence the handwritten note. Thank you for noticing it and everything else you mentioned. I will share this review with the entire hotel team as it looks like we exceeded your expectation everywhere.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very nice, quirky little hotel. Great place to stay if visiting Mountain View- palo Alto area. Beds are very comfortable. The service very friendly and helpful. Decor is quirky due to the bunch of old/classic toys in the rooms and lobby. Good parking, good small pool. 2 problems: 1) one room was smelly due to poor carpet cleaning. 2) No roll-away or extra beds for kids.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback it is very helpful to us. I wanted to share with you that we will be doing a refresh to the entire hotel at the end of this year, beginning of next. This means we will be removing all the carpet and adding new. I'm sorry about the roll-away bed situation. It is true that it is against the fire code law to allow a roll-away bed in our king bedded rooms. We can add them to the suites or we do have rooms with two beds, but they do tend to sell out early on the weekends. I'm glad you like our uniqueness and that the staff took great care of you.

All the best to you,

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

i stayed at the Avante on a recent business trip because most of the hotels closer to the office were booked. This place, while trying to be a boutique hotel, needs to put a little more effort into updating the rooms. The lobby area is very pleasant and the staff super friendly and helpful. However, the rooms are disappointing given how much I paid to stay at this hotel. Flourescent lighting, awful stucco walls and a tiny bathroom did not help make the experience any better. Nor did a small, misplaced wooden wardrobe, slightly musty odor and windows that did not open. I had to run the A/C just to get some air in the room even though it was 50 degrees outside. In addition, my room overlooked the pool area and there was a large and rowdy group outside. The noise from the A/C helped to drown out the sound somewhat so I was able to sleep.

If you have to stay here, the highlights are the fresh coffee in the am and the helpful staff. Rooms left a lot to be desired. Many better places in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room not overlooking pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopaholicnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am happy to see you enjoyed the service. I am also happy to report we are in the process of updating our rooms. We will have a model room finished by the end of November and once it is approved we will move forward. Our goal is to have all new carpet, paint, lighting, chairs and other items being installed starting in December. So going forward, still same great service and now upgraded hotel!

Thank you and I hope your come and see the refreshed hotel once completed.

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It is a small hotel but I had a very satisfying experience:
1. There are Rubic cubes in your room! And better Rubic cubes if you spent a bit extra to get the executive edition.

2. Lots of interesting puzzles in your drawer. Even an YoYo ball

3. Free parking.

4. Located on El Camino Real. Walking distance to food places and Lucky.

5. Hotel staff are happy - and they do their best to make you happy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you so much for the tremendous review. We are so glad we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed our concept. We love being geeky in the SV with our puzzles!

Thank you again and see you soon.

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

this is a wonderful property breakfast room a little small but it works..these rooms are nice and clean and they all are very friendly there and willing to help..gravy for the potatoes would have been nice but not a big deal..House keeping is sweet I had a note and some candy bars everyday..I will stay again this place is super nice and clean..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I'm really glad you liked the little notes and candy the team does for our guests. They try really hard to make everyone feel welcomed. Thanks for the idea regarding the gravy. I will look into it and see if it something we can do.

Hope to see you again soon,

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
604 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,061 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
329 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 860 E El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#4 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range: $118 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Avante is a handsome oasis, ideally located in the bustling heart of Silicon Valley. Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hotel Avante is inspired by Mid-Century stylings and contemporary urban lifestyles. Clever amenities throughout the guestrooms make them as efficient as they are comfortable. Special features throughout the hotel include our Hi-Fi Lounge, heated pool, hot tub, and courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avante Hotel Mountain View
Avante Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing