We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This and the Glendora Road”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt Baldy Road

Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This and the Glendora Road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Glendora road is outstanding. A lot longer in terms of time, but aren't you there to discover and explore? Just don't be in a hurry. A lot of sharp turns, precipitous drops and a typical lack of guardrails.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mt. Baldy mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Coming from the East coast to see the California mountains is amazing. So easy to get on the hiking trails or take ski lift $20 round trip to the top and enjoy lunch while overlooking a beautiful view. This was a first to bring my 15 lb dog on the lift; she was great and it was a different experience from winter. Half price for lift if you hike down. When in the area enjoy the ride and view.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chatham382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Mt. Baldy Ski Lifts during the non-ski season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Mt. Baldy allows you to take the ski lift up in the summer / fall to hike, when there's no skiing. Groupon had a big special going on several times this fall for 2 round trip ski lift tickets and $20 food voucher for "Top of the Notch Restaurant" for $29 total. It's hard to imagine our day would have cost about $60+ without the coupon. I definitely recommend doing this at the $29 level when available, because I would not think it was worth it at the full price rate. But it definitely was worth the Groupon rate. It's fun to take the lifts up (about a 15 minute ride each way.) At the top, you can pick various hiking trails. Just know things are NOT marked well at all and you feel kind of on your own to figure out the property. The signs are all old and hard to read, if they even have a sign to mark a trail. Get a map at the bottom of the lift since it's your main source for figuring out what trails are available. But they're not labeled in terms of difficulty. The food at the restaurant is actually pretty good. Just expect to wait a while if it's busy day. We waited 30 minutes to order, then about another 40 for the food delivery. So try to plan your break to eat before your starving.

We didn't hike to the summit. But another hiker told us it's about 2 hours each way if you want to. So we picked other trails. Great photo ops up there.

Last tip: Once you start your drive up the mountain (which the town is rather cute) you'll see lots of signs about having to buy a LA Park permit to park anywhere. Just know this is NOT the case as long as you are only parking in the ski lift's parking lot. I noticed some people had bought day passes to park there. But they didn't really need to unless they planned on other stops throughout the day but the signs on the way up are very misleading to make you think you need one. But we checked with the staff upon arrival to their lot and they said they own their own lot. This was a relief that we didn't have to drive back down the mountain to try to get a pass.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mikki777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A mountain get-away so close to L.A”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I love the mountains but can't always get up to the San Bernardinos or the Sierra. This road fulfills my yearning for mountains, trees, forest and mountain wildflowers in the Spring, if I can't go further afield. In no time at all, I can be in the mountains, smelling the fresh mountain air. Love it.

Helpful?
Thank Puttermutt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend drive/hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Get your pass and park to take a hike or just cruise up and down the road! The Baldy ski resort is a good hike or place to eat! The falls is also a nice short hike for just about anyone!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt Baldy Road also viewed

 

Been to Mt Baldy Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing