We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Shasta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Mount Shasta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
“Above and beyond...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

I am not the type to write reviews, but I feel compelled to write one after my visit. As mentioned in other glowing reviews, Shasta Mountinn is comfortable, charming, conveniently located, and has stellar views of the mountain. There's nothing like returning from a hearty hike and landing in a hot tub. David, the owner, is above and beyond--welcoming, a great masseur, attentive to details, and a fabulous cook. My dad and I stayed there for our hiking trip--and David helped make this a trip of a lifetime. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
167
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

On a whim we decided to stay at a B & B in Shasta. Never having stayed at a B & B before, we couldn't have asked for a better experience! The hosts were wonderful! The food was fabulous! The bed was THE most comfortable! The view was breathtaking! This was a perfect end to our first business trip! Thank you for welcoming us into your home!

~Mineral Sisters
Jill & Mindy

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MineralSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

I agree wholeheartedly with the wonderful reviews. The place is marvelous and David, the host, has that something that makes you feel immediately at home. We enjoyed our 3 rainy and snowy days immensely. The rain didn't stop us from taking some of the most beautiful walks along the rivers and creeks in nearby McCloud and Dunsmuir. Can't wait to go back! I bet the rooms, newly painted by the local artist Jerry Stuart, look stunning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pimpilipausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

Traveled with my wife. By far, the best B&B I have ever stayed in. David treated us as true guests. He made us feel totally welcome. Room was as shown on the web site. David went far beyond what I have come to expect from a B&B host. Looking forward to traveling to Mt. Shasta again and staying at David's place. There is no other place in Mt. Shasta that I would even consider staying in, regardless of price. Just a great place and highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBMLeominster_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

The owner of the Shasta MountInn is genuine and generous. He goes to great lengths to provide a memorable and special experience for travelers. The rooms are beautiful; the food is delicious; and the amenities are luxurious. ...And Mt. Shasta out the bedroom window is breathtaking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikkidm
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

What a wonderful, relaxing stay! The view from our room was incredible. Looking up at the stars from the hot tub topped an already great stay. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

where do i begin....our experience from the moment we stepped into the shasta mountinn was just perfect...warm, welcoming and the sweetest inn keeper/ owner i've ever encountered....the home was beautiful, clean, warm, extremely comfy clean bed and fluffy warn down comforter....the inn was stocked w/ wonderful treats for the quests, delicious coffee and breakfast in the morning....i really could go on and on......i just wanted to leave this review since our experience was such a good one and know that if others were looking for wonderful accommodations that this would fit the bill.......my husband and i have had the opportunity to stay in Mt. shasta at other bed and breakfasts, but none of our other experiences can hold a candle this our home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shopper470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Shasta hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shasta Starr Ranch B&B
Shasta Starr Ranch B&B
#2 of 8 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa

Property: Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa
Address: 203 Birch Street, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When seeking lodging in beautiful Mount Shasta, why stay in hotels when you can be pampered in a Victorian era bed and breakfast with incredible views of Mt. Shasta? Built in 1904 by master carpenter and Mayor of Mount Shasta Richie Edson this gorgeous home was restored to architectural beauty with lots of natural wood, crown moldings, three decks and fireplaces. The splendor of the wood and craftsmanship will astonish you and the views will captivate you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shasta Mountinn Retreat And Spa
Shasta Mountinn Retreat Hotel Mount Shasta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing