We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, skip the lunch”
Review of Mt. Baldy Ski Area

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mt. Baldy Ski Area
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular California ski area offers more than 50 trails for downhill and snowboard enthusiasts.
Fullerton, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, skip the lunch”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went on a groupon for lunch and ski lift during the non ski season. The views were spectacular. It had just snowed a bit, so we really enjoyed the best views. The whole visit took about two hours including lunch. Unless you have a package deal, the lunch isn't worth it. For a quick drive from Los Angeles or Orange County, the scenery can't be beat!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthOCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    6
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pack a lunch and hike”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Do not visit this area after you have been to Mammoth for fall ski lift hiking. Very sad, obvious that no revenue is being invested in repairs. Our lift chair was missing half of the safety bar. The parking lot is filled with trash, toilets are overflowing and have not been emptied since July. We had a Groupon which included lunch. Emerson the server was wonderful. He located our lost order after 25 minutes. Food was awful. "custom made blue cheese and bacon potato salad" was warm costco white potato salad. Outside patio chairs broken, trashcans filthy, carpet filthy, no organization. Cafeteria entry appears to be new but will not fit a walker or wheelchair.
Bar personnel busy serving Sunday football beer drinkers but will not help hikers trying to get drinks. Outside the restaurant are broken steel parts and rusting tin. Wonder why it is not stacked elsewhere???? Lift attendant was very nice, his coworker was blasting Led Zepplin 4 while washing his Toyota truck with a gas engine steam cleaner with no muffler. Entire top of mountain could hear this lawn mower engine and 1971 smash hit on his static filled radio, totally took away from a nice afternoon for all. Strongly advise to stay far away, this day was a disaster.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Mt. Baldy Ski Lifts during the non-ski season”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Mt. Baldy allows you to take the ski lift up in the summer / fall to hike, when there's no skiing. Groupon had a big special going on several times this fall for 2 round trip ski lift tickets and $20 food voucher for "Top of the Notch Restaurant" for $29 total. It's hard to imagine our day would have cost about $60+ without the coupon. I definitely recommend doing this at the $29 level when available, because I would not think it was worth it at the full price rate. But it definitely was worth the Groupon rate. It's fun to take the lifts up (about a 15 minute ride each way.) At the top, you can pick various hiking trails. Just know things are NOT marked well at all and you feel kind of on your own to figure out the property. The signs are all old and hard to read, if they even have a sign to mark a trail. Get a map at the bottom of the lift since it's your main source for figuring out what trails are available. But they're not labeled in terms of difficulty. The food at the restaurant is actually pretty good. Just expect to wait a while if it's busy day. We waited 30 minutes to order, then about another 40 for the food delivery. So try to plan your break to eat before your starving.

We didn't hike to the summit. But another hiker told us it's about 2 hours each way if you want to. So we picked other trails. Great photo ops up there.

Last tip: Once you start your drive up the mountain (which the town is rather cute) you'll see lots of signs about having to buy a LA Park permit to park anywhere. Just know this is NOT the case as long as you are only parking in the ski lift's parking lot. I noticed some people had bought day passes to park there. But they didn't really need to unless they planned on other stops throughout the day but the signs on the way up are very misleading to make you think you need one. But we checked with the staff upon arrival to their lot and they said they own their own lot. This was a relief that we didn't have to drive back down the mountain to try to get a pass.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mikki777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simi valley
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hike is awesome, lift ride fun, restaurant food o.k.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hike up to Mount Baldy is awesome!!! 10,086 feet high. The views are amazing. The hike is challenging because of the altitude. I'm 44 went with my kids 10 & 12 and Papa who's 64. It took 5 hours to the top and less then 2 to get down. A 70 year old lady made it all the way to the top too!

We saw people that lived there run to the top and back.

The ski lift ride was fun and added a twist to our usual hiking. Some hikers start from the bottom of the lift, we would have never made it to the top if it weren't for the lift.

The breakfast was o.k. Not worth the full price for sure. But I had a Travelzoo deal for $17 for the lift and the breakfast! Groupon etc also often have deals.

If you like to hike the is a must. Just be prepared for it to take longer than you think unless you are used to high altitudes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rrkingcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun ski lift ride to the top; restaurant very average”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a voucher which included the chair lift ride to the top of Mt. Baldy (an adventure in itself!) and $20 towards lunch.
We're senior citizens, so I was rather hesitant about riding the chair lift, afraid I'd get swept off my feet when it was time to depart. The attendant at the top seemed to anticipate that and slowed the lift down for our departure. Much appreciated. The attendant on the return trip was not so kind. It stayed at normal speed and I was nearly knocked over by the chair. I think all the attendants need to be aware of the age and ability of all riders.
The restaurant at the top,"The Top of the Notch" was really busy. We decided to order at the bar and eat outside. We ordered the "special", a very average tasting grilled roast beef sandwich (very little meat) and french fries, which we split, and two bottles soft drinks and the bill came to over $20! The view was terrific, but the food not so much!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingrandma91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Baldy Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Baldy Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing