We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are in Mt Shasta, eat here!”
Review of Shasta Pinnacle - CLOSED

Shasta Pinnacle
Restaurant details
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You are in Mt Shasta, eat here!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our first trip to Mt Shasta. This is a very small town with few dinning options. Shasta Pinnacle is reasonable family eating with fresh ingredients and a hands on owner overseeing the dinning room. Very attentive staff the 2 nights we ate here. BYOB from the shop across the street. Small staff can probably get overwhelmed but stay focused on the guests. The kitchen was slow but the food was expertly prepared. Low key delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimM0ran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful, gluten free and delicious!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were pleased to have knowledgeable help in selecting gluten free items (most are or can be made so) from the menu. I had fettuccini and my husband had the spaghetti and meatballs, perfect for MT Shasta dining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GF-Oregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gualala
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Big change from delightful Lily's”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on a trip south from Oregon. We had fond memories of lovely lunches outdoors at a quaint restaurant in this area. We were able to find the place we remembered but the name was now Shasta Pinnacle. Obviously it had changed ownership but we decided to take a table outside and try it. A very friendly host and waitress got us seated and brought menus. However, the wait for everything took forever from that point on. We waited almost an hour after giving her the order. One of us ordered Coconut Shrimp and a side salad. She brought the salad after about 15 minutes and the shrimp came along with the rest of our entrees almost an hour later. The waitress was delightful but after delivering the food we really didn't see her again until we were ready to go. One of our party wanted a napkin and had to go to the kitchen to get it. We ended up eating half our lunch and getting a box for the rest as we were running very short on time. We overheard our waitress telling another customer that this was her last day and when she brought us the check she apologized for the slow service and said we should let her manager know. She was sincerely sorry for the long delays so it was probably the kitchen's problem.

The food was average, although the coconut shrimp were excellent. The menu is quite average compared to when the place was Lily's but has a decent number of offerings. The wait would have been understandable if they were crowded with customers and short staffed. However, they had few customers at all and we couldn't imagine what would take so long to fill our order. It is sad to see the change because it could still be a pleasant place to have lunch if they were better managed. Surprisingly they had a Tripadvisor sticker in their window which was obviously earned by Lily's. Definately not worth going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinegirlGualala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overcooked shrimp & pasta”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

It was a lovely evening so I sat outside, the shrimp scampi was terribly overcooked & absolutely no flavor!! The salad was nice w/good veges however the dressing was awful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daughteroftheking-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fresh food but slow slow service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Bland atmosphere. We waited 20 minutes just to have our order taken. Another 45 before our food came. The food was fresh and tasted good, especially the vegetables. My steak was tender.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lldinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shasta Pinnacle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing