We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing and Courteous Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing and Courteous Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was very happy with my stay at the Hotel Avante. Everyone that worked at the hotel were amazingly helpful and courteous! Rooms were nice size and while I did not have a chance to try out the pool it looked nice as well. I would definitely stay here again! Wonderful location in Mountain View and the hotel has a shuttle service to help you get back and forth from meetings!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    137
    46
    17
    7
See reviews for
74
87
42
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place was very clean friendly staff and a great price and location! Has many great amenities including a heated pool year round and great Art Deco decor all over. Has shuttle service and fast taxi service

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hauseofpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your great comments regarding our pool, friendly staff and overall condition of the hotel. Next time try our complimentary hot breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

For the amount we paid for this hotel, it was totally not worth it. The rooms were okay - nothing great. The breakfast buffet was meh... I actually hated the notes left by housekeeping saying how glad they were that we were staying at the hotel. That was weird.
However, I must say that the staff is very attentive, the happy hour was nice, and the free massage was well appreciated.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor near the entrances! Awfully noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandstylenumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback about the staff. Sorry the breakfast wasn't to your liking. We try to please as many people as possible, that's why we have a large Asian selection, Western selection as well as fresh fruits, danish and breads. I'm sorry the note left by the housekeeper was wierd to you, they try to make everyone feel at home and part of the family, but I can see that might not be for everyone. Hope to see you again, and we will not leave any notes, just provide great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This Bouitque Hotel is a gem. The staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The bedding, especially the pillows, were the best ! Wish I had them at home. The bathroom toiletries were wonderful, upscale , spa quality products. Overall a great place at a very reasonable price. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, General Manager at Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments as our staff tries hard to go above and beyond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was very impressed with the quality of this hotel for the price! The front desk was very helpful, especially regarding getting a cab to/from the Shorline venue (I was staying there for a concert). They also upgraded us to a Deluxe room. The room was extremely clean, the bed/pillows were SUPER comfortable, and every immenitity was provided for us from toothpaste to robes to sewing kit. The location was perfect and I saw they had a pool/hot tub (we didn't get the opportunity to use it but it looked very nice!) This is definately a place to come for the most bag for your buck!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Loved this hotel for the money. We had a special Art and Wine Festival rate. When seeing the parking lot it looked like apartment complex. But When entering the lobby it smelled like a Spa with a Fresh Hip Vibe. (Boutique Hotel) Fresh water with Pineapple floating in it. Also fresh coffee table with Cream. Better then expected complimentary breakfast (Hot), scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, ant hashbrown, oatmeal, Yogurt, Fresh sliced fruit, cold cuts, cheeses, ect. It was a mini spread but always replenished. Close to many restraunts within a few blocks. Had a room with two double beds. Nice bathroom. Comfy bed and the room was updated (except popcorn ceiling. Other then that Loved it. The Maid even left little treats ,mini candy bars next to our beds with a handwritten note that said thank you for letting me take care of your room. Wow, never had that before, and I stay in a hotel every weekend. The Hotel Avante impressed me very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CINDERELLASTRUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I must say I love this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. The rooms have a nice little mini bar with some candy and soda and most of the furniture is on wheels (not the bed though) so you can re-arrange everything as you wish.

The housekeeping staff is awesome. They noticed that I took some M&Ms from the mini bar and they left a little note stating they hope i enjoy my stay with some "fun size" pack of candy. And the other day, I guess they noticed the empty coke can and the large McDonalds cup and they left a couple of coke's in ice.

One night my roomkey wasn't working, so I went down stairs and got a new one pretty quickly (they actually asked for my ID to swap out my key which was nice) and I asked if they had any Mountain Dew, while unfortunately they did not, they did go the extra mile and somehow got me some Dew and delivered it to my room.

I can pretty much say I love this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.9 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#5 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 34 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 860 E El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mountain View
#3 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Family Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Avante is a handsome oasis, ideally located in the bustling heart of Silicon Valley. Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hotel Avante is inspired by Mid-Century stylings and contemporary urban lifestyles. Clever amenities throughout the guestrooms make them as efficient as they are comfortable. Special features throughout the hotel include our Hi-Fi Lounge, heated pool, hot tub, and courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avante Hotel Mountain View
Avante Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing