We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd go back just for the mashed potatoes”
Review of Wayside Grill - CLOSED

Wayside Grill
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'd go back just for the mashed potatoes”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had the ribeye steak and mashed potatoes and veg. I am kind of a mashed potato snob, and they do a wonderful job! Oh, and the steak was good as well-better last time, but apparently they changed meat sourcing recently. I would love to see them partner with a local grass fed beef producer (how about Scott River Ranch over in Scott Valley?)
We will definitely go back next trip up to Mount Shasta. Very friendly staff and owners. We were so impressed by their caring attitude. We wish them well-it's tough for a restaurant in a small town with seasonal tourist business.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    35
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
N, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wide selection quality "fun" food!”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great food, fun evening outing. Hoppin', loud, and busy!

Good service too.
Everything from the best Rib Eye Steak my hubby has had in a restuarant ~ to pizza, Mexican, and yummy salads!

The Lobster Bisque was delicious and satisfying. After having Loster Bisque at Pizza Nova in San Diego tho, wishing we were closer to the ocean and maybe Wayside could get some actual chunks of lobster in the bisque as you do there! :)

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fostemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Level Contributor
537 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Food In A Rural Setting”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We happened upon this restaurant as a result of the recommendation of our motel clerk at the Swiss Holiday lodge. We ordered the Pesto and Artichoke Pizza and a salad. The menu also had quite a variety of Ribs and steaks, too. The place was quite busy on a Thursday night, but we were seated immediately. The Pizza was only $13, but we took home a quarter of it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Modestotrekkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, OR
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“should have left sooner”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We are not typically complainers. This was our first dinner together on our Anniversary trip. First bad clue was all the bland looking pasta dishes people were picking at on our way to our table. Second bad clue was steak dinners with no baked potato (instant mashed or rice only). Neither of us could make it through our dinners without feeling like it would come back up. Hubby wanted a steak but opted for a mexican dish because he didn't want to spend the $25 on a steak without a baked potato. My ribs were ok once I scraped the sauce off and added some salt. But half-way through we started tasting that the food wasn't fresh and was maybe a few days old. Gordon Ramsey would've crapped. People who appeared to be the owners were walking around proudly. Not sure why.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulelake, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great stop”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a very friendly restaraunt / tavern, with great hospitality and great food.
The sandwiches are very generous portions, huge hamburgers, and Great Rib Eye steak.
They really know how to properly pour a Guiness.
Always a stop when I travel through.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdj5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayside Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing