We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation Trip”

Phil's Fish Market and Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Graduation Trip”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Being on the coast we wanted fresh fish and the hotel recommended Phil's. What a great place for dinner. The wait staff was informed and helpful. The atmosphere was fun and very busy on a Friday night. But the lines move along quickly and everyone shares tables. The food came out fast and hot, it huge proportions, hint share a meal. It was delicious with a bottle of local merlot. Great experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    305
    110
    55
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great for a big group and Fun”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Recommend by a friend. Went with a group of 10. I think Phil's is busy most nights arrived 6:30 good size line for food but moved along quickly. I had spicy prawns very good & a side of clam chowder. Food was delivered to the table with in 15 min's
Worth the short drive.
Tips: Order beer in the food line, they will give you a slip for it. Makes service quicker at the bar.
Tables.. If with a group have some one or two look for a table while the others order food
we had no problem finding a large table

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JALFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Coolest Fish Market Ever!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

What an animated and visually convivial place to inhale all things seafood! Moss Landing is just a 20 minute or so drive from Monterey and we felt it was definitely worth the trip!
We started at the bar with an amply filled glass of local Pinot Grigio and then lined up cafe style, to order our food, take a number and in short order, receive our food.
I wanted to try the ahi tuna steak and was not disappointed. It was perfectly done to my liking and was pure, unspoiled fish. My husband had the Mediterranean Pasta which he enjoyed also.
The atmosphere was fun and it felt very much like sitting among ALL of your relatives - very comfortable place to experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank britgirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-sea
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best fish in Monterey?”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were recommended to visit Phil's and it was advice well given. It is not the easiest of places to find, but well worth the 15 mile trip up the coast from Monterey. It is large, noisy, fun, lively and unique. There is a huge choice on the menu (fish being the speciality) and service (despite the numbers of diners) was slick. Portions are huge! Be prepared to order food at the counter and then find space at one of the many tables - both indoor and outdoor. Bar service is separate. Reservations are not accepted. Limited car parking on site but plenty of road space. Blue grass music was provided by Bean Creek - a quartet of accomplished performers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pepeingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great find by the ocean.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We got this recommended by another tourist it was a great. We all loved it. The fish was fresh and tasted great. The staff was friendly and honest. We would go back. It was the best fish restaurant in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Fish Market and Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Phil's Fish Market and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing