We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finlandia Motel & Lodge
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Piedmont
1 review
“Friendly Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed here for a couple of nights while we were up to do some hiking on Mount Shasta (amazing experience!) Room was clean & comfortable - great value for us - and i was amazed to find out the managers were actually Finnish! LOL Hot tub felt great after a day on the mountain and the managers had a great recommendation for a family style restaurant downtown! I'd definately do it again come ski season.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Justhavinfun9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
17
16
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Ca.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I suppose that in many ways, I'm not a very picky hotel consumer, but I thought the Filandia! hotel was exactly what we were looking for on or trip from Los Gatos to Crater Lake. We wanted to break up the drive with a stay (actually two, one on the way up, and one on the way down), and exploration in the Shasta area. What we wanted was a safe, clean and economical location to base our day trips from.

The Finlandia! was all of that, and offered the bonus of free wifi service in our rooms. The staff (the owner and his son) were exceptionally nice, and accommodated our late/early checkins. The son offered us good recommendations on activities and food within the Mt. Shasta area.

The rooms were clean and basic. The furniture might have been a little outdated, but it really didn't matter. We weren't looking for the Ritz-Carlton.

There was some noise from the train tracks that ran along I-5, but that noise would have affected any hotel in town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridgetop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos,California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Having stayed at various hotels in Mt. Shasta city over the years was delighted to find the very best. Our large, clean and quiet room had 2 queen beds, a chest of drawers, a nightstand, a large round table and 2 upholstered chairs. Add to this a microwave and fridge and a window with a view of the snow-covered queen of mountains...all for the unbelievable price of $70 a night and there could be no dispute this is the place to stay. At the end of the day a sauna and spa are waiting for guests. Did I mention free wireless internet? At the edge of town the forest is your backyard but restaurants and shops are in easy walking distance. We love Lily's for charming decor and creative menu. The owners of Finlandia are efficient and eager to please. You will love staying here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosGatostraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

A friend had had a good stay at this property; she was in a room with kitchenette and liked it. Our room was spacious but very old tired furnishings, uncomfortable mattresses, awful and cheap linens. Thin walls. During the night there was a horrible noise of machinery. We investigated and found that the manager was aware of but hadn't addressed a mechanical problem with a heating unit or something that was extremely disruptive. We will not stay in that run-down facility again. If you do book there, check the room and mattresses first to see if it will suit you. For the price, it should be renovated.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Shasta hotels

Manila
Level Contributor
181 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

We stayed in Finlandia last week based on the recent positive reviews here. We booked an economy room for one night just to break the long trip from Oregon back to the Bay area.

When I saw the room, I felt like I was back in the apartment of my parents during the 70's. The room, chairs, tables, etc. looked really dated. Except for the relatively new TV, the whole set-up made me feel like I was in a time warp back to my childhood years.

Still, the room was relatively clean so we decided to stay. However, I was very disappointed to find many black ants in the bathroom later in the evening. Since it was already late at night, I did not bother anymore to ask for a different room.

In fairness to them, the beds were ok and we had no problems getting some sleep. Wifi connection was also excellent.

If ever we go back to Mount Shasta, we will try to explore the other lodging choices there.

  • Liked — Wifi
  • Disliked — Room is very dated; black ants in the bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank banzai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We stayed at the Finlandia in one of their deluxe rooms during a 2 day ski trip to the nearby ski park. The room was clean and in decent repair. I'm not sure why it was deemed to be a deluxe room; it must have been the vaulted ceiling. The only complaints I'd voice was that the blower on the heater was loud and clunky enough to make it difficult to sleep with it running, and that the water supply to the building must be undersized because the flow was a bit low and the temperature fluctuated wildly during our showers. It would definately keep you on your toes. All in all, I'll look for a better alternative next time, but if there aren't any vacancies, I'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Water temperature fluctuation in shower
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2007

On the way to Coastal Oregon from Southern California, we tried to get a hotel in Redding, and didn't think it was worth 70 dollars for a Best Western or Motel 6. We figured there would be cheaper hotels before Mt. Shasta so we kept driving. It got very cold and very late and there was no where to stop (we tried to sleep in the van at a rest stop but it was too well lit). Finally we came upon Finlandia cold, tired, mad, hungry and with two crying restless cats in the car and were delighted that it wound up being cheaper than any hotel we'd seen. The man was nice, and gave us a room even though we got there an hour or so after closing time. The room was nice and cozy, and the view out our window in the morning was wonderful.

Finlandia is a great place to stop for the night if you want to take the hardest part of the 5 North first thing in the morning.

  • Liked — The price, the owner/clerk, the view, the fact our cats got a place to stay
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank redsparrow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#5 of 6 in Dunsmuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlandia Motel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlandia Motel & Lodge

Property: Finlandia Motel & Lodge
Address: 1612 S Mount Shasta Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-9453
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Finlandia Motel and Lodge, located in beautiful Mount Shasta, California. We are proud to offer you free wireless internet, access to a spa, Finnish sauna, and complimentary coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finlandia Motel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finlandia Motel And Lodge
Finlandia Hotel Mount Shasta
Finlandia Motel Mount Shasta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing