We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Organic and eclectic latin menu”
Review of Haute Enchilda

Haute Enchilda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Latin fusion, vegetarian and vegan options. Sustainable seafood, all natural beef, pork, organic free range poultry. Live entertainment, venue for large private parties with wheel chair access.
Oceanside, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Organic and eclectic latin menu”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This Place is off the HOOK, CHAIN or what ever name you would like to use, we met our friend here for drinks and dinner, and you must remember that this is a restaurant and art gallery, so if your not into the off the wall art and organic food just drive on by and leave the rest of us to enjoy this great little place. Parking is best in the back by the soical club( live local music) and walk up to the front past some interesting art work. They have a full bar, and a menu that will suprise you with the organic and eclectic fare. I had the dinner spiecal, Skirt Steak San Bartolo /$26.00 grilled skirt steak topped with Oaxacan black bean sauce with Peruvian Empanadas stuffed with squash blossoms,zucchini & ricotta cheese toped with a chili de arbol aioli and a side of black beans and quinoa and large portions and all around great food and service, killer drinks. This is a fun place to go if you ever find yourself between Santa Cruz and Montery on the california coast

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    72
    20
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go for the food - Leave for the POOR Service”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you like good food ... think Cuban - think seafood ... stop off @ Moss Landing's Haute Enchillada. When bumper to bumper traffic at Whole Enchillada, plus line out the door at Phil's, this can be an uncrowded oasis with plenty of parking and easier access off and back on the Hghwy 1.

Also, parking, access, etc. is clue to why it`s #3 on Moss Landing resturant list of 3. Service? What is service - Lengthly wait for a waiter, followed by a wave of 4, then none again. Finally, got in an order to get food and coffee ... a second cup? Had to get up, go looking for a manager ... got directions to the restroom when I asked "Where is ..." Were they listing? A young "19" shows up, "Are you the ...?" gets "I am for now." Well, maybe I am being a bit of a bear ... so comes a flood of personal follow ups. Mean while, couple next to us served food - and waits for another "wave" of waiters to ask, "Do we get utensils with the food or with our bill?" Oh well, it is Sunday, let's make serve an adventure! OR BETTER IDEA go to Phil's - it is pretty much serve yourself. Hey! Maybe it is where the staff at Haute eats or got their training.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casual_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More from the best kept secrets of moss landing”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Very delicious and adventurous food! The owner makes for a wonderfully colorful and tasty experience. She makes a dining experience that is not only delicious, but wholesome.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank howiethefriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food might be good but their manners are NOT! I was just refused entrance to the inside ATM”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I asked if they had an ATM and they said yes on the inside at the back. I was refused entrance because I had a "service dog". I had ID in plain sight and explained to them she is a registered service animal. They would not allow me to even use the ATM much less eat there. My dog is much better behaved than the waiter. I left very embarrassed and I will report them to save someone else the same treatment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindarI7101NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie E, Public Relations Manager at Haute Enchilda, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We are sorry for your experience at the Haute Enchilada. To clarify, The Haute Enchilada is dog friendly, has a great dog patio and supports great dog charities such as Peace of Mind Dog Rescue. The restaurants understands that Service Dogs are allowed inside however no one knew your Shih Tzu was a service dog, if we did we would have allowed you to enter. We again are sorry that you felt embarrassed and your experience was unpleasant that was not our intention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castroville, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great mix”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Outstanding food. A mix of Mexican and seafood. I had the shrimp and crab stuffed chili rellenos which was a special that night. A burst of flavor.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haute Enchilda also viewed

 

Been to Haute Enchilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing