We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Day!”

Blue Ocean Whale Watch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Blue Ocean Whale Watch is owner operated and has the most unique boat on the bay. Our boat, High Spirits, is a 60ft yacht with plenty of space for you inside and out. We have an observation deck up top which provides a 360 degree view of the bay - a perfect vantage point for taking photos. Our tours depart from Moss Landing Harbor, the heart of the Monterey Bay. Moss Landing is the closest port to the beginning of the Monterey Submarine Canyon - a nutrient rich area that attracts a variety of wildlife. Blue Ocean Whale Watch was created in 2011 and is owned and operated by Captain Jim Davis and Captain/Naturalist Kate Cummings. Both Jim and Kate have a deep respect for the ocean and its inhabitants. They also completely love their job which makes a big difference for the customer's experience. We are excellent wildlife spotters, locating anything and everything that might be hanging out in the Monterey Bay that day - from endangered leatherback sea turtles to blue whales. We also guarantee whale sightings; if you don't see a whale, come back for free until you do. Different whales are in the bay year-round, so there is always something amazing to see. We look forward to welcoming you on board!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Alameda, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Day!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Soent a fabulous day whale, dolphin, sea otter and sea lion watching! Our sightings started out slow, but the fabulous crew told us not to worry, and they were right! The boat is very comfortable, the crew is wonderful. The volunteer crew were especially nice helping some of the passengers who were having a difficult day at sea! Captain Jim and Kate went out of their way to ensure we got a great show! We spent more time following the 5 gray whales we saw than any of the other tour boats, and when we ran into approx. 100 dolphins, we knew we were in for fun. They were having a blast with our tour boat! We will definitely schedule a tour again with BOWW to try to see humpbacks and blues!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlamedaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    18
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Whale Watching Tour”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We got to see 3 or 4 different Humpback whale "couples". Plus several Sun Fish sunning at the surface. Also a huge Egg-Yolk Jelly.

There was also a turtle spotting, but I missed it.

The natualist on board very knowledgeable & enthusiatic, as were the crew!!

We were only supposed to be out 4 hours, but were out 5. Since they only do one tour a day, unlike some other tour companies, they don't have to rush back for the next group. They really want you to have a good whale watching experience.

When we got back to the harbor, we did a slight detoud to ogle all the sea lions hauled out, and also saw several sea otters.

All in all a fantastic day!! I would go again - and heartily reccomend this particular tour group!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic whales and crew!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have gone on this tour twice and loved it both times. The first time had amazing turn out with grey whales, humpback whales, and orcas! We got excitingly close to the creatures, the humpbacks even came to check out the boat and breached very close to us! The second trip didn't have quite a great a turn out, but we did find a group of orcas that even hunted a porpoise in front of us. The crew is always a joy to be around, they're willing to chat and answer all of your questions. They even let guests up on the top deck where the view is incredible! The boat is very well maintained, nice facilities, even snacks and hot drinks below deck. Highly recommended!:D

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GlitchNeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good trip to watch whales at play”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We saw Killer Whales, in fact, spend the whole time following a pod. They were very, very close to the boat. Also saw a lot of otters and dolphins. I was disappointed in not seeing blue whales or humpbacks. But realised that the trip concentrates only on one kind of sighting per trip.The crew was cheerful, helpful and informative. The boat had snacks etc. and anti-seasickness aids. Would recommend this to anyone. They have some amazing pictures taken by visitors on their facebook page - Blue Ocean Whale Watch - Check that out.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ManjuRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejen
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really great crew.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Booked from Denmark an got great service and info. Saw humpback whales and Blue whales very close to boat. Lots of dolphins, sea otters and mola-mola too. Informative naturalist provided great commentary and kept lookout. All crew very smiling and friendly creating a great atmosphere on board. Boat well maintained and clean. Sailing time from Moss Landing shorter than from Santa Cruz and Monterey. Extra bonus would be to eat at Phils Fish Market upon return to the marina. Access and parking is easy in Moss Landing. Highly recommended

Helpful?
4 Thank KandMWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ocean Whale Watch also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ocean Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing