We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The GOOD the BAD and the UGLY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Tree House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The GOOD the BAD and the UGLY”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

THE GOOD:
Very friendly and helpful counter staff.
Clean room.
Comfortable bed.
Coffee pot, microwave and refrigerator–all of which we used.
Hair dryer, shampoo AND conditioner.
Ground floor mountain view units have outside door to the sidewalk and parking and inside door to hallway and access to exercise room, pool, hot tub, office, and restaurant.
Exercise room had a good variety of equipment all clean and in working order.
Free breakfast buffet had food trays filled with fresh cooked items in a timely manner.

THE BAD:
Mountain view room has loud train noise about every hour during the night.
Shower temperature wandered a bit but nothing as bad as our previous stay.
However, our son and his wife showered a couple hours later and reported “terrible” temperature variations during their showers. So they would put showers in the "UGLY" section of this review. I guess you need to shower before 6:00 AM.
The hot tub was only a couple degrees warmer (84) than the pool (82) so the “hot” tub was less than body temperature by nearly 15 degrees. Not good. The jets were working and it did make bubbles. On Saturday there was a sign there that said it would be fixed on Monday.

THE UGLY:
Our room had what looked like a new individual heat pump which did pump plenty of hot or cold air–but it was unable to follow the temperature settings that we made. Our son and his wife were in the next room and they had the same problem. When the train woke me up at 1:38 AM I discovered that the 68 degree setting I had made was actually an 80 degree temperature according to my accurate travel alarm that also has a digital thermometer. The minimum thermostat setting of 61 still made the room too hot if you let it continue to run. When I first woke I turned the thermostat down to its lowest setting and it did go off but soon came back on even though the room temperature was 80 degrees and climbing. Our son opened his door for a while in the middle of the night to get his room down to temperature he wanted (it was in the low forties outside). I changed the setting on our unit to air conditioning for a half hour or so to get the room down to sleeping temperature. Both my son and I turned our units off for the remainder of the night after being awake for quite some time. Not sure if that would work in the dead of winter when it is below zero outside. But he missed nearly an hour of sleep getting the room down to temperature and settling himself back down. I was not so lucky and did not get back to sleep for nearly two hours. The units are an Amana. Forgot to see if I could find a model number.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms will have train noise about every hour during the night. If that is troublesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMan1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    319
    86
    27
    13
See reviews for
370
344
54
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The room was fine, albeit overpriced. Lots of wood accents in the motel add some warmth. But the restaurant, ugh! We had a hint when the place was nearly empty at dinnertime on Saturday night. We ate elsewhere. The full breakfast was included in the room price, but it was the worst breakfast I've had in years. It was a buffet of very poor quality institutional food, probably worse than what they serve in prisons. Even the coffee was really bad. This was a week before Labor Day 2011. I see that some people have rated the breakfast there as good, but that must have been on a different planet in a different universe. This was worse than bad, it ruined my appetite for going somewhere better. Be forewarned.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wag228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in standard room with 2 queen beds.

Pros
Great service and super friendly front staff as well as restaurant staff

High ceilings, making the room feel bigger

One of the best breakfasts available at a hotel

Great price, clean room and good curtains

Free wifi with good connection

Close to town

Con:
There is not much room to move around when you have 4 people in it

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Best Western Plus Tree House is a definite winner! Scenic location, clean & comfortable rooms, as well as excellent amenities. You can have an indoor workout in their pool or fitness room, catch a well-made mixed drink in their bar (plus dinner, if you wish) or just enjoy the quiet/comfortable lounge area to write postcards or read. They also provide a delicious buffet breakfast @ 6:30am and good coffee even earlier. The staff are courteous, helpful and friendly...special accolades to Randi (at check-in) and Ali...an outstanding bartender!!! A very enjoyable and restful stop in Mount Shasta City.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Mount Shasta, along the NE side offer spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

They held our room for us even though we came in very late. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was very good. The ambience of the Hotel is wonderful. We are looking forward to a longer stay over Labor Day weekend. The only complaint I have is that the water temperature fluctuates quite a bit, and one lamp wouldn't light. Overall, I think the Hotel management is going a fine job. I will definitely recomend it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RushL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Tree House for 3 days and two nights.
The folks at the front desk were extremely friendly and the lobby was very inviting.
We requested a room with a good view of Mt Shasta and the hotel did not disappoint. We were booked into a room on the second floor with a wonderful view from the very large window.
We may have paid a bit extra for this room, but it was well worth it.

Full restaurant on site plus a free breakfast buffet in the morning. Food and service were both excellent.

This hotel has a large heated indoor pool plus a good sized hot tub. Both are great after a day of hiking to nearby waterfalls, visiting the fish hatchery, shopping, or roaming the slopes of beautiful Mt Shasta.

As I write this review today, we are planing another trip to the Tree House.

Happy traveling

Room Tip: Best views of course, get a room facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FishinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The desk people were extremely friendly and helpful. They were knowledgeable about local places of interest and restaurants. Free breakfast was more than ample, some very good choices.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1keninsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
0.6 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
25 reviews
1.7 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
10.0 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
1.6 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Tree House

Property: Best Western Plus Tree House
Address: 111 Morgan Way, I-5 and Lake Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Tree House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House is nestled at the gateway to Mt. Shasta, welcoming guests to this spectacular mountain resort area, which is surrounded by natural beauty, plenty of recreational activities and a stunning view of Mt. Shasta. The 14,161 foot face of Mt. Shasta does impress, as will the Shasta Trinity National Forest it is set in. We are located in northern California, one hour north of Redding and one hour south of the Oregon border. It is within an easy drive of San Francisco, Sacramento and Portland for a weekend getaway or vacation in any season. Come visit beautiful Mt. Shasta and book your room with us today.We have two restaurants to serve you, The Tree House Restaurant and Cooper's Bar & Grill, both open 7 days a week, offering Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tree House Hotel Mount Shasta
Best Western Tree Hotel
Best Western Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing