We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A sweet deal and a sweet place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Motel

Budget Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mountain View
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Budget Motel
Save
You added Budget Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Mountain View
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A sweet deal and a sweet place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not only is it perfectly located on El Camino near a Peet's Coffee, the Budget Motel is a an immaculate, inexpensive, perfectly adequate place to stay while in the Bay Area. Bob is friendly, kind and accommodating, a sweet guy that truly cares for his sweet motel and his guests. It's a step back in time, 1940's style motel, Spanish style bungalows with the most beautiful roses and hydrangeas lining the outside of each little bungalow - cared for with love. I'm going to call this place a hidden gem, the best kept secret on El Camino, a diamond in the rough. You'll see!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
1
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A spontaneous trip to Mountain View CA left me looking for an inexpensive place to avoid a long drive home. I tried a chain motel but found it 'pricey' for the 8 - 10 hours of a visit. I stopped next door and saved nearly a third the cash and was pleasantly surprised by the beautifully kept courtyard and the immaculately kept room. More like a court of small cottages it was very clean, even while being older structures, with a beautiful collection of roses and other colorful flowers and plants in front of each room. Ice machine, drinks, nearby, centrally located, a pleasant and helpful staff, a comfortable room with microwave, fridge, and very clean. All in all a very highly recommendable place for travelers who watch their spending. With as much attention as they pay to the appearance, they pay more to the needs of their clients.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oleoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I travel to Mountain View 2-3 days a week and "always" stay at Budget Motel. Bob and Bella are the kindest! I can always count on them to have a super clean and quite room! This is the best place and if you come and stay you'll get hooked as I did! They truly go the extra mile in making sure I enjoy my stay - glad I found Budget Motel! I give them a 10!

Thank you Bob and Bella!
AJ

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I have tried almost all of the hotels on El Camino since I spend three nights a week here in hotels. This is the place I stay exclusively now. Best rates in town, very friendly staff, clean rooms, ample space, fast and free Internet, ample parking, and other guests are also professionals so don't have any loitering, noise, or safety issues.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron10MountainView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed for one night and was pleasantly surprised. small clean room, well appointed. Very good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SM771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I got tired of slow Motel 6 internet (and paying everyday for it). Here, I get really fast internet, free. The units are separated by carports, and there is nobody above me, so it's really private and quiet. Cable TV is good. And I get covered parking. And the weekly price is better than Motel 6. I've been here for a couple of weeks, going on 3 weeks, while I look for a job. I would recommend it to others.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Amre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I've been staying at the Budget Motel for a couple of weeks while looking for apartments in the Bay area and working in Silicon Valley. I highly recommend this motel to anyone visiting Silicon Valley, or passing through on their way to the bay area. It is reasonably-priced, and within very short walking distance to the shops/restaurants on Castro Street in Mountain View. The owners are very nice, and do a great job maintaining their establishment. The rooms are clean and well-stocked; besides TV with HBO, you are also provided with an iron/ironing board, a refrigerator and microwave, among other things. Come try it out!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mountain View hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View
Americas Best Value Inn Mountain...
#16 of 19 in Mountain View
3.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 19 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#4 of 19 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View - S Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Motel

Property: Budget Motel
Address: 1028 W El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2597
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Mountain View
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing