We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, Quiet and Nurturing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream Inn Mount Shasta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Shasta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dream Inn Mount Shasta
Ranked #3 of 8 Mount Shasta B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace, Quiet and Nurturing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is the sixth time we have stayed at the Dream Inn in eight years, and it was the longest stay (2 weeks). Its a good experience every time. Its a great location, both for the mountain and for the town and surrounding area. David and Lonna maintain a very high level of quality in everything they offer. They are gracious hosts, and make guests feel very welcome. The accommodation is delightful and full of character, with the Victorian House and the Spanish House both offering a distinctive and enjoyable experience, and both very comfortable throughout. Lonna's breakfasts are excellent, imaginatively prepared and presented with careful attention to nutritional balance. The garden is a special feature lovingly tended by David and Lonna, a relaxing and peaceful place to unwind, enjoy the roses and take in the views of nearby Mt Shasta. The warm welcome includes lots of printed information on the mountain and other places of interest, and detailed knowledge of the surrounding area on the part of our hosts, which they are happy to share.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyandBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
22
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Enjoyed our three days at Dream Inn. Innkeepers were extremely welcoming and helpful. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Young0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We spent three weeks and all we can say is: perfectly located, wonderful breakfast and beautiful rooms (spanish house). What we loved most: Lonna and David, the innkeepers!
Both made our stay extreme delightful!
Everybody should know this paradise, all in all, it was a terrific experience and we would definitley recommend it.!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uwe_e_berger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

This bed and breakfast is a lovely place to stay while exploring the Mt. Shasta area. The facility is homey, comfortable and relatively inexpensive. We stayed in one of the suites and felt it was a great place to be with friends or family. The breakfast was elegant and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geog_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

A day or two would be okay. Staying longer you will see and experience their true colors with guests and each other. Would never stay there again. Have no desire to relive the details of my roller coaster experience. If you can talk politics you might fit in and feel more like a welcome valued paying guest. After sharing my being the brunt of a "verbal accusatory scolding" by the male owner, with some other residents of Shasta, they were horrified and encouraged me to lodge a complaint with the Chamber of Commerce. Presently have chosen not to. They said that was not the kind of reputation that this area was wanting to be known for. Should have been a vacation of peaceful harmony and relaxation within nature's beauty. Fortunately, most of it was and most people warm, polite and helpful.

The house is old, as are the bathroom leaky fixtures and towels. Appears to be minimal upkeep and replacement where needed. The top floor squeaks when walking across which can be heard on the main floor. Bothersome when trying to sleep. There was no safety problem with the no locks on the room doors and front door. Paid in cash but was not given a receipt. Did not ask for one. Location central to the small innercore and main street.

Am anticipating a negative scolding remark from David as that can be his way, if his self-righteous attitude takes priority. Lonna, once she warmed up is a decent person. I appreciated her attempts to offer a tasty breakfast with lovely place settings and sharing her videos of the area. Her backyard garden is quite lovely. I am sure that there are many satisfied customers, but unfortunately I cannot in honest feedback recommend. I wrongly assumed that bed and breakfasts had a more homey and friendly environment.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crystalbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

We greatly enjoyed our room. We had the downstairs unit in the Spanish-style home for one night, with no one above us. It was easy to relax and make it ours for the night since we didn't have to worry about making noise. The two rooms and bathroom were perfectly clean with many thoughtful, interesting decorations. The sofa bed in the living room could have been more comfortable, but it is fine for a young person. Our hosts were friendly. The breakfast was good but not exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

My kids and I had a wonderful stay at this place. The name of the place befits the purpose. The place and the hospitality is really like a dream. A dream of going back 100 years back in a Victorian house with a warm and hospitable hosts. The place is done up very pretty, small curios all over the place - shows the care and characteristic of the owners who run the show. We had children books in the room and my kids enjoyed reading it during their bedtime. Overall a wonderful experience being there.
Lonna and David are very good people and took good care of our needs. Conveniently located in the center of the town.

Anita

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babsy_roks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.8 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
6.0 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#5 of 6 in Dunsmuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn Mount Shasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn Mount Shasta

Property: Dream Inn Mount Shasta
Address: 326 Chestnut Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Shasta
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A completely restored, 98-year-old Victorian home, located in the heart of the city of Mt. Shasta ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dream Inn Mount Shasta Hotel Mount Shasta
Dream Hotel Mount Shasta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing