We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budget Motel

Budget Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budget Motel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

The WORST hotel I've ever stayed in. The second day of the trip, they came and asked us for an extra 50 dollars out of the blue, and then threatened to call the cops to have us kicked out if we didn't pay it. SO weird. Don't stay here unless you want very strange and random hassle. The room is fair, but nothing special and the staff and management are obviously sketchy. I wouldn't want housekeeping in my room, that's for sure!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elenathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
1
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

I'm a commuter staying at the Budget Motel Monday - Thursday night every week for the past year. Clean, quiet, management friendly. Best value for the buck in the San Jose area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundancexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

Following the previously glorious reviews we decided to stay at the Budget motel in Mountain View. This motel has been vastly overrated and given the choice I would not stay there again. There are much better options available such as Comfort Inn or Super 8.
The rooms are small, however the place is clean. The towels are so thin you can see through them. The as advertised high speed internet never works properly and the service is awful.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank archimedesuk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalinga, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

What a wonderful surprise to find this gem tucked away within easy walking distance of downtown Mountain View's many coffee shops, bookstores and restaurants. The Budget Motel was not only affordable, but clean, quaint, quiet and comfortable. I highly recommend Budget Motel! I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean, Quiet and Affordable
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Ca
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

Very convenient area, clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank RTWDodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnyvale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

I All Ways Stay At The Dudget Motel in Mt View CA and the managment there are exelent and very helpfull and are moore than happy to geve you derictions on wher to go for about any reserant in the earea and they runn a realy cleen place and they go out of ther way to make you fill rite at home when your on vacation. for the price you just cant find a better motel to stay

  • Liked — The Fast and Frendly service buy managment and staff
  • Disliked — The tv only has HBO
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank room102Sunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

The room is very nice for the price. It comes with a king bed, fridge, micro, tv, small table and chairs. A really great room. The staff is very friendly, respectful and courteous. i would recommend this motel highly. You will not beat this motel for value, price and proximity to downtown mountain view performance center.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank cool616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mountain View hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View
Americas Best Value Inn Mountain...
#18 of 18 in Mountain View
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View - S Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Motel

Property: Budget Motel
Address: 1028 W El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2597
Location: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing