We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst campground ever!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Shasta City KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Shasta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Shasta City KOA
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Worst campground ever!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

After an all day drive with my dog in the car, I was excited to get settled in the cabin I had reserved at Mt. shasta. Upon arrival, I see a sign on the door that says "office closed due to famikly emergency". According to other campers, their "family emergencies" seem to be the norm rather than the exception. After I parked next to the office, I went toward the bathrooms, but guess what. They were closed!. Are you kidding me? So I found a tree and took care of business. I then picked up the key "at least they did that right", and went to the cabin. It was clean, but the mattresses were of very poor quality. I was creative and used the two bunk mattresses to double the twin bed mattress. It would have been much more comfortable if I had just brought my tent and a sleeping bag, given that it felt like I was sleeping on concrete.

Then to add insult to injury, the loudest train goes by adjacent to the campground all night. The first time I heard it, I thought it was some kind of emergency alarm. KOA should at least have the courtesy of putting a sign up warning people of the noise. They could it right next to the sign that says that they are closed.

Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheblardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
24
13
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

I am new to the KOA Kamping experience, and thought that I would choose something close by as way to try to them out. To say the least, I was not disappointed, in fact, I intend to return several times!! Nicole was great, very knowledgeable about the area, and she took the initiative to upgrade us to cabin that was closer to the restrooms/showers, as it was very cold that weekend. We were not disappointed and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The campground is beautiful, impeccable grounds with huge trees, and lot's of nooks and crannies to explore. I don't have kids, but the playground looked like a lot of fun. It's very close to the main town of Mt. Shasta, in fact, if you don't mind a good walk, you can just park and walk. I am also going to add-unless you absolutely hate trains, or have a complete aversion to noise, the trains didn't bother either of us, in fact, we loved listening for them.

Room Tip: Rent a two room cabin, over a one room. Even though we don't have kids, that second room was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keesgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
422 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We had been camping in State and National parks. We thought we would give KOA a try, not expecting much.

We were thrilled to meet Nicole. She was so warm, genuinely friendly, helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations, camp site selection. She couldnt do enough. There isnt much one can do to differentiate themselves in a campsite setting, but her service was over the top and made us want to stay longer. We will certainly return and recommend this facility to others.

The grounds were clean, nice trees, large campsites. The restrooms were clean with nice hot showers. There was even a swimming pool.

Go there. It is much nicer than the other option outside of Shasta that we checked out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Me too I really don't understand the negative reviews.The staff was super friendly,I wanna mention Nicole.Cabins so cute,have everything you need.Roads are dusty,but that's one of the best part.It was fun for us drive on dirt,natural!

Room Tip: I recommend cabins,if you can cook.You"ll bring grocery,cook homemade food and enjoy outside pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShineeInda2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Staff is good. Clearly the owner does not invest in this campground. The roads are dusty. The sites are pooly kept. Cable T.V. is extremely poor. This park could be a gem, but it is a place to avoid. We will stay in McCloud from now on! This place is a hole!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolRvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Shasta hotels

Davis, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I really don't understand the negative reviews. Staff was friendly, campsites and restrooms were clean. It is true that the train is loud, but earplugs solve that problem.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DavisTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

The campground was in a nice wooded area, no freeway noise, but the train is loud (adds to the charm of the area). Office staff is nice, especially Susanna, and the merchandise offered is very nice, including a great selection of flip-flops! It was a very mellow place to stay and lots of space to walk in the woods with the dogs.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ALWSonoma_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
1.1 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Shasta City KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Shasta City KOA

Property: Mount Shasta City KOA
Address: 900 N Mount Shasta Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-9749
Location: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mount Shasta
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Mount Shasta City Koa Hotel Mount Shasta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing