We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed in a comfortable room with a good bed, desk and sitting chair. They take care of the details and I greatly appreciate the friendly staff. Given the good price, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vermonthound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    154
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
102
99
49
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is located at El Camino Real and not far away from Castro Street. I stayed in a single room. The king size bed was really comfortable, the room equipment is also top notch. There is no hotel safe in the room, if you have something valuable you can store it in the safe at the reception desk.

The breakfast is the typical hotel breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausages, yoghurt, croissants, milk & cereal), but really tasty.

There's a computer room where you can access the Internet and e.g. print your airline boarding pass (the computer itself could be more modern, though). Rooms offer Wi-Fi connectivity. The hotel also has a comfy lounge upstairs.

There is also an outdoor swimming pool, but I didn't use it.

Avante staff is really nice and helpful, I didn't have any problems with them. Housekeeping leaves some nice notes to the guests, making you feel more welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Avante while visiting family in Mountain View. You feel very at home and relaxed as soon as you enter the lobby. The lemon (or cucumber) water in the lobby was a nice touch. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the registration desk to the room cleaning staff to the staff who worked the breakfast room. The rooms were clean and nice. Nice extras like robes to use while at the hotel, and the ability to move your furniture around to your liking. In addition to the soap, lotion, shampoo & conditioner in the bathroom, they also provide q-tips, cotton balls, shoe shine cloth, makeup remover, and shower cap. The shower head was also very nice. We did have one problem with one of the staff behind the desk, but after confronting that person and expressing our disappointment, they apologized and it was settled. Upon checking in on our last night, we found a note from that person welcoming us back and wishing us a good trip home along with a photo album to hold our pictures. The note even commented on the cities we had visited in the previous 3 days, which showed they had really listened to us when we told them our plans. The breakfast they provide is very nice - - lots of fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausage/bacon, french toast/pancakes, bagels, banana nut bread, cereal, etc. The Citrus Peach juice was so good! And their coffee is excellent. The outdoor pool was also very nice. The next time we visit our family in Mountain View, we will definitely stay at the Avante. The price is a little expensive during the week, but the weekends are pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms on both the main road side and the side facing some condo units, and we slept wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Basically my kids and I tagged along on my husband's business trip and we stayed for a week. Our stay was very comfortable -- the kids swam in the pool most days and we also managed to do a little schoolwork in the 3rd floor lounge. The breakfast room is large enough and the breakfast itself was fine. The hotel is located across the street from Lucky supermarket which was convenient. There is also a park located nearby. All the hotel staff were polite, courteous and friendly. My kids love staying here when in Mountain View.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel Avante is conveniently located right on El Camino just a few blocks south of Castro Street, downtown Mountain View. It's a wonderful change from big chain hotels--small enough to feel homey, not overpriced, clean. You enter via a cozy lobby. The receptionist was efficient and friendly. The hotel’s theme is retro, with b&w photos on the walls and accessories reminiscent of the 1950s. The rooms are clean and pleasant. There’s also a lovely outdoor pool area with a good-size pool and hot tub (my 12-year-old loved it), a fitness room, and an unusual “hi fi” (not wi fi) room. One of the best things about the place is the extensive, delicious breakfast served in a breakfast room reminiscent of British B&Bs. The only problem I had was with the “business center,” which contained only one extremely slow PC—unexpected in the heart of Silicon Valley.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The attention to detail in this hotel is great- whether its decor, lemonade in the lobby or candies with thank you notes from the cleaning staff! Our room was spacious (was one of the bigger ones compared to others in our party) with all comforts- bathrobes, refrigerator, items to purchase (including a razor!) and games (inside glass drawers in the desk). We were able to keep the room at a comfortable temperature and slept great! The breakfast had lots of options.The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side (facing the front of the hotel) seem to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salterella26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Avante fancies itself a "boutqiue" hotel. And while its lobby decor and details are boutiquey (think artwork on the walls inspired by (Russian Constrcutivism), really the rooms aren't anything to scream about -- the standard double room is just that, smallish and pretty standard -- though it does come with some cute touches like little free puzzles and games to play with, and an iPod dock.

That said, the place is nice and clean, conveniently located on El Camino between Sunnyvale and Mountain View, and is quiet enough and not too expensive. Nice heat and water pressure in shower, plenty of towels. The free breakfast is substantial, with everything from English Muffins, cereal or eggs to rice and kimchee. Free wifi with strong signal, as you'd expect in silicon valley. Friendly staff. We've stayed here 3 times and it's absolutely worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triceratops111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.9 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
318 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
479 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 860 E El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
#6 Family Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Avante is a handsome oasis, ideally located in the bustling heart of Silicon Valley. Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hotel Avante is inspired by Mid-Century stylings and contemporary urban lifestyles. Clever amenities throughout the guestrooms make them as efficient as they are comfortable. Special features throughout the hotel include our Hi-Fi Lounge, heated pool, hot tub, and courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avante Hotel Mountain View
Avante Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing