We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice winter retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Shasta Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Shasta Resort to your Saves list
Mount Shasta Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Siskiyou Lake Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct. Save 10%.
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice winter retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed with an outdoor group here this winter. The location is very accessible to local skiing and of course Mount Shasta itself. We had two of the 2 bedroom chalet's that are connected to each other by an outside porch. The chalet's are very clean and new looking with full kitchen, family room area, flat screen TV and even a gas fireplace. Very reasonably priced if you have a group.

The management is a little quirky, almost like they are just kind of winging it. I never did get an official room quote showing the room price with taxes and service charges. I had to make a few calls and emails to get a custom email showing the cost breakdown. You would think they would have some sort of system in place to do that. The other thing was you had to "check out" a DVD player from the main office for the chalet. We were able to connect it up with little problem, but I could see people having trouble figuring it out.

All in all we had a great time, and I would love to come back.

Room Tip: Although we didn't have the "Lake View" chalets, I didn't see a real bonus for tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjuricich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    73
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
40
84
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My husband and I took a last minute trip to your resort last night. I spoke with Kathy, the front desk receptionist, who helped me tremendously. She went above and beyond by helping us get last minute massages on Saturday. She called us back and let us know she was able to reserve those at 11:15 the following day. When we got lost on the way there, I called and the restaurant said they would wait for us and to drive safe (8:30pm). The bartender, Lance was Awesome. He took good care of us. We had the Filet and New York with veggies. Ron's filet was cooked to perfection at medium rare. He said it was so tender he could cut it with a fork.... and he's a tough critic. :) My steak was amazing as well. Our room (710) was beautiful and the spa service was Amazing. The staff was very professional and my masseuse (both worked on Ron and myself) were Excellent. We had a delicious breakfast in the dining room with beautiful views.

I already told all the Realtors I work with at Coldwell Banker, Redding and all of my Facebook people. Thank you for running such a Fabulous staff!
We'll be back soon!
Ron & Julia Rossiter

Room Tip: They have all separate Cabins.. but I would get a room with a jacuzzi in it. We stayed in room 210.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachgirljuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We booked a two bedroom chalet on the lake and a regular Woodside Room. The 2-bedroom is much nicer with two bathrooms, a full kitchen and living room. The lake view was beautiful from the living room. The Woodside room is a traditional motel room. The property is adjacent to a golf course and the views of the mountains are stunning. It's an easy trip to town and you feel like you have your own cabin. The main check-in area has a restaurant which is your typical American fare, nothing special, though the service was good. We have stayed here several times and when there is snow, they plow it right away. Great place to get away if you are in Mt. Shasta.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandradot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the resort three times in the last year on our trips to and from California. Each time we've been thrilled with the cabins, the restautarant and the staff. They offer cabins with and without kitchens and although they haven't replaced the old shower doors with the Marriott type shower curtain on the bent rods, the rooms are BIG, remodeled, and the beds are comfortable.

If you sign on to the web site they'll send you emailed "specials" like the "Girls Night In" (Nov 2011) where you get a massage (not only for girls), an entree in the restaurant AND the room ALL for $111. TRY AND BEAT THAT !!

Room Tip: The are all separate cabins ---all are quiet and shadied by pine trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Both my sister and her husband and my husband and I each had a 1 bedroom lakeside chalet. We were all so impressed with how wonderful it was. Nice furniture, great kitchen, and nice king bed. Fully stocked bathroom too. And the views from the deck were great.

My sister and I both went to the spa facility and had a massage and facial, it was heaven. Great people.

Restuarant: we arrived at lunch and split and club sandwich. It was huge and glad we shared. Went for dinner and that didn't really meet our expectations. Steaks were on the warm side for both husbands, pesto tortillini had way too much pesto sauce and nachos were cold. Dessert also wasn't the greatest. Breakfast was good, omelets, french toast and oatmeal. We also went into town and ate at Lily's VERY GOOD!!!

Room Tip: We had 117 & 118 and will be asking for a lakefront unit on our next stay, but these units were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldRiverGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights in an updated premium lakeside chalet and loved it. We had plenty of room to roam, a nice big bedroom and a decently equipped kitchen, The best feature was the deck which looked out onto Lake Siskiyou. From our room we were able to step right outside and take walks around the gorgeous lake. The peace and tranquility of the resort was so relaxing. We had a good experience with dinner at the resort's restaurant. Food was delicious and servers were very friendly. I also had a massage at the spa. While the massage was good, the customer service wasn't so good. I tried to change my appointment time the day before and I was told that someone would call me back but no one ever did. As a result, I ended up keeping my original appt time and showed up at my scheduled time. No one came out to greet me and I just sat there waiting in the lobby area. Eventually the manicurist came out of some other room and I asked her if she could please tell my massage therapist that I was waiting. She replied that the therapist was aware that I was there. 45 minutes later, the therapist emerged after finishing with another client. I understand that things happen but it would have been a better experience for me if someone had come out to tell me the status. I did not complain to the therapist because I did not want to ruin my session nor did she apologize for being late.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadgetSunnyvaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you are in the area, The Mount Shasta Resort, on first impression, seems to be a very exciting place to stay. My experience was not so pleasant – beginning with the check in to discover that my credit card was charged for the full stay in advance, something that a first class hospitability company would immediately tell you upon making reservations. The bugs in the room and the fact that some of the bath facilities were not functioning optimally makes this a no return location for me. I give them only one star and a D- grade from check-in to departure.

Room Tip: Be sure to question them regarding policies before making reservations. They have a legal contract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank William C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
#1 of 8 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 8 in Mount Shasta
3.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#4 of 8 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
9.6 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#3 of 8 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Shasta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Shasta Resort

Property: Mount Shasta Resort
Address: 1000 Siskiyou Lake Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Shasta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of beautiful Mount Shasta is one of Northern California's finest All-Season Resorts. Mount Shasta Resort encompasses all that you could ask for when searching for a place to stay and play. After 18 holes of golf, dine in our beautiful restaurant or relax more casually in our family friendly lounge. Unwind amidst some of the most pristine landscape imaginable in our Chalet accommodations with separate kitchenette, dining room, deck, and living room with a cozy gas fireplace. Be sure to visit the Evergreen Day Spa after a long day of skiing, fishing or golfing, for total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mount Shasta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Shasta Hotel Mount Shasta
Mt Shasta Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing