We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absoulutly B & B wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Shasta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Mount Shasta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lörrach, Deutschland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absoulutly B & B wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this Inn for one week and we never want go back to Germany, nice jacuzzi and the sauna did it well, also the view about the nice country, my wife did spa and wellness and I took the events around Mt.Shasta, like fishing hiking and walking

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskydiver55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
164
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We decided to stay at this bed & breakfast due to the amazing reviews found here on TripAdvisor! And it definitely lived up to the expectations!

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Shasta Secret Room, which is on the second floor of the property. We chose this room due to the fact that one other guest was downstairs so we figured we'd spread out a bit. Each room has a great view of Mount Shasta!

You literally feel like you are visiting a wonderful friend whom you've known for years. Dave, the owner was on vacation for a bit while Guy was running the Bed & Breakfast. Guy is super friendly and willing to get you anything in order to make your stay the best it can be. Even though Dave is supposed to be on vacation he still stopped by and introduced himself. What a wonderful person, so full of life! It was a delight meeting them both.


Best Things:
*The breakfast is delicious!! Each morning it's different, for instance one morning we had yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, eggs and potatoes with peppers & onions. And I'm not talking Holiday Inn eggs & potatoes... I'm talking tastes like someone's grandmother made it (really it's either Guy or Dave) it's fresh and delicious!

*THE BED.... holy cow, amazing! I like to call it the "marshmallow bed" it's so soft and comfortable, it was hard leaving that bed! Oh, and the sheets rocked too. Egyptian cotton is heavenly.

*All around the property is clean and well manicured. The grass is cut perfectly, the house is clean inside and out.

*There's a jacuzzi and sauna. It's like a little spa retreat in the backyard. A truly relaxing experience.

*The snack pantry. That's right, a snack pantry! You can have any of the food in there at anytime. Dave even packed us some almonds for our drive to Sacramento. A thoughtful little touch.

Room Tip: Each room has the tempur-pedic beds, which are heavenly. They also each have a view of Mount Shasta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NataleeTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at this inn for four nights and loved it. We loved everything from the swing with a view of the mountains and beautiful yard, sauna, and whirlpool to the comfortable and beautiful room with a view. Make sure you schedule David for a massage, he is exceptional. In fact exceptional is the word that I would use for the whole experience.

Room Tip: Oops, sorry there is not pool or fitness center, I was checking excellent the whole way and missed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLake44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at Shasta Mount Inn for 7 days and never got tired of "coming home" each night after hiking all day. A great place to unwind with the jacuzzi and sauna. The Owner, David, is also a wonderful masseur as well as cook, and very accomodating with special diets of all varieties. We were also allowed to use the kitchen to cook dinner if we wanted The house is beautiful along with the grounds with wonderful plantings. The Inn is in a quiet neighborhood within 5 minutes of walking distance to town. I was there in August and was able to see Mount Shasta and her wonderful cloud formations everyday. I would love to come back and stay at Shasta Mount Inn in the winter after a great snow fall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capnjenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Relaxed neighborhood setting within walking distance (3 blocks) of Mt. Shasta's charming business district. The Innkeeper has paid attention to even small details like plush comfortable robes for stepping out to the private jacuzzi. We particularly appreciated outstanding breakfast fare, a Tempurpedic mattress that made so much difference in sleeping that we are now looking to purchase one for our own bed, and the availability of "snacks" in the kitchen that made the place feel like home... but better.

Room Tip: Mountain views are very good from the rooms and decks but make a point of taking sunset pictures fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our stay started out with a nice note on the front door...."I am busy with a client at the moment but you are staying in this room...please make yourself at home." We were already impressed that we didn't have to hang around outside until someone was ready to talk to us and so we went right in!

The house is absolutely amazing! Its an old, victorian home decorated so nicely. The atmosphere is so welcoming and friendly that you never feel like your in someone elses space (and this is coming from a couple that enjoys their privacy). Our room had a king bed with the best mattress (and memory foam pillows). We did not use the in-room fireplace, but I imagine it would be a nice touch when the weather becomes a bit chilly.

Right next to our room was a "lounge" with foot massages, large screen TV (there is also a TV in the room) and so many movies to choose from. The garden is absolutely breathtaking and has a view of the mountain. We spent hours there just reading and enjoying the views and the energy of the space.

Breakfast was delicious! There's quite a selection and David makes sure everything is made to your liking. He offered both decaf and regular coffee in the morning, which was quite considerate since I couldn't drink caffeine.

David also made great food recommendations for dinner and other things to do during our stay. The beauty is that he's not always in the house (as he lives on the bottom floor), so you really do feel like you are renting the house from him and he is there to make yous stay a great one.

Thank you David. We cannot wait to come visit your retreat again. It was an absolutely fantastic experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KalinaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Shasta MountInn Retreat is absolutely the best bed and breakfast we have ever found. David - the Innkeeper - instantly becomes your friend and before leaving there you even feel like he might be family! The attention to every detail is fabulous. The house and grounds are immaculate, and the made-to-order full breakfast each morning is delicious. There is a kitchen upstairs and down which you can use if you prefer to prep your own meals while staying, and the rooms are wonderful with the most comfy mattresses and amazing views of Mt. Shasta. The hot tub, which does NOT use chlorine, and the sauna were both private, and the outside seating areas were divine to enjoy the evening and night stars. We highly recommend the massage David offers as well. It was probably the best I've ever had.
It is truly a retreat, and was a highlight of our trip. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Shasta hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 9 in Mount Shasta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa

Property: Shasta MountInn Retreat & Spa
Address: 203 Birch St, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-2345
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When seeking lodging in beautiful Mount Shasta, why stay in hotels when you can be pampered in a Victorian era bed and breakfast with incredible views of Mt. Shasta? Built in 1904 by master carpenter and Mayor of Mount Shasta Richie Edson this gorgeous home was restored to architectural beauty with lots of natural wood, crown moldings, three decks and fireplaces. The splendor of the wood and craftsmanship will astonish you and the views will captivate you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shasta Mountinn Retreat Hotel Mount Shasta
Shasta Mountinn Retreat And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing