We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent views from vista point” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Shasta

Mount Shasta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magnificent views from vista point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We were able to take the road straight up past the high school and kept driving till it turned into dirt (up past the treeline) it provided us with really excellent views of the valley.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RHONNA1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    47
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
503 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We drove up to the bottom of Mount Shasta during our recent trip to Redding and really enjoyed it. We took alot of pics as the views changed continually as we drove around each curve. Lovely!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome and majestic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We didn't know anything about the Mt. Shasta area so we went to the Tourism Bureau in town. The woman was very helpful and told us about the road going halfway up the mountain. I was really excited! So my husband and I began our drive from town up the mountainside. There are so many fantastic views that it took us 45 minutes to get to the end, which is 7,900' up. Once at the end of the road, we were able to view the mountain without obstacles and marvel in its beauty. We had a small picnic lunch there and walked around, enjoying the sun and quiet. There was an avalanche in 1995 which destroyed a huge area of land and those trees are still laying in its path, but new growth is evident as a reminder that out of death comes life. It's an amazing drive and will only take about 20 minutes if you don't stop, but you won't be able to just drive up without stopping for pictures along the way. If you plan to hike, make sure you register with the ranger station or else they WILL send you back down to do so. We talked to some hikers to which that happened and it's for your own safety. I highly recommended this drive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank dsummer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hiking Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spending a day in the environs of Mt. Shasta (the city) affords you the opportunity to choose from many hikes -- easy to difficult, short to long. The trails we took (primarily Grey Butte) was quite well marked. At the top is a panoramic view of the entire area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Al
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience! Great family fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The lake was gorgeous! Lots of family activities at the lake. You can rent to use the trampoline, rock climb on the lake. They also have paddle boats to rent. Gorgeous views. Highly recommend. We were doing a cross country trip. This was one of the best places we stayed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Shasta also viewed

 

Been to Mount Shasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing