We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great dog-friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Tree House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great dog-friendly place to stay”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We recently took a trip to Tahoe from Eugene OR. My partner has health issues and so we must limit our travel to 300 or so miles per day. I had stayed at the Tree House before, years previously, and I remembered it as a nice roomy place.

Turns out the establishment was extremely dog-friendly. Over the phone, my partner Diane, who booked the reservation, made sure there was a room on the first floor near grass, and when we went to check in, the same person Diane spoke with checked us in. Because our dog is a service animal (emotional support), they were very nice and eliminated the extra charge for that, which we felt they were under no obligation to do.

The room itself was great. Comfortable bed, clean, fairly quiet. We had a nice view of Mt. Shasta from our room, but the downside of that was that our room faced the nearby railroad tracks. The train noise woke Diane a couple of times, so next time we will ask for a room further from the tracks.

The complimentary breakfast was terrific. We had dinner at the nearby Black Bear. Shasta itself is a nice little community and we had a nice walk around.

We stayed here both on the way to Tahoe and on the return trip as well. We look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Unless you sleep with earplugs or are otherwise a very sound sleeper, I would ask for a room as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddytd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    331
    91
    29
    14
See reviews for
394
357
54
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The inn and its grounds are well kept. The prices are reasonable. The rooms and beds are comfortable. The breakfast is excellent. There is a newly remodeled indoor pool and spa. The lobby and adjoining bar are fine for sitting, working on computers, visiting, playing board games. The inn has its own restaurant for dinner and has begun serving lunch on certain days. The staff is friendly and well versed on the area. If you can stay a day of two there is hiking, boating, swimming, and skiing in the area.

Room Tip: If you wish a view of Mt. Shasta ask. The room may cost a bit more. Every room I've stayed in ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The hotel has a delightful woodsy, lodge-like feel especially in the lobby and common areas where we enjoyed relaxing by the fireplace while playing cards and having a beverage from the bar (which looked friendly and cozy too). We also loved the heated pool and jacuzzi and the view of a man-made stone waterfall/stream out our window. We were on the second floor so we didn't have access to a patio to sit out back but many people were doing that on the ground floor, enjoying the sunshine and the stream. Our room was large (even as the lowest rate room), the bed was quite comfortable and we appreciated the frig and extra coffee/tea supplies. The breakfasts were delicious, with so many offerings that it filled us up for our excursions for the rest of the day. The dining room was attractive too with nice views and the fireplace but we never had dinner there although the menu items posted sounded quite good and reasonably priced. From there we walked to shops and restaurants (10 minutes to center of town) and it's convenient to the highway. We really loved our time there and all of the sights and natural beauty of the region.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the side away from the highway just in case there might be noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelier14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We live in Mount Shasta and had to move out of our house for three days due to termite treatment and a "remodel" of our home. We were pretty stressed and exhausted when we arrived at the Best Western. Our initial room was small, dark and next to the stairwell. We could see it was going to be noisy and not at all relaxing. The staff at the front desk was wonderful and moved us to a mountain view room on the 3rd floor. The room was spacious and quiet and we were able to unwind and sleep. Throughout our stay, the customer service was excellent. We also enjoyed the breakfast and had dinner in the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brodeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and i stay have stayed at the Best Western Plus TreeHouse each of the last 6 years while traveling from Oregon to California, and always find the staff very friendly; rooms very spacious, clean, and well equiped. The overall architecture and motif of the building and rooms fit very well the mountainous setting. The breakfast is a full buffet breakfast of hot and cold items, and the best that we've found offered by any motels. This last time, we were able to get a room with a small balcony and couple of chairs, and a great view of Mt. Shasta. We normally stay in October and use an on-line coupon which makes the stay the best value of accommodations that we have found.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

THE GOOD:
Very friendly and helpful counter staff.
Clean room.
Comfortable bed.
Coffee pot, microwave and refrigerator–all of which we used.
Hair dryer, shampoo AND conditioner.
Ground floor mountain view units have outside door to the sidewalk and parking and inside door to hallway and access to exercise room, pool, hot tub, office, and restaurant.
Exercise room had a good variety of equipment all clean and in working order.
Free breakfast buffet had food trays filled with fresh cooked items in a timely manner.

THE BAD:
Mountain view room has loud train noise about every hour during the night.
Shower temperature wandered a bit but nothing as bad as our previous stay.
However, our son and his wife showered a couple hours later and reported “terrible” temperature variations during their showers. So they would put showers in the "UGLY" section of this review. I guess you need to shower before 6:00 AM.
The hot tub was only a couple degrees warmer (84) than the pool (82) so the “hot” tub was less than body temperature by nearly 15 degrees. Not good. The jets were working and it did make bubbles. On Saturday there was a sign there that said it would be fixed on Monday.

THE UGLY:
Our room had what looked like a new individual heat pump which did pump plenty of hot or cold air–but it was unable to follow the temperature settings that we made. Our son and his wife were in the next room and they had the same problem. When the train woke me up at 1:38 AM I discovered that the 68 degree setting I had made was actually an 80 degree temperature according to my accurate travel alarm that also has a digital thermometer. The minimum thermostat setting of 61 still made the room too hot if you let it continue to run. When I first woke I turned the thermostat down to its lowest setting and it did go off but soon came back on even though the room temperature was 80 degrees and climbing. Our son opened his door for a while in the middle of the night to get his room down to temperature he wanted (it was in the low forties outside). I changed the setting on our unit to air conditioning for a half hour or so to get the room down to sleeping temperature. Both my son and I turned our units off for the remainder of the night after being awake for quite some time. Not sure if that would work in the dead of winter when it is below zero outside. But he missed nearly an hour of sleep getting the room down to temperature and settling himself back down. I was not so lucky and did not get back to sleep for nearly two hours. The units are an Amana. Forgot to see if I could find a model number.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms will have train noise about every hour during the night. If that is troublesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMan1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The room was fine, albeit overpriced. Lots of wood accents in the motel add some warmth. But the restaurant, ugh! We had a hint when the place was nearly empty at dinnertime on Saturday night. We ate elsewhere. The full breakfast was included in the room price, but it was the worst breakfast I've had in years. It was a buffet of very poor quality institutional food, probably worse than what they serve in prisons. Even the coffee was really bad. This was a week before Labor Day 2011. I see that some people have rated the breakfast there as good, but that must have been on a different planet in a different universe. This was worse than bad, it ruined my appetite for going somewhere better. Be forewarned.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wag228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
0.6 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
28 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Tree House

Property: Best Western Plus Tree House
Address: 111 Morgan Way, I-5 and Lake Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Tree House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House is nestled at the gateway to Mt. Shasta, welcoming guests to this spectacular mountain resort area, which is surrounded by natural beauty, plenty of recreational activities and a stunning view of Mt. Shasta. The 14,161 foot face of Mt. Shasta does impress, as will the Shasta Trinity National Forest it is set in. We are located in northern California, one hour north of Redding and one hour south of the Oregon border. It is within an easy drive of San Francisco, Sacramento and Portland for a weekend getaway or vacation in any season. Come visit beautiful Mt. Shasta and book your room with us today.We have two restaurants to serve you, The Tree House Restaurant and Cooper's Bar & Grill, both open 7 days a week, offering Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tree House Hotel Mount Shasta
Best Western Tree Hotel
Best Western Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing