We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain's Inn at Moss Landing
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Landing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Recently we stayed at the Captain's Inn in Moss Landing, California. We were very impressed by the cheerful and friendly greeting of the innkeeper Donna. She was very helpful and also available to take care of any needs we might have. We stayed upstairs in the main house in a lovely room with a comfortable queen bed. We asked Donna for dinner suggestions and then walked down the street to the Haute Enchilada. The dinner was excellent. The next morning was even better with a fabulous breakfast cooked by Donna. We had a wonderful selection of fresh fruit, smoothies, muffins, and cooked to order omelets. Then we walked a short distance to get on the Elkhorn Slough Safari that we had reserved a month earlier. What a marvelous trip that was! Captain Yahn and a naturalist took us on a pontoon boat through the slough. We saw so many different types of birds. Also many sea lions, harbor seals, and the adorable sea otters. Two of the otters were carrying babies on their chests. Another was cracking shellfish on a rock lying on its chest! We learned so much about the history and geology of the area. This is a trip not to be missed. Later we walked (again a short distance) to the nearby beach. We wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely stay again in the Captain's Inn, and we feel that Donna is an amazing innkeeper!!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the boathouse have a marvelous view of the slough. I think they would be worth the ext...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank randirice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Captain's Inn at Moss Landing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is my favorite B&B ever. Highly recommend for those who enjoy being close to nature in a quiet setting with full amenities. Awesome view from the uniquely appointed rooms and delicious breakfast and snacks. Excellent place for a romantic getaway (e.g. anniversary with in-room massage) or to spend a wonderful weekend with girlfriends, as I most recently did. Elkhorn Slough Safari is a must!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a fabulous weekend at this B&B in April. They pay close attention to the details that can make a good vacation a great vacation. We especially appreciated the breakfasts that accommodated our dietary restrictions- deliciously! The bed was soo comfortable and the rooms have interesting decorations, not the usually stock paintings. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house facing the road. If you need it to be super quiet ask for the boat house...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraK32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I spent a very memorable night here recently, not my first visit. My only regret is that I could only stay one day! The Inn Keeper, Donna, was very welcoming and a great cook! Be sure not to miss the Elkhorn Slough safari - great for bird and otter watching. The Inn is cozy and comfortable and the Boat house rooms have great views and showers. Only minutes to Monterey and a much nicer place to stay than some big hotel there.

Room Tip: The Boathouse is the most fun. Rooms in the historic bldg are charming and authentic.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Inn made even more pleasant by Donna. The beach setting and quaint cozy rooms were deluxe. I would definitely recommend staying here again.

For an extra bonus, try the nearby Phil's fish market. The food was amazing and they had a live band. Not to be missed to create a great overall experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halifamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Captain's Inn is quirky and fabulous. We had a room right on the water, and our bed was a vintage trailer - the lights even worked! The hotel is small and intimate. The owner is obviously a boat person - there are boats incorporated into the landscape and into some of the other rooms.
Donna, the receptionist and breakfast chef was new when we were there and was very friendly. Her breakfasts were the best we've had at a B and B. Sweet potato pancakes, homemade banana bread, "fiesta eggs", fresh fruit and great coffee and conversation every morning. I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Captain's Inn. It was a wonderful mixture of decadence and wildlife viewing. Our first morning a red-shouldered hawk buzzed our window. A little later a white-tailed kite was kiting in front of the window and a harrier was cruising below. We saw at least 2 Say's phoebes, otters, seals, pelicans, shorebirds, sparrows, cormorants, loons and more from our window. Captain Yahn is very knowledgeable about local wildlife. There is a bird list just for the inn.
The 3 course breakfasts were wonderful, especially the sweet potato pancakes. The Innkeeper was very accommodating. Other reviewers mentioned time frames and rules, but she will work with you if she can.
We walked to 2 great restaurants: The Haute Enchilada and The Lemon Grass Thai restaurant (lots of vegetarian options.)
The beach and harbor are within walking distance. We had a great kayak trip up the slough. The boat motif is fun. The beds were comfortable and our room was quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second story of the boat house. I did not look into the other rooms but I think th...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChickadeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Landing
6.8 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
13.5 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
14.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,625 reviews
14.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
13.6 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Inn at Moss Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Inn at Moss Landing

Address: 8122 Moss Landing Rd, Moss Landing, CA 95039-9617
Location: United States > California > Moss Landing
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Landing
Price Range: $165 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain's Inn at Moss Landing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a romantic and cozy getaway, we are the place. In the evening, you can capture the beautiful sunsets from your room in the Boathouse or on one of the 2 decks. The waterfront view is breathtaking. There is always an amazing array of wildlife including sea otters, birds, harbor seals and wild turkeys nearby. You can take a brisk walk on the local sandy beach or take a relaxing stroll through our little community. Almost everything in our community is within a short walking distance. We are located in a very peaceful and relaxing setting. Away from the hustle and bustle of the nearby cities. We are centrally located between Monterey and Santa Cruz, 1 block off Hwy 1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Captain's Inn at Moss Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Hotel Moss Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing