We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bartender in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billy Goats Tavern - CLOSED

Billy Goats Tavern
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
“Best bartender in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

"Handsome John" knows his beers like no other! Tell him what tastes you like and he'll choose the best microbrew from one of his numerous taps for you!!! Great place for food and drink in a rather eclectic little mountain town!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    37
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Rustic Ambience, Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had two fabulous salads, made with fresh spinach, peppers, candied walnuts and the like. A choice of two hard ciders was a pleasant surprise, but the wine wasn't anything special. Could have used some artisan bread to go with the salads, and that would have increased their rating with us. Eating outside on the deck was like being in a treehouse!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Burgers and locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pleasant outdoor deck when the weather permits but inside isn't big on ambiance. The burgers are wonderful! A place where the locals hang out for beer in the evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun little local place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great little spot for good weather lunch. Most of the seats are on the deck. Fun feel. The meal was good and there is a good choice of beer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gdncd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great spot for people-watching and eating outside, but as other reviewers have stated, the flies are everywhere! We were looking for a somewhat healthy meal and interesting beer selections and we found both there. I had the portabella sandwich and delicious garlic fries. I could only eat half, but I am looking forward to finishing the other half tomorrow. It was juicy and interesting. My husband had the Caesar salad with chicken, and he cleaned his plate. We also shared three ales (no wonder I couldn't finish my sandwich!) that were on tap, and they were all good, too.
If I am back in Mt. Shasta again, I would return. There were a lot of intriguing choices on the menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maryf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Goats Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing