We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun palace with really good food”

Phil's Fish Market and Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun palace with really good food”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Try the NE clam chowder. Overall everything was very good and the fish was really fresh. Nice casual atmosphere - great stop after kayaking on the Elkhorn Slough.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank prontoeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    290
    108
    55
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Way Overrated”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our expectations were high, given the reputation of this establishment, but the food is rather mediocre. Portions are very large (perhaps that explains in part the popularity of this place), but the food is not flavorful. The general feel of this restaurant is of an average fast-food joint with high prices. The french fires had an off flavor, the fried fish (we tried both the cod and the halibut) were heavy on the batter but not interesting, and the salmon burger lacked in both taste and presentation. I had the grilled sardines: not a very compelling version (I usually greatly enjoy them), and the caper sauce did not do much to enhance the fish. We did not try the Cioppino --part of Phil's claim to fame. To top it all, our server was grumpy and not very welcoming. On the plus side, we arrived in the morning when there was not much of a wait, and the restaurant has some outdoor seating with great views of the beach and ocean.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1KRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwahnee, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood place to eat!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

After a long grueling day in the central valley heat we drove out to the coast and stumbled across this wonderful place. Generous portions, reasonable pricing. You can eat inside, outside on a covered patio or outside in uncovered patio area overlooking the ocean. It's a go-up-and-order place and they bring it to your table. I was very impressed with the generous portions. I had a salad with mixed greens and a heaping serving of bay shrimp. My husband had fish and sticks that looked wonderful (he said they were really great!). Definitely would recommend this quaint spot right in the midst of a commercial fishing harbor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It is where the locals go”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Fresh fish "off the boat" prepared in different ways. Pasta options and hamburgers as well. Other patrons confirmed these were excellent, too. Great variety, generous portions, fun for all ages.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
184 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The Finest Pacific Seafood in a Casual Setting”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were visiting the Monterrey Bay area with a California native friend, who knows the area well and she introduced us to Phil's. What a gem of a place. They have an extensive menu of fresh local seafood. Nothing fancy; you order at a counter and the food is delivered to your table, but everything is superb. We had the fresh fish of the day, grilled calamari and Because this is in the artichoke capital of the world we had them stuffed with crab and in seafood stew; very unique. As an added bonus, Phil's is right in the bew and we walked down after or meal to see migrating whales just off-shore. A perfect end to an perfect meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Fish Market and Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Phil's Fish Market and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing