We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Management, Decent room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Tree House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2009

I will never stay here again! The management staff lacks a sense of customer service, coupled with a rude attitude and arrogance makes for a nightmare of a visit!! We stayed here the night before my best friends wedding in which we were in the wedding party. Got up at 6 am to get ready for photos at 11am. No power, no hot water, my wife freaking out cuz she cant do her hair. Waited till 9am, still nothing... finally decided we had to go find a backup plan.

I later contacted management about a credit/discount for inconvenience, only to be told that it was "an act of god, and i guess we all better get behind the power company to collect a credit."

thank god for BW online customer service... took two weeks but THEY finally made it right, no thanks to TREEHOUSE.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karmickreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2008

Very, very clean comfortable motel with great prices!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimsry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

I previously reviewed this hotel in July 2007. Our most recent stay here was in Oct 2008. Our king bed room was similiar to our previous room: one wall was paneled with cedar, we had a microwave & refrigerator. The "bathroom" had a sink & there was also a separate vanity area w/ a sink. There were a total of 5 pillows on the bed with, I think, 3 different degrees of firmness. There was a power strip on the wall above a nightstand which would be handy for plugging in electronics or chargers.

We hadn't made reservations in advance & ended up with a "view room" on the ground floor. There was only a limited view of Mt. Shasta because of the trees in the hotel's parking lot. Our room last year was upstairs & the view was much better. If we stay here again, we probably wouldn't pay extra for a "view room" unless it's on the 2nd floor.

The breakfast buffet was ok. It included scrambled eggs (good), home fried potatos ( kind of mushy), sausage, granola (good), precooked french toast, biscuits & gravy. I would have liked a toaster & some good quality bread to toast.

On a previous stay, we received a coupon for free drinks & a discount for dinner in the restaurant. We didn't receive that this time. Our stay was on a Monday night & many of the restaurants in the area were closed so we ended up eating at the hotel restaurant. The food isn't fancy but it was good. The cedar plank salmon was much better than I expected. The list of wines by the glass recommended a local winery - Shasta View Vineyards. I had the red blend called Armonia Rossa which I thought was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We've stayed here on the way to Reno almost every trip, but after this latest experience, never again. The prices are very high for the quality of the rooms, which are not terribly clean. The shower alternated between cool and scalding, and when we complained at the desk no one seemed overly concerned, except for one young woman -- the manager obviously was not. This can be very dangerous. Their so-called "full breakfast" is a terrible buffet -- eggs, french toast and sausage, obviously had been sitting for some time -- no bacon or toast, just untoasted English muffins. We paid for a good breakfast elsewhere. I believe that's what they count on, the dining room is quite empty in the morning. Very cheap for them. We'll be scouting out other nearby towns and hotels for our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We were pleased with our stay here. It was our half point for a long trip from Portland to Yosemite. When we pulled in at 1am, we were greeted by a friendly front desk staff member and handed a free breakfast coupon for everyone. Our room was clean and quiet. Our "free breakfast" was a great full breakfast buffet with friendly servers. We will definitely stay here again. Everyone was really friendly and helpful and the location is ideal!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarasPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We decided to stay here rather than drive into Redding (from Eugene that day) and it was a great decision. Beautiful, large room with nice amenities. HUGE hot tub. The indoor pool/hot tub area have nice rock work and wood work - I can see relaxing there after skiing in the winter. But it was very nice in the summer, too.

I didn't have a cable for the internet connection but the desk lent me one.

The room was very quiet, though right off the freeway. Hot breakfast in the restaurant was included. Nice pet area. Step outside and Mt. Shasta is right there - beautiful. Some of the rooms have picture windows facing the mountain.

We really appreciated the small patio and chairs outside our glass doors, and the patio table a little ways down where we could recline with a beer and look at the mountain before dinner. After a week in Oregon, this turned out to be our nicest place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank veggiejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

This hotel is located just a few blocks off of the main street in Mt. Shasta. It is within walking distance of most businesses and restaurants in town. It is clean and the staff is friendly. The buffet breakfast was a nice change of pace from most hotel's continental breakfasts. Compared to other properties in the area it is worth the extra money to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBuddy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
0.6 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 9 in Mount Shasta
33 reviews
1.7 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
1.6 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Tree House

Address: 111 Morgan Way, I-5 and Lake Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Price Range: $135 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Tree House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House is nestled at the gateway to Mt. Shasta, welcoming guests to this spectacular mountain resort area, which is surrounded by natural beauty, plenty of recreational activities and a stunning view of Mt. Shasta. The 14,161 foot face of Mt. Shasta does impress, as will the Shasta Trinity National Forest it is set in. We are located in northern California, one hour north of Redding and one hour south of the Oregon border. It is within an easy drive of San Francisco, Sacramento and Portland for a weekend getaway or vacation in any season. Come visit beautiful Mt. Shasta and book your room with us today.We have two restaurants to serve you, The Tree House Restaurant and Cooper's Bar & Grill, both open 7 days a week, offering Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tree House Hotel Mount Shasta
Best Western Tree Hotel
Best Western Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing