We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

this is a wonderful property breakfast room a little small but it works..these rooms are nice and clean and they all are very friendly there and willing to help..gravy for the potatoes would have been nice but not a big deal..House keeping is sweet I had a note and some candy bars everyday..I will stay again this place is super nice and clean..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I'm really glad you liked the little notes and candy the team does for our guests. They try really hard to make everyone feel welcomed. Thanks for the idea regarding the gravy. I will look into it and see if it something we can do.

Hope to see you again soon,

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 633 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just spent five nights with another couple. Had a room overlooking pool on back side. Tremendous. Cannot remember staying in a hotel where you heard literally nothing. Staff terrific. Rooms are not large but everything works and feels really good. Bed, AC, lights, water, wi-fi. Breakfast and pool really nice. Real funky decor and atmosphere. I cannot remember ever staying in a hotel and not managing to find one thing I did not like, so this was a first. Thank-you and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello Greg,

Wow that is a terrific review! Thank you for thanking us! It so nice to hear that we really exceeded your expectations. If you stay again, have breakfast by the pool, it is really relaxing and quiet.

Thank you again for sharing your experience,

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The front desk staff was friendly, had great personalities, and were willing to provide that extra touch. I was in town for business and I was able to get a ride to my meetings nearby, as well as getting suggestions for dinner (Sushi across El Camino) and treats to bring home (See's Candy).

The fitness room was small, and dimly lit, but "got the job done". My room was clean, but there was a small corner from a candy wrapper from the previous guest beside the bedside table. No biggie. I didn't get a chance to swim or hot tub, but the pool area was nice and quiet for finding a patch of sunshine to read in.

The wine tasting and complimentary chair massage (on Tuesdays) was a nice and unexpected treat at the end of the work day. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and positive review. I'm happy you enjoyed and had time to take advantage of the massage and wine hour. I will follow up with my team regarding the candy wrapper as that is not our normal cleaning standards. I'm sorry that it was missed by the housekeeping team. Another great place to get treats in the area is CJ Olsons, it has fresh and dried local cherries and fruits.

We look forward to your next visit and will make sure the room is perfect as that is what you deserve!

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice service, clean and large rooms. Air conditioning works great!!! I don't have a US habit to live in cold, so the first thing I did coming home: turn off the conditioner. That was a surprise that they do not have single rooms, but it was a hotel reserved for the participants of a conference, so you don't have the great choice. Anyway, big room is not a problem. After the students residence in France where I live, this hotel room seemed to be for 6-7 people

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for the really nice comments and 5 stars. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I always turn off the AC too! I like the fresh air from the windows.

Take care,

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Avante for two nights.

The hotel room was quite dim and slightly damp. Otherwise, it was just fine. Everything seemed clean. There's a quite charming 70s / 80s feel. My room came with a rubik's cube, etch-a-sketch, and a few other cute period toys.

Highlight of the location is probably one of the best complementary breakfasts ever complete with congee and kim chi! Great selection of tea, as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Hello Amy L.

I'm sorry the room was damp when you arrived, that is not a good thing. I will follow up with the team to see if the carpet was cleaned that day as sometimes it will make the room humid. I will also see if we need to add more lighting to the room as that is a good point.

I'm glad you found the hotel to be clean and I agree we do have a very nice breakfast.

Thank you for staying with us and we will keep on improving.

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family stayed here for 3 nights in July and we were very satisfied with our stay. It offered everything we look for in a hotel for a short stay -- centrally located, clean, safe, comfortable with impeccable customer service at the front desk. The pool was great, the free wifi very fast and the complimentary breakfast was good with a wide selection. If you do not have a car, there are restaurants and shops nearby, including an In N Out Burger :) Parking is free and freeway access is nearby and very convenient.

As others have noted, the breakfast room was small and cramped but we found a table for each of our 3 breakfasts.

I would definitely stay here again when I'm in the Silicon Valley. Oh yes, the "toys" in the room were great especially since one of us is a competitive cuber.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel facing the pool. It was quiet. If your room faces the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleTravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

We have a lot of cuber competitions in our hotel and it's always fun to watch! Thank you for the wonderful comments and really happy you and enjoyed your stay. There is also a Habit Burger place just down the road that gives In and Out a run for its money. Thank you again and we hope you return soon.

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family enjoyed our stay at Hotel Avante. This was our first time at a boutique hotel. This mid-century themed, 4 level hotel was fantastic. We had a blast in the pool and hot tub, was surprised by the "desk toys", and meet up with friends in the Hi-Fi Lounge on the third floor. All staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating. Breakfast had plenty of options. Walking in the room, I was prepared to call for an extra pillow, but there was no need. There were 7 pillows on the bed! Full and fluffy! No plastic ice bucket here-which came with a wine bottle opener. I love a hotel with a fridge, especially when traveling as a family.

Prepare for an experience at Hotel Avante.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenhibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for the excellent comments and we are so happy you enjoyed your visit. I think our pool is the best kept secret in the valley. During the week it is hardly used by our business guest so it makes it great for families. Thank you again and we will see you next time!

Best,

Robin Donovan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
329 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,046 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 860 E El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#4 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range: $119 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Avante is a handsome oasis, ideally located in the bustling heart of Silicon Valley. Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hotel Avante is inspired by Mid-Century stylings and contemporary urban lifestyles. Clever amenities throughout the guestrooms make them as efficient as they are comfortable. Special features throughout the hotel include our Hi-Fi Lounge, heated pool, hot tub, and courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avante Hotel Mountain View
Avante Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing