We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, Warm wonderful inn, helpful and caring staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shasta Starr Ranch B&B
Ranked #2 of 8 Mount Shasta B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Finding this inn was an absolute bit of luck. From six hundred miles away, I had to arrange for the stay of our large and multi-generational family with their various accommodation needs--all traveling from afar to attend a funeral. The innkeepers could not have been more amazing, helpful and caring. They went above and beyond our expectations and provided a comfortable oasis for us during a most difficult time.

Our family will forever be grateful to them for their kindness, warmth and exceptional service. I look forward to returning for a leisure visit when we can more fully enjoy the lovely grounds and beautiful inn.
The location is convenient and yet close to town and all the surrounding beauty of Mt. Shasta.

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2008

This place is absolutely the BEST place to stay in all of Mt. Shasta. I will go back every year!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jrvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

Very nice friendly B&B. Great location to visit the northern part of California. Great breakfast that was different each morning. I especially liked the extra thick bacon. Great view of Mt Shasta from the front porch - pictured attached

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

We stayed at the Mount Shasta Ranch B&B with our dog. This was our first time travelling with our dog and our first time staying at a B&B that was pet-friendly and kid-friendly (we don't have kids). We were a bit worried that a pet-friendly place would be dirty, have dog hair everywhere, or smell like wet dog, but Mount Shasta Ranch B&B put our fears to rest. It was very clean and charmingly decorated. The room we stayed in was huge and had a great view of Mount Shasta. The breakfasts were scrumptious. And, we had so much fun playing pool and table tennis. The B&B felt like a very cosy and fun home away from home and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wondrousbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at Mount Shasta Ranch B&B. Excellent views of Mount Shasta from the comfy front porch. The innkeeper was very friendly and helpful. Dogs are more than welcome here. Our room was large, very comfortable, and charmingly outdated. Compared to the rest of the town, which is right off I-5, the B&B is probably one of the quieter accomodations to be had. The remoteness of the area and the beauty of the mountain may lead you to expect total silence at night: the house itself is very quiet, but the nearby railroad and highway are always there. That said, we had no trouble sleeping. Breakfast was huge and delicious, with fresh fruit, blueberry pancakes and enough sausage to feed us and provide left-overs for our dog. It's hard to find nice, truly dog friendly places that are enjoyable and pleasant to stay at: this is one of the few.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsSpring62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Er zijn twee kamers met uitzicht op Mount Shasta
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabelleNave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Shasta hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
1.1 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
77 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 9 in Mount Shasta
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shasta Starr Ranch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta Starr Ranch B&B

Address: 1008 W a Barr Rd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-9465 (Formerly Mount Shasta Ranch Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Shasta
Price Range: $131 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shasta Starr Ranch B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Northern California, 2-story ranch house offers a rustic glimpse into the past in a historical setting. Built in 1923 by H. D. "Curley" Brown as a thoroughbred horse ranch, the original guest accommodations included the main house and several cottages and bungalows. Present-day guests can still enjoy the unique atmosphere and mood of those early years which are reflected in the Mt. Shasta Ranch Bed & Breakfast. This magnificent home has four spacious guestrooms in the main house, separate carriage house with five bedrooms and a two-bedroom cottage. At the end of the day, sit by the crackling fire and look forward to a large county style breakfast in the morning. We hope our relaxed atmosphere will make you feel at home at Shasta Starr Ranch B & B. We're a gracious affordable alternative to hotels. We look forward to welcoming you. As many of the B & B's long time guests may know Julian and Kachina Starr have purchased the B & B, and as of April 1, 2015, we took over from Bill and Mary Larsen. Bill and Mary have owned the building for 30 years, 20 of which they have run it as the B & B giving it lots of love and hard work. We know many folks will miss them. The Starr's feel honored that the Larsen's chose them as their predecessors and will continue the B & B tradition. The new owners, Julian and Kachina Starr have owned and operated Turtle Rock Resort in Gold Beach, Oregon for eighteen years and will bring their experience to the Northern California B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Shasta Starr Ranch B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Shasta Ranch Hotel Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta Ranch b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing